PDA

View Full Version : Enabling CH Pro Pedals (Gameport) "toe brake" axis possible?



Leech_
02-25-2004, 07:35 AM
I have X45 (USB) and Pro Pedals (gameport) working like a charm on Windows XP. Recently I learned that there might be some tricks to enable toe brake axis also on the non-USB version of CH Pro pedals.

I know that the toe brake FM is not implemented yet in IL2FB but I could take those axis in other use if possible.

So If you have solved this problemo then please share the wisdom here. Do You need to use a gameport to USB converter? Do You need to plug 'AUX' plug to 'Joystick' plug in pedals? If so will it work w/o having a dummy controller strapped in the pedals?

Cheers in advance http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

Leech_
02-25-2004, 07:35 AM
I have X45 (USB) and Pro Pedals (gameport) working like a charm on Windows XP. Recently I learned that there might be some tricks to enable toe brake axis also on the non-USB version of CH Pro pedals.

I know that the toe brake FM is not implemented yet in IL2FB but I could take those axis in other use if possible.

So If you have solved this problemo then please share the wisdom here. Do You need to use a gameport to USB converter? Do You need to plug 'AUX' plug to 'Joystick' plug in pedals? If so will it work w/o having a dummy controller strapped in the pedals?

Cheers in advance http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

Mave_FI
02-25-2004, 08:23 AM
Hello fellow Hunden http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Check this one out...
Cougar.frugalsworld.com/mods.php#CH (http://cougar.frugalsworld.com/mods.php#CH)
That's mostly for the cougars, but with minor mods I think that will also work as standalone "joystick".

-Mave / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

Leech_
02-25-2004, 10:03 AM
Thanks! its working now with the "toe brake" axis.

Anyways. Now I need a meaning to this modding http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif What the hell shall I put to my new toe brake axis (X and Y)? What have you guys put on the toe brakes section in FB?

Cheers,
Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

PriK
02-25-2004, 10:17 AM
The toe brake IS implemented in FB just not differential braking so you need assign brakes to ONE of the pedals. I have the USB pedals so it wasn't a problem though.

Good luck.

http://charvel.acwos.com/chbanner.jpg

Xnomad
02-25-2004, 12:05 PM
You can assign brakes to both axis I can't be bothered explaining right now as I've had a tough day at work but go here they maybe will have some answers:

http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/

Or alternatively download the IL2 map from the CH official website and taylor it to your needs.

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

Leech_
02-26-2004, 12:38 AM
Thanks a bunch guys! I've got it all working beautifully.

Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

rssmps
02-26-2004, 01:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Leech_:
I have X45 (USB) and Pro Pedals (gameport) working like a charm on Windows XP. Recently I learned that there might be some tricks to enable toe brake axis also on the non-USB version of CH Pro pedals.
http://www.lufthunden.com<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Leech

So the ch products website is misleading us? it said you can't mix usb/gameport
I have a MSFT SideWinder Force Feedback 2. Is your pedals connected to your X45 or directly to the game port?

Thanks!

02-26-2004, 02:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PriK:
The toe brake IS implemented in FB just not differential braking so you need assign brakes to ONE of the pedals.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Absolutely correct.

Most of the aircraft in this sim had a handbrake. The rudder pedals controlled left/right brake proportioning, but brake application was via a hand lever. Only the the Yank and Kraut planes had footbrakes.

Squeeze with your hand, steer with your feet.

Leech_
02-27-2004, 08:44 AM
rssmps, Youre right there. The official statement of the CH is just what You stated. However You can combine the use of these with ease. I have my pedals going straight into a gameport w/o any USB converters. X45 is working as a separate controller. The toe-brake axis is also working like advertised only on USB-pedals!

Need any spesific info? Let me know.


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>

Leech

So the ch products website is misleading us? it said you can't mix usb/gameport
I have a MSFT SideWinder Force Feedback 2. Is your pedals connected to your X45 or directly to the game port?

Thanks!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

rssmps
02-27-2004, 06:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Leech_:
rssmps, Youre right there. The official statement of the CH is just what You stated. However You can combine the use of these with ease. I have my pedals going straight into a gameport w/o any USB converters. X45 is working as a separate controller. The toe-brake axis is also working like advertised only on USB-pedals!

Need any spesific info? Let me know.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Leech,
Did you modify your pedals according the site that Mave_FI posted above? are you using the software provided by Ch Products?

I read somewhere that a gameport only supports 4 axis. If I understand correctly, the pedals has a port for connecting to a joystick right?

I was thinking about taking apart my old joystick and use the 3 pots on that as my trim wheels. I guess if I did that, then the pedals would make the 4th axis right?

I just orderd my pedals so it will be a few days before I get it.

Thanks for your help!

