Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: This is the most uninformative forum ive ever been apart of | Forums

  1. #1
    Member BKLYNCANNON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    94

    This is the most uninformative forum ive ever been apart of

    All i want to know is basic questions, Im having a problem starting the beta. I recive an error explaining im missing some type of file. All i want to know is what to do to work my way around this problem.

    My ERROR is the following messege:

    Currently only SM2 and SM3 is implemented

    File:
    D:\Build\GRO\live-dev\Yeti\engine\GraphicDXkit\GraphicsEvaLuator\GEL _Manager.ccp
    Line: 325

    Break Now?

    OK or Cancel
     

  2. #2
    Member suprhero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    315
    yes
     

  3. #3
    GRO Community Manager Jeeguiguren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by BKLYNCANNON View Post
    All i want to know is basic questions, Im having a problem starting the beta. I recive an error explaining im missing some type of file. All i want to know is what to do to work my way around this problem.

    My ERROR is the following messege:

    Currently only SM2 and SM3 is implemented

    File:
    D:\Build\GRO\live-dev\Yeti\engine\GraphicDXkit\GraphicsEvaLuator\GEL _Manager.ccp
    Line: 325

    Break Now?

    OK or Cancel
    Did you send this issue through to tech support? http://ghostrecononline.us.ubi.com/support/
    If so, how long ago? Devs are usually up and about sorting these issues as they arrive and by priority of the quantity of times they have been encountered.
     

  4. #4
    Member BKLYNCANNON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    94
    Thanks for your reply, yes i sent them a detailed messege of my specific issue, unforutnely there has still been no reply in which I sent about two days ago. I noticed others have had this problem recently but no one has followed up with it on these boards so i would assume they found a solution to their problems. Apparently no one feels like sharing this solution .
     

  5. #5
    GRO Community Manager Jeeguiguren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by BKLYNCANNON View Post
    Thanks for your reply, yes i sent them a detailed messege of my specific issue, unforutnely there has still been no reply in which I sent about two days ago. I noticed others have had this problem recently but no one has followed up with it on these boards so i would assume they found a solution to their problems. Apparently no one feels like sharing this solution .
    I see. I will take a look at this issue in particular this evening and get back to you hopefully with some imput to solve this.
     

  6. #6
    What video card do you have? I think that refers to Shader Model and that means that either your card is too old/unsupported or you don't have the proper drivers installed but also could be something else. Remember, always post full system specs when asking for support.
    Last edited by Mucles; 03-13-2012 at 01:43 PM.
     

  7. #7
    Member BKLYNCANNON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    94
    I will post my full specs, how would i go about checking them?
     

  8. #8
    If you're using Windows as your main OS then look for My Computer icon mouse right click on it and choose Properties.
     

  9. #9
    Member BKLYNCANNON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    94
    Windows 7 Professional
    Copyright 2009 Microsoft Corp.
    Service Pack 1

    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5500 @ 1.66GHz 1.67 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM): 2.00 GB
    System Type: 32-bit Operating System
    Pen and Touch: No pen and Touch Input is available for this Display


    Those are my specs, hopefully they can help someone evaluate an answer for me. Thanks again.
     

  10. #10
    And what video card? For that you'll have to open Device Manager and look for the Display adapters tab.
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •