Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: B-29's shot down | Forums

As I recently started playing Juri_js's Home defence campaign, flying J2M3's against Amercian bombing raids against mainland Japan I began to wonder how many B-29's were shot down over Japan.

It's quite hard to bring it down even in the game (except with successful head-on attack), so it must have been a real treat to bring it down IRL.

Are there any exact numbers on B-29's lost due to IJA/IJN fighters and antiaircraft fire?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

As I recently started playing Juri_js's Home defence campaign, flying J2M3's against Amercian bombing raids against mainland Japan I began to wonder how many B-29's were shot down over Japan.

It's quite hard to bring it down even in the game (except with successful head-on attack), so it must have been a real treat to bring it down IRL.

Are there any exact numbers on B-29's lost due to IJA/IJN fighters and antiaircraft fire?

Banned
    A number of them didn't make the 7 hour trip back to Tinian. So "shot down over Japan" isn't the same as "lost". I have that from a man who flew B-29's from Tinian. There were enough that didn't make it that a lot of crew would deliberately play poker right up to leaving and stop the last hand before finishing because then you just HAVE to make it back to finish.