Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: Why won't realMyst start?!?!?! | Forums

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    I just formatted my HD and reinstalled XP pro. I reinstalled realMyst but it won't start! I just get kicked back to the desktop. Do you guys know what's up?
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Did you try installing the patch?
    ----------
    Guild of Archivists,
    D'niPedia Writers Ring (DPWR.NET)
    Uru and Myst Forum Moderator / Community Assistant
    Do not PM me for tech support or hint requests for the Myst series
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    yep
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    *sigh* Where's Wstrohm when I need him?

    *waits somewhat patiently*
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Princess, it sounds like you need to install the Indeo codec. XP doesn't have it by default like Windows 95/98 did, and realMYST needs it.

    Here's a link - be sure to check for virus as with any executable:

    Indeo511.EXE

    Save, scan, and run it. You should be moving about Myst shortly thereafter.

    NOTE: I mistakenly posted an incorrect link. It was for other Indeo applications and not appropriate for the situation here. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience. The link has been corrected.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Aha! Solution! (maybe). PX, if this works, please do let us know, because there've been other people asking similar questions in other Myst forums.
    ----------
    Guild of Archivists,
    D'niPedia Writers Ring (DPWR.NET)
    Uru and Myst Forum Moderator / Community Assistant
    Do not PM me for tech support or hint requests for the Myst series
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    Heuris! Great to see you! Thanks for swooping in with some advice! I'll let you guys know how it goes -- hopefully I can get to this after work today.
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    Ok, that's weird -- I could *swear* that I posted something here already. Hmmm...can a person even *have* "senior moments" in their 30's?

    Anyway, I tried installing the Indeo codec, but I got a window telling me I already have a more recent version on my computer. So no dice.
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Humble apologies Princess and all concerned

    I just realized the link I posted earlier was the wrong one. It was an older and more sophisticated package, and somewhere in the past I put it in the wrong folder.

    The link's been corrected to the single, easy install, uncomplicated Indeo 5.11 codec needed to play realMYST on Windows XP.

    Princess, I'm not sure what to suggest at the moment, since by the message you received trying to install the old Indeo package it appears you already have the version the link now points to. I've done many XP reinstalls, and realMYST has always exhibited the symptoms you described until the Indeo 5.11 codec was installed. I'm looking for my notes on unusual/troublesome installations of realMYST to recall other possible solutions....
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,202
    Well, the current version of Indeo codec installed with no complaints, but the game still won't start. I even reinstalled the game just to be safe. I can't imagine what it wants!
    ____________________________
    "What the world needs now
    are some true words of wisdom,
    like "la la la la la la la la la."
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •