Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 181

Thread: Vista Home Premium x64 and 1946 | Forums

  1. #1
    Windows Vista Home Premium x64

    I'm just copying the post I made on our home forums and hope all comes out ok


    My system: Q6600, P35 Platinium, NX8800GTX, 4G0 Corsair TwinX2 all well cooled and too much junk to list

    I've done a stock install of Vista onto my machine......what a switch compared to XP Pro. The only reason that I did this was XP can only manage up to 3.2 Go of Ram and Vista can manage up to 128 Go's . So to take advantage of my new system......I bit the bullet and installed it.

    After having read all the horror stories of the dreaded Vista I went into this a bit in reverse.

    I now have a solid system running but I have to tell you it took lots of research on the net and learning this program.

    In my opinion, I like it a lot.....so far lol.

    With my stock install, there are 2 "program files" folders named:
    a) Program Files
    b) Program Files (x86) where XP Pro compatibility stuff is installed



    Steps I took for installing Il2 1946, HyperLobby, Teamspeak 2, Tso and so-on

    1) I turned off Vista UAC.
    a) Control Panel, User Accounts, "Turn User Account Control on or off" un check the box, click "Apply" then Reboot.

    2) Put game disk into drive (those with downloads the security/compatibility steps are the same)

    3) Do not do "autorun" click cancel.. you want to "explore" contents of disk. Find the "install" exe file eg: a.exe and Right Click on it. Choose "Properties".
    a) in the "attributes" click on "Advanced tab" make sure that both the boxes on top are checked then click "OK" then "Apply"
    b) next click on "Compatibility" tab on top then put check in box for "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" make sure that the drop down box is showing "Windows XP (service pak 2)"
    c) still in the "compatibility" page, click on "Show settings for all users " and again, put a check in the box and choose "Windows XP (service pak2)" then click "Apply"
    d) now click on "Security" tab where you will see group or user names on your system. In my case, I have "System", "Administrators (my name\Administrators)" and "Users (computername\Users)" hilight "Users (computername\Users)" then click on "Edit" again hilight "Users (computername\Users)" and lower down on panel you will see "Permissions for Users" put a check in "Allow" box for "Full control" click "apply" all of the boxes in "Allow" should now have check marks in them. Click OK to return to previous, again click OK and window closes.

    4) Now for the installation......right click on the exe file that you have just done all of this work to and choose "Run as Administrator"......it will now do it's install.

    The program will be installed into the "Program Files (x86) folder.


    Now we have a Desktop Icon to set up.

    1) Right click on it....choose properties....it defaults to the "shortcut" tab... .click on "Advanced" and put a check "Run as administrator" click OK
    2) now click on "Compatibility" tab to make sure that the check is still in the box to run the program in XP sp2 mode...also check in "show settings for all users" panel.
    3) Also again the "Security" tab....hilight " yourname (computername\Administrators) click "edit" and make sure that all the boxes in the "allow" column have checks in them.


    Your game will now run in "XP compatibility" mode.

    Remember you have to do these steps as well for the patches....right click on the ".exe" file....properties....compatibility....security... OK OK now window closes, right click again and "run as administrator"........the patch will find the program no problems....Vista directs all stuff "compatibility XP sp2" to the "Program files (x86)" folder basically the default install location "Program files" folder in XP if that isn't too confusing....I know I am trying to get this all down for yawl


    This must be done for all of your applications ".EXE"


    Il2 1946 il2fb.exe, il2setup.exe, Ngen.exe

    HyperLobbyPro3 hlpro.exe, aping.exe

    Teamspeak2_RC2 TeamSpeak.exe

    TSO tso.exe


    Don't forget to setup your desktop shortcuts as well.....


    Now lets go to the resident Vista firewall and security area.

    Control panel, windows firewall....make sure that your games are in the "exeptions" area...same as XP sp2 basically.



    Make sure that your video drivers are up to date.....I had problems that 5 minutes into the game my system would hang and I'd have to do a hard boot......Nvidia forceware ver. 163.69.....I installed 169.04 Beta and have not had any thing but a smile on me yap since. new beta is out 169.09 its now at v169.25


    now here are some of the settings for my game:

    you'll notice that for the screen res it's showing 640x480..I've set my res in the conf.ini file....remember that all settings that are done here have to be done before any manual changes in the conf.ini file.
    read this link for a better explanation of what everything does in the setup..scroll down to "setup explained by covino" http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/system.htm#002














    [il2]
    title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
    hotkeys=HotKey game

    [window] *** resolutions not included ingame are entered here. this must be entered and saved after any changes have been made with the Il2 setup program and the following must be set to these values (marked with ***)
    width=1920
    height=1200
    ColourBits=32
    DepthBits=24
    StencilBits=8
    ChangeScreenRes=1 ***
    FullScreen=1
    DrawIfNotFocused=1
    EnableResize=0 ***
    EnableClose=1
    SaveAspect=0 ***
    Use3Renders=0

    [GLPROVIDER]
    GL=Opengl32.dll

    [GLPROVIDERS]
    Open GL=Opengl32.dll
    DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

    [NET]
    speed=8000
    routeChannels=0
    serverChannels=31
    localPort=21000
    remotePort=21000
    SkinDownload=1
    serverName=No Name
    serverDescription=
    remoteHost=
    localHost=
    socksHost=
    checkServerTimeSpeed=1
    checkClientTimeSpeed=1
    checkTimeSpeedDifferense=0.05
    checkTimeSpeedInterval=5

    [MaxLag]
    farMaxLagTime=3.5
    nearMaxLagTime=1.5
    cheaterWarningDelay=2
    cheaterWarningNum=1

    [chat]
    region=(dx=0.645,dy=0.08083333,x=0.0,y=0.0)
    adr0=ALL

    [game]
    Arcade=0
    HighGore=1
    mapPadX=0.66875
    mapPadY=-0.046666667
    viewSet=52
    Intro=0
    NoSubTitles=1
    NoChatter=0
    NoHudLog=0
    NoLensFlare=0
    iconTypes=3
    eventlog=eventlog.lst
    eventlogkeep=0
    3dgunners=1
    TypeClouds=1


    [HotKey game]
    PrintScreen=ScreenShot
    P=pause
    Pause=pause

    [HotKey gui]
    Escape=activate

    [HookViewFly Config]
    timeFirstStep=2.0
    deltaZ=10.0

    [HookView]
    MouseLeft=Len

    [HookView Config]
    AzimutSpeed=0.1
    TangageSpeed=0.1
    LenSpeed=1.0
    MinLen=1.0
    DefaultLen=20.0
    MaxLen=3000.0
    Speed=6

    [HotKey builder]
    MouseLeft=objectMove
    MouseRight=popupmenu
    Enter=freeView
    Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
    Alt MouseLeft=select+
    Alt MouseRight=select-
    Alt Ctrl=unselect
    PageDown=change+
    PageUp=change-
    End=change++
    Home=change--
    Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
    Insert=insert+
    NumPad-0=insert+
    F=fill
    Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
    NumPad.=delete+
    Delete=delete+
    Backspace=cursor
    Tab=cursor
    F10=land
    F11=onLand
    NumPad-=normalLand
    NumPad+=toLand
    NumPad-5=resetAngles
    NumPad-8=resetTangage90
    NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
    NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
    NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
    NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
    NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
    NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

    [MouseXYZ]
    F1=SpeedSlow
    F2=SpeedNormal
    F3=SpeedFast
    MouseRight=XYmove
    F4 MouseRight=Zmove
    MouseMiddle=Amove
    F5 MouseRight=Amove
    F6 MouseRight=Tmove
    F7 MouseRight=Kmove

    [MouseXYZ Config]
    RealTime=1

    [HotKey Console]
    Shift Tab=Activate
    [Console]
    HISTORY=1024
    HISTORYCMD=1024
    LOAD=console.cmd
    SAVE=console.cmd
    LOG=0
    LOGTIME=0
    LOGFILE=log.lst
    LOGKEEP=0

    [sound]
    SoundUse=1
    SoundEngine=1
    Speakers=1
    Placement=0
    SoundFlags.reversestereo=1
    RadioFlags.Enabled=0
    RadioEngine=2
    MusicVolume=1
    ObjectVolume=14
    MusState.takeoff=0
    MusState.inflight=0
    MusState.crash=0
    MusFlags.play=0
    MasterVolume=14
    Attenuation=7
    SoundMode=3
    SamplingRate=2
    NumChannels=3
    SoundExt.occlusions=0
    SoundFlags.hardware=1
    SoundFlags.streams=1
    SoundFlags.duplex=1
    SoundExt.acoustics=0
    SoundExt.volumefx=0
    SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
    SoundFlags.static=1
    VoiceVolume=13
    Channels=2
    SoundExt.extrender=0
    SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
    SoundSetupId=8
    ActivationLevel=0.02
    Preemphasis=0.85
    RadioLatency=0.5
    AGC=1
    PTTMode=1
    SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=1
    SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
    RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
    RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
    ActLevel=0
    MicLevel=0
    SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

    [rts]
    ;ProcessAffinityMask=0 this is where you set for multi-core, myself I left it default let the quad core work I say
    mouseUse=2
    joyUse=1
    trackIRUse=1
    DisableIME=0
    locale=

    [rts_mouse]
    SensitivityX=1.0
    SensitivityY=1.0
    Invert=0
    SensitivityZ=1.0

