Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Riven issue - turning on light globes in cave | Forums

  1. #1

    Riven issue - turning on light globes in cave

    Unsure if this is a technical issue or I'm missing something vital in the gameplay.

    I've opened the prison cell with the wheel, opened the secret tunnel and headed to dead end.
    I can turn on the light globe which is done, but when I turn around there are no more light globes to light.
    If I then try to turn around either left or right, I get instantly ported to outside the prison cell with the tunnel not open anymore.

    Checked a few walkthroughs and none of them mention this, ie

    "The jail is now empty and the only thing you can see is a grating in the floor. Does it open and is there anything inside? If all goes well a false wall should open. Follow the tunnel - it gets very dark but keep on going. At the end is an opening looking out over the sea. There must be some way to light things up a bit. On the left is a light bulb. Give it a tap. Go back up the tunnel turning on all 6 lights. Now go back down the tunnel and open the hidden door"
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member nanoukmetal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,615
    It does look like a bug.

    Question:
    Which version of Riven have you installed ?

    Iphone ?
    Original cds ?
    10th Anniversary DVD ?
    Digital download for pc ?

    I have found that bug on the Steam version see here...
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1442650

    Solution in post # 3...
    Update! I was able to get around this by returning from the Whark gallows and turning around 1 screen before hitting the very end of the moiety tunnel (the screen with the hole in the wall that looks out over the ocean).

    Or in that thread on Steam forum (post #2)...

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2135136
    Last edited by nanoukmetal; 08-28-2012 at 03:25 PM. Reason: New info
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Fountain Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,620
    Even if everything is working perfectly, it's VERY dark in the area of the next globe. If your monitor is set up even slightly too dark, the globes have to be found by slowly moving the cursor around and watching for it to turn into a hand.
    -------------------------------------------
    Fear leads to anger; anger leads to hate; hate leads to SUFFERING! - Yoda
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by nanoukmetal View Post
    It does look like a bug.

    Question:
    Which version of Riven have you installed ?

    Iphone ?
    Original cds ?
    10th Anniversary DVD ?
    Digital download for pc ?

    I have found that bug on the Steam version see here...
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1442650

    Solution in post # 3...
    Update! I was able to get around this by returning from the Whark gallows and turning around 1 screen before hitting the very end of the moiety tunnel (the screen with the hole in the wall that looks out over the ocean).

    Or in that thread on Steam forum (post #2)...

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2135136
    Sorry been away for a few days, thanks very much, will try this tonight. Its the steam version so same bug.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    It works! Thanks, didn't think to look at steam forums
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Senior Member nanoukmetal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,615
    We are happy that you have been able to fix your bug.

    Enjoy the rest of Riven.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    None of this worked for me. I was unable to activate the lights in the dark part of the tunnel. Even after I found their exact location.

    My solution was:
    1 Go to one screen before the end. (forget about the light there)

    2 Turn around

    3 enter debug mode by
    <enter>
    b3hn
    <enter
    CTRL-TAB

    4 hs (to turn on hotspots)

    5 enable 8 (I think it was 8, if not mouse over the hot spot and look at the number in the debug section)

    6 Save and exit

    7 Restart and reload that save.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Fountain Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,620

    Question Mystery Fix?

    aznaturist,

    A Windows computer? Debug mode? "b3hn?" "hs?" Is this procedure done inside Riven? Do not understand, can you elaborate? Thanks!
    -------------------------------------------
    Fear leads to anger; anger leads to hate; hate leads to SUFFERING! - Yoda
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •