Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: GRO - (Ghost Recon Online) Error during Decompressing | Forums

  1. #11
    Junior Member mbchameleon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA (New Mexico)
    Posts
    7

    GRO (Ghost Closed Beta members Only online) Duruing Decompressing

    I recommend very strongly to allow the client to pick the appropriate installation director if you have not done this...Please uninstall the client and reinstall it again. When this is completed do not install anything yet check to make sure that you have (Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5Sp1) installed at the following location: (Programs and Features) Here is a screen shot of this location:


     
     
     
     
    1.C:\Ubisoft\GRO
    This directory should have a total of Contains of 761 files and 17 Folders
    size should be 3.33GB
     

    2. Win7 and Vista : Programs and Features you should see this Clint program Ghost Recon Online (NCSA-LIVE)
    Link 1. will show you the image of (Prograqms and Features) on your computer and what it should look like. http://www.mgbcomputerservices.com/P...dfeatures.aspxLink 2. provideds the same but for the (Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5Sp1) : http://www.mgbcomputerservices.com/P...features2.aspx


    Before you begin installation make very certain that the following information that I'm providing you is located in the programs and features Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 Sp1)... The link for this can be found at the following links below :

    1>Vista.32 Bit only. http://www.microsoft.com/download/en...ng=en&id=16211

    2> Vista 64Bit only: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en...ang=en&id=1055

    3>Windows 7 32Bit: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en...ang=en&id=5726

    4>Windows 7 64bit: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en...ang=en&id=7942
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #12
    Ready Beta free?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #13
    Junior Member Isolated-Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tumwater, Washington, USA.
    Posts
    5
    I had this problem as well; tried several installs and uninstalls to locations of my own choosing with repeated patch error notifications, then on a hunch tried installing to the default location and it worked fine. Go figure...
    Manos...The Hands Of fate.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by peterjones90 View Post
    I fixed this myself after about 20 minutes, I'll post the problem and the fix here.

    The problem is, the installer downloads everything (1.5 something GB on my system), then begins decompression, and right at the end comes up with the error that the OP is having.

    I watched the download in resource monitor (the files and locations etc) and didn't find anything, so I went into task manager, and opened the file location for Launcher.exe (the program that does the download / install.)

    It's in a very random directory somewhere in the appdata folder.

    Anywho, the fix is, lauch the program that installs the game. Open task manager, and in the processes tab, find Launcher.exe. Then right-click, and click open file location. This should open the aforementioned long directory.

    Once that's done, close the game launcher, and then right click on Launcher.exe and Run as Administrator.

    The launcher then re-downloaded everything, and decompressed and installed it no problem.

    Let me know if that works for you.

    As a side note, I believe (I guess, I'm not certain) the issue is caused when changing the default install directory. The default is C:\Ubisoft\GRO or something like that, but I changed it to C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\GRO (purely because I like to keep all my programs in the program files folder lol). Anywho, the laucher runs without administrative privileges it seems, and trying to install or modify files in the Program Files directory requires elevation, so at the end the installer is trying to move the folders from an AppData directory to the install directory, lacks privilegs and fails, causing the error.

    Hope this helped.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH! This fixed all my issues. Life saver.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #15
    Excellent, thank you, this was just the solution I was looking for.

    @mbchameleon: Is there a specific reason you're strongly recommending installing to the default folder? Is updating or other things going to be affected by installing to the Program Files folder once allowing administration rights? I just want to make sure it's worth putting the file where I want it - I can deal with a little disorganization if it prevents failures in the future.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Rd.Octobr View Post
    Excellent, thank you, this was just the solution I was looking for.

    @mbchameleon: Is there a specific reason you're strongly recommending installing to the default folder? Is updating or other things going to be affected by installing to the Program Files folder once allowing administration rights? I just want to make sure it's worth putting the file where I want it - I can deal with a little disorganization if it prevents failures in the future.
    Not using the default directory is what screwed me up.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #17
    Rightclick the C:\Program File (x86)\Ubisoft\ folder, click properties, then security, then edit..., then add.., then type in the name of your Windows user, then tick full control for that user, and bingo. After that you only have to rescue the game files from %localappdata%\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by safevenger View Post
    Rightclick the C:\Program File (x86)\Ubisoft\ folder, click properties, then security, then edit..., then add.., then type in the name of your Windows user, then tick full control for that user, and bingo. After that you only have to rescue the game files from %localappdata%\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft
    This method works. Thanks.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by peterjones90 View Post
    I fixed this myself after about 20 minutes, I'll post the problem and the fix here.
    [...]
    Hope this helped.
    Didn't fix the problem for me, unfortunately. Anybody maybe got another idea how to fix this? I'd really like to finally get to playing this game. I've been struggling with this patching problem since I downloaded the launcher for the first time about two weeks ago or so... Thanks!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    When i Right-Click " Launcher.exe " in Processes tab in Task Manager i only have: End Process,End Process Tree,Debug,Set Priority and Set Afinity.I have Windows XP and i have the same problem with " Error in patching" can someone help me?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •