Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with overheating! | Forums

Question Help with overheating!

Can someone help me ?

My plane no matter what is it constantly overheats, sometimes I'm climbing and I increase throttle but after like 1 minute the engine overheats and I have to stop climbing.

I heard about prop pitch and the radiator but I don't know how to use them.

A bit of a noob here !
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

The R key normally operates radiators by default .Forget about prop pitch until youre an 'improver'.Most planes rads can be operated at 20/40/60/80/100 % and CLOSED .German and some US planes have an 'auto' setting also which is useful.'Most' planes can fly for around 6 minutes on 'OVERHEAT' warning before irreparable engine damage which will force you to land within a few minutes (Youll hear engine grinding and generally sounding unhappy!)I generally find most planes can fly at EITHER 104% or 107% with rads 100% open for very long periods although US navy planes seem to be less willing .Even an extra 1% will overheat some yet they will happily fly all day at the lower % .Its not very realistic .The very latest 4.11 patch changes EVERYTHINg with regard to overheating and if youre using that version you will have to fly at much lower throttle and with rads open all the time .

Quote Originally Posted by ytareh View Post