    [rts_joystick]
    X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
    Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
    Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
    RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
    FF=1
    U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
    V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
    1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
    1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
    1RZ=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1X1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1Y1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1RZ1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1U1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
    1V1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0

    [Render_DirectX]
    TexQual=3
    TexMipFilter=2
    TexCompress=0
    TexFlags.UseDither=1
    TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
    TexFlags.UseIndex=0
    TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
    TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
    TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
    TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
    TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
    TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
    TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
    TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
    TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
    TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
    TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
    TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
    TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
    TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
    TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
    TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
    TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
    TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

    HardwareShaders=0

    Shadows=2
    Specular=2
    SpecularLight=2
    DiffuseLight=2
    DynamicalLights=1
    MeshDetail=2
    VisibilityDistance=3

    Sky=2
    Forest=2
    LandShading=3
    LandDetails=2

    LandGeom=2
    TexLarge=1
    TexLandQual=3
    TexLandLarge=1

    VideoSetupId=4
    ForceShaders1x=0
    PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
    PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

    [Render_OpenGL]
    TexQual=3
    TexMipFilter=2
    TexCompress=0
    TexFlags.UseDither=1
    TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
    TexFlags.UseIndex=0
    TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
    TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
    TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
    TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
    TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
    TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
    TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
    TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
    TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
    TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
    TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
    TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
    TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

    TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
    TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
    TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
    TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
    TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

    HardwareShaders=1

    Shadows=2
    Specular=2
    SpecularLight=2
    DiffuseLight=2
    DynamicalLights=1
    MeshDetail=2
    VisibilityDistance=3

    Sky=2
    Forest=2
    LandShading=3
    LandDetails=2

    LandGeom=2
    TexLarge=1
    TexLandQual=3
    TexLandLarge=1

    VideoSetupId=17
    Water=4
    Effects=2
    ForceShaders1x=0

    PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
    PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0


    Here are a few links that I've found very useful....lots of good info, tricks, and tips....remember read thru before doing and don't forget to make a system restore point before doing any modifications.....that way you have a starting point that you know that everything worked fine.......


    http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x?a=fr...102&f=49310655

    http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/technical.htm

    http://www.mission4today.com/index.p...ge_Base&cat=35

    http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/system.htm#002

    http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=t...283&m=51910959

    http://www.gozr.net/iocl/index.php

    http://hyperfighter.sk/modules.php?name=Forums&file=vie...light=hlpro+set tings

    http://www.vistax64.com/#vista-forums

    http://www.tweakguides.com/

    http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

    http://www.howtogeek.com/tag/windows-vista/#network

    http://www.errorforum.com/microsoft-windows-vista-error...ak-guide-v1-0-a.html

    http://pctuneuptips.com/tips/vista_tweaks/?ref=insert

    http://apcmag.com/vista_activation

    http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/windows/en-us/help/ad7...76c7654d7bc1033.mspx

    http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.php/Windows_Vista_Sof...e_Compatibility_List

    http://www.inspectmygadget.com/2007/06/04/how-to-tidy-u...u-programs-in-vista/

    http://www.overclock.net/windows/166...ta-tweaks.html

    any other tips and tweaks should be posted here...please do not spam this thread as it would be a great reference area for all

    thanks


    NORAD_B1Spear
    Vista Home Premium x64
    P35 Platinium, Q6600, NX8800 GTX, 4Go. Corsair TwinX C4, Antec 900 case, TT Toughpower 700W, Zalman CNPS9700NT Cpu fan,G15 keys, G5 Mouse, 24" Samsung 245B/W, Cable 1Mbps up/ 7Mbps dwn and finally a smile on my face....IT AL
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member x6BL_Brando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,122
    Hi

    Thanks very much for posting such a carefully annotated introduction to Vista/IL2 installation and configuration procedures. I'm sure it will come in handy for many people as & when they get around to changing over, or for those already owning the new OS.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Senior Member -HH-Quazi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,934
    Mr. Spear brought this thread to my attention at the recommendation of Urufu. It is a fantastic guide for those using Vista Home Premium x64 and having trouble with installing or getting 1946 to play well or at all. He & Urufu thought it would make a great sticky instead of putting it in the Users Fixes sticky. I agreed. Thanks for the time you put into this guide Brian! This community appreciates your hard work I am sure.
    [LIST]
    Honor Our Veterans WorldWide
    How to Better Control AI Wingmen by WWSensei
    [url=http://www.k9squadrons.com] Welcom
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Thanks spear, this is better than I could have written and my time to write these sort of things is far to hard to come by these days. Wonderful job spear, thanks again.
    "The basis of our governments being the opinion of the people, the very first object should be to keep that right; and were it left to me to decide whether we should have a government without newspapers, or newspapers without a government, I should not hesitate a moment to prefer the latter.[Europe], under pretence of governing they have divided their nations into two classes, wolves and sheep. If once [the people] become inattentive to the public affairs, you and I, and Congress, and Assemblies, judges and governors shall all become wolves. " - Thomas Jefferson
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    14
    Here is a tip I read in PC Gamer and posted in another thread, someone suggested I post it here.

