Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: realmyst won't start. | Forums

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    567
    well it trys to start but i just get a blacksreen and it goes back to desktop. system specs:

    athlonxp 3000+
    radeon 9800xt
    kt400 with 1gb of pc3200
    realtek ac97 audio
    windows xp

    windows and all drivers updated to the latest and the patch is instaled as well. i also tried the windows compatablity modes with no luck either. any know how i can get this game to work?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    567
    well it trys to start but i just get a blacksreen and it goes back to desktop. system specs:

    athlonxp 3000+
    radeon 9800xt
    kt400 with 1gb of pc3200
    realtek ac97 audio
    windows xp

    windows and all drivers updated to the latest and the patch is instaled as well. i also tried the windows compatablity modes with no luck either. any know how i can get this game to work?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    I had the same problem:

    windows xp does not come with indeo codecs, which are needed by this game. I'm still trying several different indeo codecs (some from onlie, others from games and I am about to try one from my comp that still is using windows 98

    B'tsahv tsavahn, b'khen shoo f'mehros.
    __________________________

    Vrekt val drashi kres vrekt kran vren vrekt.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    567
    hum i have an indeo codec that can play the avi files just fine with windows media player, so i'm guessing my problem lies elsewhere. any other ideas, anyone?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    There might be a version of Direct-X on the disk with RealMyst. The version on your computer might not like RealMyst, so you might try uninstalling that version and install the version on the RealMyst disk.

    ************************************************** **
    Remember the important things.....as you turn on your computer.
    ************************************************** **
    Remember the important things.....as you turn on your computer.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    567
    best i can tell you cannot uninstal directx from windows xp. even if you could i doubt i could instal the dx7 from the realmyst disk as xp comes with dx8.1 by default. also even if i could do that it would break nearly every other game i play. so that doesn't sound like a good solution. anyone else have any ideas?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Senior Member mystmum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    572
    Can't really help, but can only supply some hope - I ran realmyst on XP without a problem, so there MUST be a solution to yours.

    __________________________________________________ _________
    Stop laughing, this is serious.


    Stop laughing, this is serious
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Actual join date: December 27, 2001. *mutter mutter Stupid forum glitch*
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    reeferkills, the indeo codec is very tricky, my dad just got the correct version from someone overseas and now realMYST runs fine (it truely is beautiful)

    try downloading the patch and running the setup for the patch.

    B'tsahv tsavahn, b'khen shoo f'mehros.
    __________________________

    Vrekt val drashi kres vrekt kran vren vrekt.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    567
    like i said in my orignal post, the patch is instaled. as for the indeo codec, i seem to have one that works just fine as i can play all the indeo movies in the realmyst dirctory out of game just fine. however i still just get a black sreen and am then sent back to desktop after trying to start the game.

    what videocard is your dad useing CK9?

    [This message was edited by reeferkills on Mon January 26 2004 at 12:48 AM.]
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5
    Hi
    I don't know if you got your problem with the starting game sorted out, as I had the exact same problem too....but after looking further into it I have finally got mine to start.
    It might not work for you but what I did was -
    right click on the realmyst shortcut on the desktop and there is a tab with compatibility on it. Click on that and check the box that says 'disable visual themes'. It has worked for me since I did this.
    I hope it helps you too :O)
    Nikki
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •