PDA

View Full Version : USB ports



Piaggio108
01-06-2004, 03:38 PM
I would like to add more things like rudder pedals and a throtel, but computer only has two USB ports. Is there any way to get more or hook up two devices to one port?

Piaggio108
01-06-2004, 03:38 PM
I would like to add more things like rudder pedals and a throtel, but computer only has two USB ports. Is there any way to get more or hook up two devices to one port?

steve_v
01-06-2004, 03:43 PM
You need something like this to add ports.

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=280614&Category_Code=AO

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/280614.jpg

Piaggio108
01-06-2004, 04:01 PM
How much do they cost?

Dunkelgrun
01-06-2004, 04:23 PM
You can get a powered USB hub for about 15 (I think, had mine a while). Mine takes up to 8 devices.
Cheers!

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/stripy.jpg

RxMan
01-06-2004, 05:18 PM
Like the man said, but be sure it's a powered hub. (It should have it's own power supply). The last one I got at Best Buy was only $15 after a $20 rebate, made by SigII I think, it was for my granddaughter's system so I don't have it handy.

http://home.att.net/~jsgary/rxlogo.gif

VW-IceFire
01-06-2004, 05:43 PM
Around $20 Cdn for a USB 2.0 4 port PCI card or maybe $25-$45 for powered USB hubs (as stated - powered is CRUCIAL).

- IceFire
http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/spit-sig.jpg

Piaggio108
01-06-2004, 05:56 PM
Just curieous, what does the powered do?

VW-IceFire
01-06-2004, 09:20 PM
All USB (or virtually all) draw some power down the line. In the case of the two or four or whatever on the front/back of your computer those USB ports are tied into the systems PSU (power supply) and therefore powered by that system. However, if you bought a non-powered hub what will happen is that the power that does go down the line (which is not a substantial amount) gets stretched to too many devices. What you end up with is either damage devices in the worst or just malfunctioning ones in the best case. Unless you are planning to plug in four mice into that back its probably a VERY good idea to buy a powered one. Its not hard to find them (they are the predominant type) and the non-powered aren't much cheaper anyways and definately not worth it.

Go powered. Or get a PCI card and stick that in. That will do the trick too.

- IceFire
http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/spit-sig.jpg

Bearcat99
01-06-2004, 09:23 PM
I suggest you get a powered one instead of the PCI. More flexibility and less crawling behind your machine.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)