Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: Why the stupid captchas? | Forums

Rocksmith 2014 Edition - The Smashing Pumpkins' "Cherub Rock"

How Guitar Teachers Can Use Rocksmith 2014 Edition

Rocksmith 2014 Edition -- How It Works -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

Rocksmith 60-Day Challenge -- Trevor's Success Story -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

  1. #1
    Senior Member mbarsott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    1,898

    Why the stupid captchas?

    Are you guys also having to enter captcha letters to post messages now? Don't you have to be logged in to do post? Why the stupid double verification?


    I love this forum, but I am almost certain this is a deal breaker for me. I have vision problems that make it hard to figure out what is written. I may simply stop posting, I cannot stand dealing with stupid ideas that bug me on a daily basis!
    Last edited by mbarsott; 07-27-2012 at 03:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by mbarsott View Post
    Are you guys also having to enter captcha letters to post messages now? Don't you have to be logged in to do post? Why the stupid double verification?


    I love this forum, but I am almost certain this is a deal breaker to me. I have vision problems that make it hard to figure out what is written. I may simply stop posting, I cannot stand dealing with stupid ideas that bug me on a daily basis!

    oh crap... wtf happened here? the quick reply is gone too... rcole?

  3. #3
    Community Manager Mr_Shade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    19,512
    The captcha check is to stop the influx of spam bots.

    You should be asked to do it once, as far as I am aware.


    If the quick reply box is missing, try logging in and out.
    Last edited by Mr_Shade; 07-27-2012 at 03:02 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator rcole_sooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    8,928
    Yes, I have to be logged in to post. I have it set so I stay logged in, but that only lasts a few hours of inactivity. The relogin is automatic, with a click on login. I do not get any CAPTCHAs.


    I still see the Quick Reply. Sometimes it is slow to load.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    218

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Shade View Post
    The captcha check is to stop the influx of spam bots.

    You should be asked to do it once, as far as I am aware.


    If the quick reply box is missing, try logging in and out.
    Captcha still there after logging out and in
    quick reply also gone

    well the good news is, it will keep me off the forums a bit more anyhow

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    218

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by ekffazr View Post
    Captcha still there after logging out and in
    quick reply also gone

    well the good news is, it will keep me off the forums a bit more anyhow
    just for fun I replied again to see if the captcha was gone
    nope

    fnbe3q

  7. #7
    Senior Member mbarsott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    1,898
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Shade View Post
    You should only need to do it once..

    it's a temp measure to stop the current influx of spam bots.
    Hopefully... I've entered three captchas already, this post is the fourth! Correct me if I am wrong, but IMHO, captchas only make sense in publicly available sites. Posting is not publicly available. You have to be authenticated in order to post.
    Of course you may have someone create a user id, and then get a bot to use that user id to post. Then you block that user, but you do not penalize everybody else because one ill intentioned user.

    The user creation process needs to require a human intervention, like email confirmation. There should be no way that bots create users automatically. So I still do not see how can the captcha be necessary. Well, I hope it is temporary, cause as I said, I love this forum, I would continue reading, but I would certainly stop posting.

    Edit: The good thing is that you do not need to enter the captcha to edit a post. It is requiring it for me in every other posting situation.
    Last edited by mbarsott; 07-27-2012 at 03:20 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dm_gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Longmont CO
    Posts
    2,360
    Hey, I have a captcha now and the quick reply is gone.

    And the stupid POS is case sensitive as well, or I'm just blind with the tiny frigging characters. Let's try that again...

    Carl

    Steam Community Profile ID: dungeon-master
    My Rocksmith 2014 Wiki - 1/29 - Have the Settings Editor form up. Todo: Create the Settings save script.

  9. #9
    Moderator rcole_sooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    8,928
    The quick reply will be gone, if you are not logged in. I am suspecting some kind of login issue.

    It may be area specific. It all seems to be working in my area.

    It could also be your network. Are you in a different location that normal? Has anything changed on your network? Maybe reboot your PC and maybe even router. I usually try all that stuff.

    Well, if it keeps affecting more and more users, then I'll begin to suspect a server issue. If so, we just wait until they fix it.

    Seems to still be working here.

  10. #10
    Senior Member dm_gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Longmont CO
    Posts
    2,360
    Got a captcha for the second posting as well.

    Let's see if I got it right...

    Carl

    Steam Community Profile ID: dungeon-master
    My Rocksmith 2014 Wiki - 1/29 - Have the Settings Editor form up. Todo: Create the Settings save script.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •