When in a multiplayer game the host is able to save the state. When hosting a new game it is allowed to select a previously saved state.
I have done this and my when my friend joins, I am no longer able to start the game. We play with other bots which may be related to this problem. I'm able to start the game without him, but once he joins the server the start ****on is disabled even after he marks himself ready.