Thread: Bugs & Annoyances | Forums

Bugs & Annoyances

I've been playing Chessmaster 10th Edition on my PC for a couple months. I really enjoy the game, but there are some bugs that are bad enough that I either need to find a resolution or switch to a different chess program. Listed from highest to lowest priority:

1. The program crashes frequently. I average about 1 crash per 3 games. It typically crashes on the final move, when I put my computer opponent into checkmate. I often want to analyze my game, so it's not simply a matter of wanting the win in my stats. I usually play in training mode, to improve my game. I used to analyze moves frequently with advice and blunder alert. However, this drastically increased the rate of crashes, such that it would crash before most games completed, so I no longer use these functions until the game is over.

2. Pieces sometimes disappear, which often coincide with the timer freezing and the computer not moving. I can almost eliminate this issue by not analyzing moves, using blunder alert, or taking back moves. However, I'd like to be able to use these functions.

3. I rarely play rated games because I don't like waiting around a long time for the computer to move. I realize waiting for your opponent is an important component of chess, but it would be nice if there was a way to play rated games without waiting so long, or if there were opponents who played very quickly at all rating levels.

4. The blunder alert sometimes goes off on the best move. The analysis will sometimes (but not always) catch it. It would nice if the blunder alert had a higher accuracy. Along the same lines, the final game analysis often lists my "worst move" as the final move that puts my opponent into checkmate. It would be nice if the worst move analysis was more accurate.