Leech_
02-28-2004, 06:50 PM
You surely ordered gameport version of pedals? Ok..

No smoldering was needed, only software updates and tweaking. Physically all you need to do is to connect the AUX plug to Joystick plug in the pedals (Pedals have 3 plug, IIRC the USB version is different). However that eliminates the opportunity to hookup a separate joystick into pedals (thats the price u have to pay, so its either trimboard or toe brakes)

If you go with the trimboard thing (not a bad idea also) then theres no prob. Otherwise get the analog drivers from the CH Products web site to enable toe brakes.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>

Leech,
Did you modify your pedals according the site that Mave_FI posted above? are you using the software provided by Ch Products?

I read somewhere that a gameport only supports 4 axis. If I understand correctly, the pedals has a port for connecting to a joystick right?

I was thinking about taking apart my old joystick and use the 3 pots on that as my trim wheels. I guess if I did that, then the pedals would make the 4th axis right?

I just orderd my pedals so it will be a few days before I get it.

Thanks for your help!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

|CoB|_Spectre
02-29-2004, 05:41 AM
Leech wrote:
No smoldering was needed, only software updates and tweaking. Physically all you need to do is to connect the AUX plug to Joystick plug in the pedals (Pedals have 3 plug, IIRC the USB version is different). However that eliminates the opportunity to hookup a separate joystick into pedals (thats the price u have to pay, so its either trimboard or toe brakes)

If you go with the trimboard thing (not a bad idea also) then theres no prob. Otherwise get the analog drivers from the CH Products web site to enable toe brakes.
__________________________________________

Leech, I am curious, I bought my CH Products setup (F-16 Combat Stick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals) back in 1997 and the box for the pedals said one of the features was toe brakes. When I couldn't get them to work, I wrote CH tech support and was told, "Yeah, marketing probably shouldn't have put that on there because it would take a five (IIRC) axis control card and nobody makes one". So, I've been happy with my failure-free HOTAS all this time even without toe brakes. USB didn't exist then, so everything is gameport. I've always had that Aux. Port connector dangling there with nothing to do. Are you saying there's a way to use the toe brakes without hardware modification? I'm running through the single gameport of my SB Live card and have only the one input.

VIP_Chewy
03-01-2004, 04:53 AM
I've been flying (CFS2) with a Wingman joystick plugged into a usb port and ch pro paddles to the game port and the wheel breaks work great on axis. Set up same method as Leech_ described. More you press down on one pedal the more it breaks. I'm moving into FB and wondering if FB let me set up as I mention above. I'm a little lost to whether it will or not. Dont have the game yet. Will it work on just certain planes? I was not able to make it work right in the IL demo. But I didn't try to hard.

It's not wise to upset a wookie....

Leech_
03-01-2004, 08:35 AM
Yes that's exactly what Im sayin. On Your case, however, You have to unplug that F-16 Combat stick from the pedals. So You need a USB stick to enable brakes on CH Pedals gameport version.

The trick there is to emulate the fifth "missing" axis by combining two. If You play in the "Car" -mode on some other sim you still can use the pedals on separate axis without any fiddling.

Cheers,
Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Leech, I am curious, I bought my CH Products setup (F-16 Combat Stick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals) back in 1997 and the box for the pedals said one of the features was toe brakes. When I couldn't get them to work, I wrote CH tech support and was told, "Yeah, marketing probably shouldn't have put that on there because it would take a five (IIRC) axis control card and nobody makes one". So, I've been happy with my failure-free HOTAS all this time even without toe brakes. USB didn't exist then, so everything is gameport. I've always had that Aux. Port connector dangling there with nothing to do. Are you saying there's a way to use the toe brakes without hardware modification? I'm running through the single gameport of my SB Live card and have only the one input.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Leech_
03-01-2004, 08:38 AM
It works on all of the planes (Its the toe brake bind whether its IRL in stick or in the pedal) and yes, it works on FB. I use it on the left toe-brake axis, but You can combine both of the toe-brakes to do the same thing (Theres no separate toe-brakes modelled in FB for the left and the right side). So left pedal for braking, just like sittin in a car, and a bonus axis on the other pedal http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers,
Leech / Lufthunden
www.lufthunden.com (http://www.lufthunden.com)

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VIP_Chewy:
I've been flying (CFS2) with a Wingman joystick plugged into a usb port and ch pro paddles to the game port and the wheel breaks work great on axis. Set up same method as Leech_ described. More you press down on one pedal the more it breaks. I'm moving into FB and wondering if FB let me set up as I mention above. I'm a little lost to whether it will or not. Dont have the game yet. Will it work on just certain planes? I was not able to make it work right in the IL demo. But I didn't try to hard.

It's not wise to upset a wookie....<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>