PDA

View Full Version : Prop Pitch Changes Itself in Manual



Conan_249th
05-13-2004, 10:07 AM
I am no CEM expert so I hope someone can tell me why, when I am running in manual prop pitch, the setting will change from 100% to 0% or 50% with NO input from me. I am talking straight and level or climbing or diving at high speed and low without any input from me. I have double checked my joystick program and the key combinations for changing PP are not to be found there. I do PP purely on the keyboard. Even with my havds on the keyboard jamming in the two key combo I use, the computer seems to be fighting me. Any ideas?

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Kapitanconan.jpg

"There is no problem which cannot be solved by the proper application of high explosive."

Conan_249th
05-13-2004, 10:07 AM
I am no CEM expert so I hope someone can tell me why, when I am running in manual prop pitch, the setting will change from 100% to 0% or 50% with NO input from me. I am talking straight and level or climbing or diving at high speed and low without any input from me. I have double checked my joystick program and the key combinations for changing PP are not to be found there. I do PP purely on the keyboard. Even with my havds on the keyboard jamming in the two key combo I use, the computer seems to be fighting me. Any ideas?

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Kapitanconan.jpg

"There is no problem which cannot be solved by the proper application of high explosive."

aerick2
05-13-2004, 10:14 AM
It varies depending on whether you're flying a German plane or not. Which plane are you using?

Chuck_Older
05-13-2004, 10:27 AM
Conan-

Do you have "CEM On" in the difficulty options menu, or are you trying to adjust it with CEM Off?

Silly question, but it happened to me http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

*****************************
The hillsides ring with, "Free the People",
Or can I hear the echoes from the days of '39?
~ Clash

ZG77_Lignite
05-13-2004, 03:32 PM
That doesn't seem to be possible Conan. The first thing that came to my mind is your throttle and/or joystick 'slider' are spiking (wearing out, sending incorrect information when you operate it, or just to spite you). But, if your sure your throttle is not assigned in the 'HOTAS' section of the FB controls, then I don't know...

SithSpeeder
05-13-2004, 06:22 PM
Dang!

This has happened to me, but only online. I was flying a P-51D. It would jump to 0% or 30% out of nowhere, usually in the middle of an intense fight (or so it seemed).

I have a VERY complex profile for my X-45, but have been unable to find any mis-mappings, either. I have prop pitch assigned to one of my rotaries and would set it to 100% and not touch it. The only way to get it back to 100% was to dial it down and then back up. VERY frustrating.

If you find a cause or solution, let us know.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

Conan_249th
05-14-2004, 10:54 AM
I only fly Allied aircraft with CEM on when the game permits. I have "Shift 1", "Shift 2"..."Shift 5" assigned to the 0, 50, 80, 90 and 100 values. The shift1-5 are not mapped to my Cougar anywhere. "Tis a puzzlement! hanks for the help and ideas.

Cheers,

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Kapitanconan.jpg

"There is no problem which cannot be solved by the proper application of high explosive."

Locust_
05-14-2004, 11:12 AM
Yes your right mine does same thing.......

I found how its doing it, and its some form of bug in the game..... It happens in any and all ac even in bombers. I have ch products throttle & Stick & when I press CenterView (KP5) on the throttle & External_Padlock_Enemy-Air (Alt+F6)On the Stick, My PropPitch will drop off from whatever its set to..... Down to 10PP Every single time, in fact this bug is so reliable that I use it when I go into dives sometimes LOL, Stupid but funny......

No other key combinations make this happen that I know of Good luck!!!

http://img20.photobucket.com/albums/v61/AFJ_Locust/p38loco1sig.jpg

Locust_
05-14-2004, 11:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SithSpeeder:
Dang!

This has happened to me, but only online. I was flying a P-51D. It would jump to 0% or 30% out of nowhere, usually in the middle of an intense fight (or so it seemed).

I have a VERY complex profile for my X-45, but have been unable to find any mis-mappings, either. I have prop pitch assigned to one of my rotaries and would set it to 100% and not touch it. The only way to get it back to 100% was to dial it down and then back up. VERY frustrating.

If you find a cause or solution, let us know.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Read my post that is the cause at least for me, as far as a solution I dont have one, I could remap thoes settings to differant buttons & then change my Ch map to coincide but i realy dont want to, It never happens in Fullhardness games cuz Im not using externalpadlockenemyair thats how I figured it out.

http://img20.photobucket.com/albums/v61/AFJ_Locust/p38loco1sig.jpg

Conan_249th
05-15-2004, 07:51 AM
Thanks Locust,

I have CH rudder pedals with my Thrustmaster Cougar. Maybe there is a signal from the rudder pedals and I need to sue CH! lol

I am a full real guy most of the time and that is where I notice it. I'll watch to see if there is some other key combination that may be causing the PP to do it's thing.

Cheers

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Kapitanconan.jpg

"There is no problem which cannot be solved by the proper application of high explosive."

Extreme_One
05-15-2004, 07:57 AM
You don't have prop-pitch mapped to a mouse wheel do you?
If you do and change to an external view that'll do what you describe.

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-Ex_1_sig.jpg

LEBillfish
05-15-2004, 08:15 AM
This has happened to me as well as throttle changing suddenly to 110%......However there is something more there....Best example I can give are FW190's.

Set the pitch to manual, to insure it drop it to 95%...then fly. You can hear as well as feel (notice in acceleration) that though not as dramatic, auto prop pitch still comes into play besides still limiting trim functions that were there in previous versions.

So my guess is that in the case of auto/manual controled planes.....Which I "assume" would require 2 diff. engine models...or the ability to switch between the two, that there tends to be just a softening of the auto pitch effect to give the impression of auto pitch.

All just a guess....yet all very noticable.

http://www.geocities.com/k2kellyirie/IL2/starnew.txt

Conan_249th
05-15-2004, 08:23 AM
Nope to the mapping. I have left PP on the keyboard. I was going to map the PP to the antenna elevation or range wheel but never got to it.

Cheers

OLEG?

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Kapitanconan.jpg

"There is no problem which cannot be solved by the proper application of high explosive."