Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 74

Thread: Cliffs of Dover Technical FAQ | Forums

  1. #1
    From Luthier:

    Cliffs of Dover Technical FAQ
    Thank you for purchasing Cliffs of Dover! If you have previously purchased our sims, you should know that they are a constant work in progress. We as a team are proud of the fact that we continuously support, expand and improve on our releases. We hope, with your support, to continue this tradition and to help the series grow in the coming years.
    Here are some common issues encountered by players with the initial release, and how to resolve them.

    1. Q: I have low FPS.

    Answer:
    A.
    Please consider disabling the anti-epilepsy filter (Options – Video – Anti-Epilepsy Filter). WARNING: disabling this filter may induce previously undetected epileptic symptoms even in persons who have no history of prior seizures or epilepsy. Please read the complete warning on the game’s splash screen.
    Disabling the filter will add up to 10 FPS to your game, depending on your hardware configuration.

    B. If your machine does not exceed the recommended system requirements, consider turning down some graphic settings. The two options that cause the most performance gain are Forest and Building Amount (Options – Video – Show Advanced). You should not need to turn down other settings if your computer meets the recommended requirements.

    C. If your computer is well below the recommended system requirements, please also consider turning down Land Detail and Land Shading, and turning off Grass.

    D. The options that cause the least performance gain for the largest decrease in visual quality are Model Detail and Shadows. We only recommend turning these off if your computer is right at the edge of the minimum requirements.

    E. NOTE: DirectX 9 offers slower performance and lower graphic fidelity. If your system meets Recommended system requirements, upgrading to a DX10-capable operating system will offer better performance boost in Cliffs of Dover than perhaps any hardware upgrade.


    2. Q: I have an above-recommended SLI video card set up and my FPS is very low.

    A:
    At some point in the very hectic pre-release rush, we have broken SLI support and we have not yet been able to discover the reason for it. We are working very hard to re-enable it. In the meantime, disabling SLI will significantly boost your FPS.


    3. Q: I see a black screen when launching the game.

    A:
    You are most likely running an Nvidia card with 266.xx drivers. There's a problem with that particular driver version.
    It can be resolved by either rolling back to a previous driver version, such as 257.21, or upgrading to the just-released 270.51.
    The issue can also be resolved by manually adjusting one of the driver parameters in the registry. This is for more advanced users. Please modify the registry at your own risk.

    Start - Run
    regedit
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\GraphicsDrivers
    Edit - New - DWord
    Name = TdrDelay
    Value Data = 12


    4. Q: I am experiencing periodic FPS hic-ups when flying low over terrain.

    A:
    The issue is apparently caused by our extensive vegetation. We are feverishly working on a solution, which should be available in a matter of days.


    5. Q: I am seeing a gray rectangle in the upper left corner of the screen.

    A:
    You have created a new Info window. These highly customizable windows allow you to set up your own user interface in-game. Due to the fact that the game also features clickable ****pits, our solution to having distinct clickable elements that possibly overlay each other is making the ****pit elements selectable with a regular left-click, and the interface overlay windows selectable with an alt-click.

    So, simply alt-click the grey rectangle to select it, and then either move it and resize it, right-click to customize it, or right-click to close it.
    This can also be done with all standard interface elements, including no-****pit gauge overlays. Or you can right-click anywhere on your screen and add new Info windows to your interface layout.


    6. Q: I have turned down Model Detail and now strange things are sticking through the ****pit of my Hurricane.

    A:
    The external model of the Hurricane wasn’t designed with decreased graphic settings in mind, so lower-detail portions of it began to stick through the ****pit. We are working to have this addressed ASAP – in the meantime please consider turning Model Detail up as it does not offer significant performance gain on anything but the slowest machines.


    7. Q: I am running Windows Vista / 7, and my game constantly crashes.

    A:
    You have most likely manually reset your render to use DX9. Cliffs of Dover only supports DX9 on Windows XP. Please use DX10 on DX10-capable operating systems, as switching to DX9 actually reduces performance, in addition to leading to unexpected crashes.


    8. Q: I cannot see propellers on any planes!

    A:
    Rotating propellers were causing the game to fail epilepsy tests, and so drastic changes were made to the propellers in addition to the Anti-Epilepsy filter. If we can be perfectly frank, there is a chance that this will never change back.


    9. Q: I see two small black vertical lines on my screen.

    A:
    These are cursors in the Info windows (see #5 above). A very annoying, nasty, despicable bug that we've been hunting down for months and those ****ed cursors are still there. Grrr! They are on our hit list.


    10. Q: I can fly through trees without receiving any damage.

    A:
    Since Cliffs of Dover has more shrubbery in it than perhaps any other flight sim developed so far - hundreds of thousands of trees around the player - enabling collision for the trees grinds the game to a complete halt, especially as they need to be tracked around every plane on the map and not just the player's. Making collisions less precise leads to equally poor results, when planes may fly through a tree but crash into seemingly empty space.
    We know this is extremely important. The solution is there, but it still eludes us.


    11. Q: Your game does not support multi-core processors! How dare you, sir!

    A:
    Cliffs of Dover does support multiple cores. However, additional cores are not used constantly, but in spikes. Expanded multicore support is in the works, but at this time the game taxes the 1st core constantly, while only delegating additional tasks to the other cores when needed.
    Depending on your hardware configuration, you can play with manually setting the ProcessAffinityMask parameter of your conf.ini (WARNING: this is an UNSUPPORTED FEATURE for advanced users only). The parameter can be used to manually force all processes to a single core, for example ProcessAffinityMask=3 to have the entire game process on the 3rd core. The actual effect of this setting will vary greatly based on your individual hardware and software configuration.