    For WinXp and Vista; Set up a slimmed down user account for games only.

    <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Set up user account.</span>
    1.)Go to "Control Panel".
    2.)Select "User Accounts".
    3.)Select "Add/Remove User Accounts" or "Add new User Account".
    4.)Follow the instructions for creating a new account.

    <span class="ev_code_RED">VISTA*</span><span class="ev_code_YELLOW">In WinXP and Vista switch to a classic windows UI.</span>
    1.)Open Control Panel.
    2.)Select "User Accounts" link.
    3.)Select "Turn user account control on or off".
    4.)Remove the check on box for UAC and click OK.
    5.)Restart for changes to take place.

    <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">In Vista disable UAC "User account control".</span>
    1.)Right click anywhere on your desktop.
    2.)Select "Properties" or in Vista "Personalize".
    3.)Select the theme link or tab.
    4.)Select "Classic Windows" theme from the drop down list.

    <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Disable any unnecessary services.</span>
    1.)Right click "My Computer" (in Vista it is just Computer).
    2.)Select "Manage".
    3.)Select "Services and Applications".
    4.)Select "Services".
    5.)Right Click on the service and select "Properties".
    6.)On the properties page you can choose to Stop, Start, Disable or set service to manual or automatic.
    7.)Refer to the link below to find info on each service and whether or not it is safe to disable.
    Vista Services Info
    <span class="ev_code_GREEN">(Click on the "Application Experience" link to find out how Vista responds to having this service disabled)</span>
    Windows XP-SP2 Services Info
    <span class="ev_code_GREEN">(This one gives a list of services for most of the Microsoft OS's)</span>

    <span class="ev_code_RED">VISTA*</span> <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Disable the Windows Sidebar.</span>
    1.)In the System Tray right click on the "Windows Sidebar" icon.
    2.)Select "Properties"
    3.)In the "Windows Sidebar properties window" de-select "Start sidebar when Windows starts".
    4.)Select "Apply" and "Ok".

    <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Create a separate directory for installing your games.</span>
    1.)Hopefully on a different physical HDD or at least different partition than windows is installed on; create a new folder.
    2.)Rename the folder to something like "X:\Gaming Program Files" (X=your drive letter).
    3.)Install all of your games into this drive.

    (If something is not clear or there is a mistake let me know and I will edit it)<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre"> </pre>
    /WinXPPro-VistaUlt. | Core2QuadQ6700 | AsusStrikerExtreme680i | 4gb Patriot 1066 DDR2 EPP | SATA-74gb WD Raptor | SATA-320gbCaviarRE | XFX GF 8800gtx | SB Audigy 2 ZS | PC-P&C 750w SilencerQUAD | Case-Lian Li PC-A70B | Acer-24"widescreen | Saitek X45
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    NEW MS HOTFIXES for GAMERS Vista x64 and x32

    I found this on the Vista x64 forums and want to share with you all. Myself I've installed all..some were not applicable to my machine...bit it has made a difference in some of the games that I play....haven't had a lockup and seen the "nvsomething or other stopped responding and has recovered" error message since.....

    here's the link:

    http://www.vistax64.com/gaming/120997-new-ms-hotfixes-g...-sli-cpu-memory.html
    Vista Home Premium x64
    P35 Platinium, Q6600, NX8800 GTX, 4Go. Corsair TwinX C4, Antec 900 case, TT Toughpower 700W, Zalman CNPS9700NT Cpu fan,G15 keys, G5 Mouse, 24" Samsung 245B/W, Cable 1Mbps up/ 7Mbps dwn and finally a smile on my face....IT AL
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    I have done exactly as what was advised in this thread, yet my game still will not start whatsoever. The icon of a spinning disk is shown and the computer makes some noise, but that is all.

    Any ideas on what else I can do? I could play this on my old computer but not on my new...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    I really need help with this...

    I need to play more Sturmovik! >.<
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Led_Visari, check your PM's.
    "The basis of our governments being the opinion of the people, the very first object should be to keep that right; and were it left to me to decide whether we should have a government without newspapers, or newspapers without a government, I should not hesitate a moment to prefer the latter.[Europe], under pretence of governing they have divided their nations into two classes, wolves and sheep. If once [the people] become inattentive to the public affairs, you and I, and Congress, and Assemblies, judges and governors shall all become wolves. " - Thomas Jefferson
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1
    I've tried doing everything in the tep-by-step guide but I'm having the same problem as Led_Visari. Any chance of posting the solution? Thanks
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •