PDA

View Full Version : AC Unity on DSR not bad at all



dargor5
02-02-2015, 05:18 PM
After a post that I cant seem to find anymore of a guy playing at 1440p with the DSR I decided to give it a go. The results were pretty good. The game is really smooth and looks as great as having full AA on. To me this way looks better than FXAA and performance is pretty much the same so I'm keeping it.
Tried 4k resolution and performance goes to hell.

Any of you have gone beyond 1080p with DSR?

DSR= Dynamic Super Resolution. Nvidia only tech (as far as I know)

My specs core i5 2500k 8gb ram, gtx 980 SC, monitor native resolution 1080p

RUN4Y0URL1F3
02-02-2015, 05:34 PM
After a post that I cant seem to find anymore of a guy playing at 1440p with the DSR I decided to give it a go. The results were pretty good. The game is really smooth and looks as great as having full AA on. To me this way looks better than FXAA and performance is pretty much the same so I'm keeping it.
Tried 4k resolution and performance goes to hell.

Any of you have gone beyond 1080p with DSR?

DSR= Dynamic Super Resolution. Nvidia only tech (as far as I know)

My specs core i5 2500k 8gb ram, gtx 980 SC, monitor native resolution 1080p

I play the game maxed out with 1183p DSR.
To be quite honest, using only 1440p DSR (no AA) doesn't quite cut it for me, as temporal aliasing is quite visible on tree leaves and buildings.
I'd rather play with TXAA (the only AA method that kills temporal aliasing, although it blurs the image a bit) and 1183p DSR. My framerate is locked at 54 90% of the time.
I'm rather disappointed that there's no 2x TXAA option though.

I have SLI 980 SC GTX, 5930k at 4.5 Ghz and 16 Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 2800 Mhz.

dargor5
02-02-2015, 05:44 PM
I play the game maxed out with 1183p DSR.
To be quite honest, using only 1440p DSR (no AA) doesn't quite cut it for me, as temporal aliasing is quite visible on tree leaves and buildings.
I'd rather play with TXAA (the only AA method that kills temporal aliasing, although it blurs the image a bit) and 1183p DSR. My framerate is locked at 54 90% of the time.
I'm rather disappointed that there's no 2x TXAA option though.

I have SLI 980 SC GTX, 5930k at 4.5 Ghz and 16 Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 2800 Mhz.
Sounds interesting. Will try that resolution today, I also stayed away from txaa because of the blurring which Im not a fan of in AC, in FC works well though
Edit: thats a massive rig you got there :p

RUN4Y0URL1F3
02-03-2015, 12:46 AM
Unfortunately performance is a bit disappointing!

GreatSkull.Zer0
02-03-2015, 01:00 AM
sorry but my peasant gtx 770 2gb can't go more than 1080p

Green_Reaper
02-03-2015, 04:27 AM
sorry but my peasant gtx 770 2gb can't go more than 1080p

Let's cry together on that.

dargor5
02-03-2015, 04:37 AM
sorry but my peasant gtx 770 2gb can't go more than 1080p
Is it because of performance cause the 700 series is supposed to have DSR on the latest drivers


Let's cry together on that.
No need to be chupacabra about it


I play the game maxed out with 1183p DSR.
To be quite honest, using only 1440p DSR (no AA) doesn't quite cut it for me, as temporal aliasing is quite visible on tree leaves and buildings.
I'd rather play with TXAA (the only AA method that kills temporal aliasing, although it blurs the image a bit) and 1183p DSR. My framerate is locked at 54 90% of the time.
I'm rather disappointed that there's no 2x TXAA option though.

I have SLI 980 SC GTX, 5930k at 4.5 Ghz and 16 Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 2800 Mhz.

Tried this resolution and works smooth as butter, this will be my new settings :D, thanks for your suggestion, but I'm using it with FXAA as TXAA is way to taxing on performance