Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any chance of a "SH3 Gold" without Starforce? | Forums

When I bought a new computer last August, I told the sales guy I wanted a machine powerful enough to play SH3.

Unfortunately, I have not bought SH3 yet because I have talked to many SH3 owners on various forums who have had problems with Starforce. Starforce is the sole reason I have not bought this game. I am not a computer expert and I just do not want to risk installing something that might cause problems with my computer.

I don't use pirated software. Never have. I don't even make a spare copy of games I've purchased. But I do compose music on my computer and burn it to CD, and I do not want to lose this capability to some crazy copy-protection software.

Will there be a "gold" edition of SH3 that does not use Starforce? I would buy the game immediately...

It is not known at this time whether or not it will be. We can only hope, but do not count on it. Maybe that will be a stipulation of the lawsuit that has been filed.

Could some official Ubi person comment on this please? Thank you!

Everyone I've communicated with says SH3 is a great game, but on other forums I've seen that a number of people have not bought it because of concerns over Starforce.

Half of the people I've communicated with say "SH3 is great and I've had no problems with Starforce!"

The other half say Starforce has caused problems with their computers and they will never buy another game that uses it.

Some people even include 'boycott Starforce' messages in their sigs...

Originally posted by Antonin1957:
    Half of the people I've communicated with say "SH3 is great and I've had no problems with Starforce!"

The other half say Starforce has caused problems with their computers and they will never buy another game that uses it.
    I find it hard to believe there is a 50/50 result using StarForce.