Savegames randomly overwriting themselves with older versions...
So, a couple of hours ago, I met my first Boss Creature. Had some trouble, decided to turn off the game for a bit, do some other stuff, look at some strategies online. Stuff. Had a save right before running into it, no problem.
Then, right 'bout five minutes ago, I started up the game again, intending to continue. No such luck. Half my savegames have been scrambled, replaced by older versions of themselves - in some cases, several months old. The savegame from right in front of the boss now takes me back to shortly after I started that map.
Call me paranoid, but I suspect that new, MANDATORY Cloud-save system MIGHT have something to do with this.
Solutions? I can live with losing an hour or two of game-time now, if I can be sure it won't happen AGAIN, but if I can't be sure my savegames won't magically disappear again in the future, there's not much point in playing the game, at all, ever.
EDIT: Well, I figured out how to disable the Cloud-Save system. Can't see any way to RESTORE my saves from this supposed Cloud, though. Did somebody at Ubisoft read their design-documents upside-down? Cloud-save systems are supposed to PROTECT your savegames from being lost, not GET THEM LOST in the first place...
Last edited by BlakeTheDrake; 08-30-2012 at 08:04 PM.
Well I just started the game and already have seen this issue and lost a weeks worth of playing in just a short time. I will have to go figure out how to shut off the Cloud as I don't want this to keep happening as I may not play this game that way. I was going to recommend this to a friend who used to hotseat with me all the time on the older games, but with this glaring issue I can't recommend. UBISOFT you arer losing money if you can't fix this. How can this not be fixed? I have never seen anything like this from and other developer costing a customer his time in a game with loosing their save information. This needs to be fixed yesterday!!!
Ah, I guess I should've mentioned... to turn off the cloud-delete - I mean, cloud-saves - open the 'options' menu in the Uplay client by clicking on the little gear in the upper-right corner, and then un-check 'Enable Cloud Save Synchronization for Supported Games'. Obviously, this is a typo and it should read "Allow Ubisoft to randomly overwrite my savegames." Also, it probably shouldn't be enabled by default.
5 months later and still no fix for this. The cloud should be checking to see if the local savegame files are newer than the cloud savegame files before overwriting anything. The newest savegame file should ALWAYS be saved in the cloud.