Thread: CTD/reboot problem - please help | Forums

Hi all - seems I only ever post here with technical issues - sorry.

I bought the game on release - but stupid here overlooked the fact that I needed a drive that would cope with a DVD-ROM, not your bog-standard CD-ROM.

Anyway, I did some serious upgrading - amongst other things my previous vid card was one of the old GeForce MX440s and not up to spec. Current system looks like this;

M/board: ASUS A7V8X-X
    Vid Card: Galaxy Glacier GeForce 6800 GT
    Memory: 1024 MB SD RAM
    Processor: AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2 GHz
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value*
    DVD RW: NEC 2510A 8X
    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E431S
    O/S XP Home (SP2)

Everything has latest drivers. The sound card, whilst not top of the range, still represents an upgrade for me - was previously running onboard sound.

I'm not a techie - got my mate to fit all this new gear - and yes, he did remember to disable the onboard sound.

Anyway, problem is this......

I'm getting CTDs - half the time with reboots - on playing any game. I've not yet patched SHIII at all - but got a couple of CTDs. However, my previous vid card wasn't able to cope with Rome: Total War - so I've installed that and I'm getting CTDs/reboots there too.

Similarly, a game I was able to play before upgrading - Hidden and Dangerous 2 - is now also getting the CTDs/reboots.

So this isn't a SHIII issue - unless it's something to so with StarForce. But that would seem odd - I don't burn/copy CDs or DVDs and have absolutely no software for such on the PC.

Any help would be gratefully received - even pointers as to where I might get this one sorted.

Cheers.

(I will get to see some of you lot on the open seas at some point.....
    )

Hi all - seems I only ever post here with technical issues - sorry.

I bought the game on release - but stupid here overlooked the fact that I needed a drive that would cope with a DVD-ROM, not your bog-standard CD-ROM.