ubi.com    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Far Cry  Hop To Forums  Far Cry Off Topic Discussion    Is this email legit?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Posted
Dear Gamer,

You are one of the lucky winners of the FarCry 2 Core i7 Contest. We have tried to contact you for a long time. We need your complete address, contact and phone number to be able to send your prize.

First Name:
Last Name :
Email address:
Address 1:
Address 2:
Town :
Zip Code :
State :
Country :
Phone number home including country code (Imperative) :
Phone number mobile :


Please send me your contact information before the 30th of June as after this date the contest will be legally closed meaning you will not be able to claim your prize anymore.
Please feel free to contact me if you need more information.

Regards,
Mélanie VITRY
Ubisoft Far Cry 2 Core i7 Contest Support.



My username is on the winners list but I thought I already supplied all this information when I entered. The email address is of the sender is UbisoftFarCry2Contest@adhesia.fr
Which makes me a little suspicious. Anyone have any thoughts? (sorry if the topic is misplaced I couldn't decide where to put it)

Thanks in advance
 
Posts: 1 | Registered: Thu May 28 2009Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Global Moderator
Picture of BTOG46
Posted Hide Post
It probably is legit, the address it's from is that of a French IT company that does promotional software work for Intel, Microsoft and other big companies.

I just got one from them too, after emailing the French office of Intel, who had sent me a similar email back at the end of February, they told me my prize had already been despatched.

I got one the same as yours from Mélanie VITRY, but in mine it says:

quote:
You are one of the lucky winners of the FarCry 2 Core i7 Contest. Your DVD has been sent to you, but unfortunately the delivery has been rejected for unknown reasons & the shipment got returned to us.

For the DVD to be sent to you again and ensure a proper delivery, I need to verify your complete address, contact and phone number.


Which seems to back up what Intel told me, so it would appear to be genuine.



Official Whisky taster and Herald to the Mighty Alderbranch.
"The clues are out there.....S.N.A.F.U."
Maximum Settlers | Maximum-Gamers | Anno Fans | Settlers Maps |
 
Posts: 8408 | Registered: Mon March 06 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
I don't think so, not unless they have some kinda seal of approval, which I don't think it would have. Best to just skip it, dude.


"Never harbour hate towards your victems, Altair. Such thoughts are poison and will cloud your judgment" Al Mualim to Altair.
 
Posts: 225 | Registered: Fri November 14 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
You can fill in my details Big Grin
I'd be willing to take that risk.


 
Posts: 71 | Registered: Sun April 12 2009Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
All those information for just a contest prize? More likely it's a company who collects information and sells them to telemarketers.
 
Posts: 109 | Registered: Wed August 27 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
  Powered by Eve Community  
 

ubi.com    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Far Cry  Hop To Forums  Far Cry Off Topic Discussion    Is this email legit?

Terms of Use

Privacy Policy