Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The rocksmith method | Forums

Rocksmith 2014 Edition - The Smashing Pumpkins' "Cherub Rock"

How Guitar Teachers Can Use Rocksmith 2014 Edition

Rocksmith 2014 Edition -- How It Works -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

Rocksmith 60-Day Challenge -- Trevor's Success Story -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

The rocksmith method

After a few weeks with the game, as a complete beginner in guitar, I would like to share my thoughts about the "Rocksmith method".

First, I think it is very difficult to make a game and a learning method at the same time.
    The traditional way of learning is repetition, over and over again, until mastery. Quite the opposite of fun.
    By enabling you to play along immediately, RS is great for the motivation and let everyone enjoy the experience.

As I see it, in order to let the game be fun, RS is based on many small steps and as difficulty rise slowly, you don't have big hurdles.

But, if you have never touched a guitar before, I think you may miss some things by playing only RS.
    For example, on the easiest level, you can't understand the logic behind the notes you have to play. Sometimes, arpeggios are based on a chord, and unless you identify it by yourself, you may struggle to play the notes individually by moving your left hand fingers instead of using the chords position...
    The games doesn't make you practice the stuff needed to play a song beforehand. Once you are doing well with single notes, the game throw you chords you have never seen and you have to train _after_ failing to play correctly, which can be quite frustrating.

Another point is, until you can master the song, notes are changing almost every times (since you are making progress). Therefore, you can't play anything by yourself.
    Trying to remember a song until 100% mastery notes is pointless due to the fact that you may play the wrong way (for example, left hand positioning based on the chords).