    12. Q: I am an old-time fan of the series and I can no longer manually edit my conf.ini.

    A:
    By default, your config is now stored in the steam cloud. This allows you to log into steam on a new machine, and carry over your entire config including keyboard layout etc.
    This also means that manual edits to the config files are automatically overwritten by the server when the game is launched.

    NOTE: editing conf.ini is an UNSUPPORTED FEATURE for advanced users only. ALWAYS back up last working version of the conf.ini.
    To disable cloud config storage, go through these simple steps:
    * Right-click the game in the game list in your steam Library.
    * Go to the Updates tab of the Properties window.
    * Uncheck "Enable steam cloud..."
    * Press Close
    * You can now manually edit your config file!

    NOTE: (once again) some of the settings in the conf.ini are legacy settings left over from when some features were not yet set in stone, so you WILL horribly break the game if you begin to randomly reset random settings to see what they do.


    13. Q: I am running Windows XP. All missions stop loading at 95% and never complete.

    A:
    Your memory is too low to fully load landscape with grass. Please go to Options - Video - Show Advanced and uncheck Grass. This will allow the game to fully load.
    (automatic fix is on the way)

    Edit note: edit to format for ease of reading
    Last edited by Black_Widow9; 02-08-2012 at 09:31 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member Feathered_IV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5,517
    Very useful. Downloading now with 4 hours to go. Hope I've got enough power in this old 260GTX/2gb ram thingy to squeeze out some flights in a Blenheim.


    "Nineteen years of age, eight years public education, three years military service. Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely.
    He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Senior Member waffen-79's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,674
    Me no likey

    So we at our virtual squadron were very worried about all the bad press and videos the Cliffs of Dover sim was getting

    When I read Ilya's post about everything going to workout for the 19th of april and that patches are coming through I instantly emailed all my buddies reassuring them to buy the sim and everything is going to be okay in acouple of months and now this!!!!????

    seriously, I know you guys want to support it, and that waiting for this 6 years is silly not to buy it, but frankly, that post above doesn't sound good at all

    EDIT, I'm not saying -don't buy it- 'cause I know I will, it just right now seems anormaly buggy

    You need blokes like me to fly Blue side!, BE SURE!
    Flying Online as: Waffen-79
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Global Moderator Tully__'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15,790
    Originally posted by waffen-79:
    ... it just right now seems anormaly buggy
    You should have seen the bug list for the latest Silent Hunter if you think this is bad. In fact I'd say it's less than average for a PC game and at least we know this developer actually cares about fixing bugs.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Senior Member Feathered_IV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5,517
    Originally posted by waffen-79:
    ...I'm not saying -don't buy it- 'cause I know I will, it just right now seems anormaly buggy


    Oh, it is. I doubt I've got a show in hell of running it either, but I wanted to show support early on. I might never own another pc that is capable of running a new sim, but it seemed like the right thing to do at the time. Hopefully my early support will help fund the optimisations that make it playable on the majority of todays gaming computers.


    "Nineteen years of age, eight years public education, three years military service. Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely.
    He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Okay dunno if anyone else has this but my Mouse aint working ingame so its kinda hard to use turrets or look around? anyone know where i can turn mouse use on?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ba5tard5word's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,845
    Interesting, at least they are working on some of these issues.

    Anyway, thanks Europe and Russia for being our beta testers, hopefully they'll work out the major kinks by April 26th.

    --signed, the US and Canada
    -----------------

    "i got banned from the falt earth society for saying nonsenses"
    --raaaid
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    602
    12. Q: I am an old-time fan of the series and I can no longer manually edit my conf.ini.

    A: By default, your config is now stored in the steam cloud. This allows you to log into steam on a new machine, and carry over your entire config including keyboard layout etc.
    This also means that manual edits to the config files are automatically overwritten by the server when the game is launched.
    NOTE: editing conf.ini is an UNSUPPORTED FEATURE for advanced users only. ALWAYS back up last working version of the conf.ini.
    To disable cloud config storage, go through these simple steps:
    * Right-click the game in the game list in your steam Library.
    * Go to the Updates tab of the Properties window.
    * Uncheck "Enable steam cloud..."
    * Press Close
    How can I know for sure that my system is writting on my local conf.ini?
    I have done all the above but I still have the feeling that it does not read my conf.ini.
    Shouldn't there be (in the conf.ini) a line to disable the Epilepsy settings? Mine does not show it.

    ---- SOLVED ---------
    there are two locations for config files.
    one, being in the Documents folder of the user's desktop (labelled 1C Softclub) and the other, being in the Steam folder under Steam Apps/ common.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    system specs:
    Intel i7 940 2,93GHz
    2x Nvidia GTX570 1,3GB GDDR5 RAM
    2,6 GB DDR3 WinXP SP3 (SLI drivers ver 263.09)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Senior Member PF_Coastie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3,720
    This is partularly disturbing:

    8. Q: I cannot see propellers on any planes!

    A: Rotating propellers were causing the game to fail epilepsy tests, and so drastic changes were made to the propellers in addition to the Anti-Epilepsy filter. If we can be perfectly frank, there is a chance that this will never change back.
    So they broke the propellers so bad that it may NEVER be fixed! This is a "PROP" sim. Without good propellers, it will be doomed.
    AKA_Coastie (Now a proud member of the AKA Wardogs)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Originally posted by Ba5tard5word:
    Interesting, at least they are working on some of these issues.

    Anyway, thanks Europe and Russia for being our beta testers, hopefully they'll work out the major kinks by April 26th.

    --signed, the US and Canada
    Oh, you mean like how I just spent US$50 on what is clearly an alpha release? I hope they have a lot of tricks up their sleeve, because, right now, this game is pretty much unplayable. And that is being polite.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •