Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: When Reporting a Thread needing Moderation | Forums

Rocksmith 2014 Edition - The Smashing Pumpkins' "Cherub Rock"

How Guitar Teachers Can Use Rocksmith 2014 Edition

Rocksmith 2014 Edition -- How It Works -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

Rocksmith 60-Day Challenge -- Trevor's Success Story -- Learn How To Play Guitar In 60 Days

  1. #11
    Senior Member Steel_Nirvana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4,262
    Thanks for the clarification!

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    714
    I'm going through and catching up on the stickies that I haven't read in a while. I noticed that you ask for us to open the post in its own window in order to report it.

    While I have no problem doing that, there should be a setting in the forum software that makes that unnecessary.
    For example:
    When I click the #1 for the OP the URI is: http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...=1#post8126797
    The report icon links to: http://domainchanged/report.php?p=8126797

    Note that the post ID is the same on both. Similarly, if I do the same for the post immediately above mine, I get:
    URI: http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...=1#post8130009
    Report Icon: http://domainchanged/report.php?p=8130009

    Again the post IDs are reported. The report icon shows the exact same link whether I click on the post number at the top right to go to that post first, or if I do it inline in the thread.

    Like I said, I don't mind taking the extra step, but there may be a way to save lots of headaches for you guys in the future by looking into the notification settings.

    Anyway, just thought I would mention it.

    BTW-If anyone is wondering, I changed the domain in the report link of the examples to avoid someone clicking on it and accidentally reporting innocent posts.

  3. #13
    Senior Member Steel_Nirvana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4,262
    Clicking on the little caution icon on the bottom left works fine. I think the key point is to copy-paste and quote the original in the report, in case the offender goes back and changes it. TBH, I never understood the point of the kabuki dance described above.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    714
    In the OP T_O_A_D says to click the post number (the first yellow arrow in the pic) located at the top right of the individual post you are reporting in order to go to it directly, then report from there (the second yellow arrow) so that they get the direct link posted to their moderation notices (red arrow). That way they don't have to scan entire threads looking for the post in question. Since that post ID is being included in the report icon link, it just seems odd that they are not receiving that info regardless of how we do it.

  5. #15
    Senior Member Steel_Nirvana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4,262
    Yes, I've read the OP, thanks. Most BB software will send the specific post to the mods when a post is reported, though, as you've found. I think this thread was prompted by a couple of folks who were unclear on the concept and reporting things they didn't like as opposed to things that were against the rules....

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •