Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 116

Thread: Tech Specs for the game | Forums

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    699
    For those wanting to get an accurate feel for the tech specs required for Silent Hunter 5, this is a reply that one of the Devs gave in the SH5 tech specs thread over at subsim.

    http://www.subsim.com/radioroo...1155576&postcount=30
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member Wolferz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Frostbite Falls
    Posts
    4,117
    Looks like the ball has been dropped again.

    Wouldn't it be more prudent to create code that will run on the majority of configurations?

    I suspect that there aren't that many rigs out there running 3.0 Ghz CPUs. Most are probably in the 2.0 to 2.4 Ghz range.

    I researched pricing on 3.0 Ghz CPUs and they vary from around $150.00 to $1000.00 usd. Not including the change you will have to drop for a new MoBo.
    In case the folks at Ubisoft Romania have been spending all their time in Heir Hitlers' bunker, there is a pretty nasty crisis in the world economy at the present time.
    I foresee only the hardest core Sub enthusiasts upgrading their rigs to run this sim. And only if they are fortunate enough to still be employed. That doesn't bode well for sales and it could, ultimately, cost you guys your jobs. Unless Ubi has a backlog of new shovelware for you to code.
    ...---.../...---...

    Proud to be an Amoosican: Frostbite Falls is a cool place.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    699
    It'll run fine on a 2.0 or 2.4 with a decent video card. They have also optimized SH5 to actually require less RAM than SH4.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wolferz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Frostbite Falls
    Posts
    4,117
    Originally posted by shadow_858:
    It'll run fine on a 2.0 or 2.4 with a decent video card. They have also optimized SH5 to actually require less RAM than SH4.
    The proof will be in the Sauerkraut.
    RAM is cheap. So that point is moot.
    ...---.../...---...

    Proud to be an Amoosican: Frostbite Falls is a cool place.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    So mine should run fine then with AMD Quad Core 5600+ (2.9GHz) yyaaayyyy

    I'm planning to upgrade the RAM soon .. I think 4GB should be enough .. no?

    SH4 SS Comp Winner: February'09 - Edited | [URL=http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/64
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    699
    Originally posted by pacific_breeze:
    So mine should run fine then with AMD Quad Core 5600+ (2.9GHz) yyaaayyyy

    I'm planning to upgrade the RAM soon .. I think 4GB should be enough .. no?
    The game is optimized better than SH4 and will run very well on 2GIGs of RAM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Originally posted by shadow_858:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by pacific_breeze:
    So mine should run fine then with AMD Quad Core 5600+ (2.9GHz) yyaaayyyy

    I'm planning to upgrade the RAM soon .. I think 4GB should be enough .. no?
    The game is optimized better than SH4 and will run very well on 2GIGs of RAM. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


    Nice to know that my computer is already up to snuff also. I plan on getting Windows 7 when it comes out in October also.


    FYI, I've stickyed this thread because it needs to up top where people can see it.


    "Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" LtCDR Samuel D Dealey
    SHIV Guide I Imperial Japanese Navy l US Submarines: Pacific Theater
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    699
    Thanks, tambor. If I get any other confirmed details from the Devs, I'll post them here.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Originally posted by shadow_858:
    Thanks, tambor. If I get any other confirmed details from the Devs, I'll post them here.

    Thanks, shadow. Appreciate it.


    "Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" LtCDR Samuel D Dealey
    SHIV Guide I Imperial Japanese Navy l US Submarines: Pacific Theater
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    699
    I thought this was interesting from Mihai. Something we've never had before.

    http://www.subsim.com/radioroo...=1155610&postcount=9
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •