PDA

View Full Version : Logitech Freedom Joystick Profile needed!!!!



Bearcat99
05-02-2004, 11:11 PM
I have a bud from CFS that I have been trying to get to fly here for a year and a half.... he has a Logitech Freedom stick.. but he says he cant get the trigger button to work. He says it works in other sims so I am thinking its a profile/key assignment issue. Can someone post a link to a Profile for this stick for FB? And if the key assignments have been changed a link to the stick config too? This gentleman is actually a former RAF pilot who used to fly Vulcans... he retired a few years ago from a major coorp[oration.. he flew a coop with us last night but his stick setup is FUBAR.. I hope someone canh help.. it would be a shame to see him leave this sim on the shelf because of his pent up frustrations with CFS3... he was a CFS flier for over a year....

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

Bearcat99
05-02-2004, 11:11 PM
I have a bud from CFS that I have been trying to get to fly here for a year and a half.... he has a Logitech Freedom stick.. but he says he cant get the trigger button to work. He says it works in other sims so I am thinking its a profile/key assignment issue. Can someone post a link to a Profile for this stick for FB? And if the key assignments have been changed a link to the stick config too? This gentleman is actually a former RAF pilot who used to fly Vulcans... he retired a few years ago from a major coorp[oration.. he flew a coop with us last night but his stick setup is FUBAR.. I hope someone canh help.. it would be a shame to see him leave this sim on the shelf because of his pent up frustrations with CFS3... he was a CFS flier for over a year....

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

enlem
05-03-2004, 05:05 AM
Hello Bearcat,
I have a Logitech Freedom Joystick. First thing you/he need is latest Logitech software ver 4.30; it can be downloaded any Logitech website. http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/US/EN,CRID=1786,contentid=6217 (for example)
You can also download from here an il-2 and FB profile http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/US/EN,CRID=1786,contentid=6217,OSID=1,softwareid=6657
After than installation of gaming software, import the profile (***.wgp) under profile menu. Thus, you'll have a list of ready commands; assign them buttons and hat for your taste. Save the file with different name, associate the profiler il2fb.exe C:/.... And do any necessary changes in Global Profiler Settings which is under Options menu (checking "Start Profiler at System Startup is also useful) Then reboot, start il2 and check the controls if you have some conflicts clear the area(il2 controls), assign commands with joystick directly or by profiler...
Hope it helps.

resev
05-03-2004, 07:27 AM
Enlem, for a first post, that was a very good one.
Congrats and welcome to the community.

Bearcat, i use Logitech sticks for a long time, but i don't bother with profiles unless i truly need them, as i can do everything in IL-2 straight from the controls menu in the game.
That problems should not exist at all, but then again, Logitech sticks can indeed be finicky at times.
Before resorting to a profile, see if the trigger is truly mapped for the fire button in the game.
Its a simple and at some extent needless point, but even the most experienced gamer makes simple mistakes at times.

Cheers.

http://mysite.freeserve.com/resev/images/2-picture2.gif?0.3524929147671928

Kasdeya
05-03-2004, 07:45 AM
BC,
I do the same as Resev here. I found that when I used the profile that my right hand roll was lacking. I didn't see the need to using after that, and IL2 lends itself quite well in this area. Granted you can't set a shift key up, but I have since recieved a CH Products Pro Throttle which helps out in that department. I would also try what enlem has posted, this might be the way to go for your friend. Hope it goes good for him so he can come over to the dark side. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://www.HouseofKasdeya.com/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

zetareticulan
05-03-2004, 07:59 AM
Hello Bearcat

as you know, FB is a bit of a white knuckle ride at times.

More often than not when making contact with the enemy, I find my fist's been stress-fossilised into an attitude where the twist rudder is fully on left. Doesn't make for good technique http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

Incidently, what do you call a wingless fly?

That's right, a walk.

Thank you, you've been very kind. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

Cheers

SP

zetareticulan
05-03-2004, 07:59 AM
Hello Bearcat

as you know, FB is a bit of a white knuckle ride at times.

More often than not when making contact with the enemy, I find my fist's been stress-fossilised into an attitude where the twist rudder is fully on left. Doesn't make for good technique http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

Incidently, what do you call a wingless fly?

That's right, a walk.

Thank you, you've been very kind. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

Cheers

SP

zetareticulan
05-03-2004, 08:03 AM
Can't even post a response properly.

Sorry

enlem
05-03-2004, 12:15 PM
Hello Resev,
Thank you very much for your compliments.
As you said,(and Kasdeya) actually, you don't need a Profile; if everything is ok, (OS and FB recognizes the stick and while stick software running) you can assign any command directly in FB controls menu. I think, positive side of using Profiler is flexiblity; you can create different profiles and export them as files, you can use them when you need (different planes, servers etc..) also useful if you installing OS very frequently, like me...
Anyway... All ways goes "Forgetten Battles"

Hello Kasdeya,
I noticed rolling tendency that you concerned, not very often but specially when I started a new session. I guess its "wake-up" thing. My solution is full banking of the stick on left-right axis and it wakes up...

Have a good flight...

hos8367
05-03-2004, 12:32 PM
I too use the same stick, and the ingame menu works fine. Have him make sure drivers are up to date.

Kasdeya
05-03-2004, 12:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by enlem:

Hello Kasdeya,
I noticed rolling tendency that you concerned, not very often but specially when I started a new session. I guess its "wake-up" thing. My solution is full banking of the stick on left-right axis and it wakes up...

Have a good flight...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hello enlem,
The problem is not that it tends to roll, its that my right hand aileron response is not full. I calibrate the joystick, go into game and within a few minutes of flying, I have only half of my right aileron/roll rate, while the left aileron/roll rate is full. It would be like I am only moving the joystick halfway to the right, but all the way to the left. I checked at Logitech website discussion boards and found that I am not the only one with this issue. I donot like to use the software but I do try the newer ones when they are released. So far, nothing new.

Cheers mate.

http://www.HouseofKasdeya.com/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

resev
05-03-2004, 01:24 PM
Ah, the infamous "i will go that way if i want and there's nothing you can do about it" problem that Logi sticks have at times.

My problem is actualy diferent, but with the same symptoms.
Sometimes, the aircraft plain and simply dips down hard, and pulling the stick back only works to some extent.
When i look in exteriors, i can see that the elevator is realy pushing all the way down, so its not a bug, its a deficiency the stick has at times, the funny thing is, alltough the elevator is on full down, the interior control stick is not moving, so something is realy wrong there.

BTW, i don't use the Freedom, i use the Extreme pro 3D.

http://mysite.freeserve.com/resev/images/2-picture2.gif?0.3524929147671928

Kasdeya
05-03-2004, 01:35 PM
Resev,
I use the same stick, but never had that problem yet(knocks on wood). When the stick got twitchy, I just returned it for a new one. Yea I know, but it was a free replacement and that was the best stick they had. Still is...
I figured..why not take it apart and find out what the hell was wrong, so I did, didnt find anything right off hand. Maybe I loosened up some dirt that was in the pots, I dunno. It works pretty much flawless now unless I am being overly aggressive with it.

You might have the tech guys look at that elevator problem, it might be a simple adjustment.

http://www.HouseofKasdeya.com/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

hos8367
05-03-2004, 01:58 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Kasdeya:
Hello enlem,
The problem is not that it tends to roll, its that my right hand aileron response is not full. I calibrate the joystick, go into game and within a few minutes of flying, I have only half of my right aileron/roll rate, while the left aileron/roll rate is full. It would be like I am only moving the joystick halfway to the right, but all the way to the left. I checked at Logitech website discussion boards and found that I am not the only one with this issue. I donot like to use the software but I do try the newer ones when they are released. So far, nothing new.

Cheers mate.

http://www.361stvfg.com/
_http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php_<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, this is an existing issue. The joystick loses calibration after being in the game. Logitech points the finger at MS and says its a DX problem, MS points the finger at Logitech saying its a dirver issue. I had this problem. Unpluging the josytick then plugging it back in fixes it, but it just loses calibration again. The only way I could fix it was a complete reformat.

Kasdeya
05-03-2004, 02:08 PM
Hi Hos8367,
Well, that is exactly the problem I was having, but now its almost not exsistent. I just don't use the profiler program. I wish I could but I hate the headaches that come with it.

Do you know if that will ever be fixed?

http://www.HouseofKasdeya.com/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

hos8367
05-04-2004, 12:40 AM
You were lucky to have the problem go away not using the profiler. That didn't help me. And no, I'm not sure when/if it will be fixed. When corporate giants start squabbling, nothing gets accomplished.