Page 1 of 82 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 812

Thread: DRM is official (5 installs) | Forums

KYRAT SERIES 2 - Midlands and Himalayas | Far Cry 4 [PSN] [UK]

Kyrat Edition Trailer | Far Cry 4 [UK]

Survive Kyrat | Far Cry 4 [PSN] [UK]

What are you made of? | Far Cry 4 [UK]

  1. #1
    I just got off the phone with an Ubisoft rep, and he told me explicitly that farcry 2 WILL have a limit of 5 activations on its drm. sry fellow pc players, looks like its time to get the 360/ps3 versions.

    sry if this has been posted befor, i know that there have been lots of threads about if it has it or not, but i thought i would just share my first hand experience with you all.

    Originally posted by bukowski113:
    Some DRM points that will hopefully answer some of your questions and will clarify some misunderstandings about our DRM and SecuROM:

    - You have 5 activations per machine on 3 separate PCs.

    - The 3 machine activations can be concurrent, but you must have the disc in the drive to run the game

    - Uninstalling the game "refunds" an activation. This process is called "revoke", so as long as you complete proper uninstall you will be able to install the game an unlimited number of times on 3 systems.

    - You can upgrade your computer as many time as you want (using our revoke system)

    - Ubisoft is committed to the support of our games, and additional activations can be provided.

    - Ubisoft is committed to the long term support of our games: you'll always be able to play Far Cry 2.
    Just hijacked this thread to make it the focal point of DRM discussion.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    580
    i dont know what a DRM is but im glad im getting the 360 ver. anyway after reading your post lol
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2,883
    Yeah and those UBI reps probably know less than the technical support reps... I am trusting that one as an Official word from UBI!

    Originally posted by Icecube1137:
    i dont know what a DRM is but im glad im getting the 360 ver. anyway after reading your post lol
    I have heard from another UBI Rep that the 360 version won't even let you start the game so... there!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    sry fellow pc players, looks like its time to get the 360/ps3 versions.
    Not worried about a silly DRM. So get the watered down console version and play the the best fps of the year with a controller or play it maxed out in DX10 on a PC..with mouse and keyboard controls..hmmm tough choice.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Originally posted by OV3RS1GHT:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">sry fellow pc players, looks like its time to get the 360/ps3 versions.
    Not worried about a silly DRM. So get the watered down console version and play the the best fps of the year with a controller or play it maxed out in DX10 on a PC..with mouse and keyboard controls..hmmm tough choice. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    ahhhhh yes, that sounds divine. but then again, so does getting the massive SecuROM middle Finger shoved up your dark place after you used up the activation limit.

    [/sarcasm]
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Member Fedaykin552's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lost in thought. Please send search party
    Posts
    204
    Originally posted by OV3RS1GHT:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">sry fellow pc players, looks like its time to get the 360/ps3 versions.
    Not worried about a silly DRM. So get the watered down console version and play the the best fps of the year with a controller or play it maxed out in DX10 on a PC..with mouse and keyboard controls..hmmm tough choice. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Watered down!? Sir I take offence to that remark!
    It's really not that different if you play it in hi-def so there
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    845
    NOT SOLD!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    26
    Although only being able to install 5 times is rather crazy, I don't think I've ever installed a game more than once anyway, so I'm not too worried. I'd rather have it on a PC than on a console.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21
    Originally posted by timebomb26:
    Although only being able to install 5 times is rather crazy, I don't think I've ever installed a game more than once anyway, so I'm not too worried. I'd rather have it on a PC than on a console.
    I have installed and re-installed COD, COD:UO and COD2 more times than I can remember (for example). Especially on my laptop. I uninstall some games to make space and re-install them when going to LAN Parties and the like.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by timebomb26:
    Although only being able to install 5 times is rather crazy, I don't think I've ever installed a game more than once anyway, so I'm not too worried. I'd rather have it on a PC than on a console.
    You do realise formatting/upgrading/etc your PC it costs as an activation right?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 82 1231151 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •