Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: my resolution goes down to 720P why? | Forums

  1. #1
    Junior Member luism2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Hi all, I am on a 1080p ps3 samsung system and the game renders down to 720p? everything else is fine.. movies.. AC2 ..why? how can I adjust that?

    Thanks
     

  2. #2
    Community Manager FredEx919's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,011
    Try forcing 1080p on your console by going to the display settings and disabling 720 & 1080i. The game will usually default to what it detects as the best configuration for optimal performance.
     

  3. #3
    Junior Member luism2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    thanks.. that worked.. is my ps3 that old? :]
     

  4. #4
    no it does that to everyone. 720p is the native res of the game.
    btw, so now that it is in 1080p, does it look better? do you notice a difference?
     

  5. #5
    Junior Member luism2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Overall it looks much better.. sharper crisper.. the wide screen scenes look much more cinematic .. at 720 on my tv it looks blurry (one of the reasons I dont get the wii.. my personal preference)..
    Gameplay is the same so far..
    As far as the interwoven animated sequences/stories..I think the animation rendering in AC2 was better.. the characters looked more "real".. did Ubisoft change engines or companies for that in ac3?
     

  6. #6
    enging is the same, just "modified".
    so now that you set your PS3 to only display in 1080p, when you try to play a game that does not support 1080p, what does it do?
     

  7. #7
    Damn... I should do that... I guess I've been playing in 720 all this time. God damn it!
     

  8. #8
    Senior Community Manager Mr_Shade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    EMEA CRC
    Posts
    21,898
    Originally posted by FredEx919:
    Try forcing 1080p on your console by going to the display settings and disabling 720 & 1080i. The game will usually default to what it detects as the best configuration for optimal performance.
    If you do that, the game and any others will be upscaled to 1080p - this can look better on some TV's
     

  9. #9
    Damn! I didn't know I could disable those settings! That's the first thing I'm gonna do when I get home.
     

  10. #10
    Junior Member luism2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Originally posted by Grandmaster_Z:
    enging is the same, just "modified".
    so now that you set your PS3 to only display in 1080p, when you try to play a game that does not support 1080p, what does it do?
    Well its actually interesting.. I played ratchet& clank, and it actually looks the same or silghtyly better, being 720 native.. but yet when I put in InFamous.. it looks blurry.. but when i set the res to ALL it looks much clearer.. and this is with the setting for game smoothing for both games
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •