PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard



KU_
07-21-2004, 01:35 PM
http://www.futurepowerpc.com/scripts/details.asp?PRDCODE=MBAS-A7N8XEDLX
Is this a good price for this mobo? And how much around does it cost to put this in? Meaning taking out all my old stuff and putting this one in along with everything else.

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

KU_
07-21-2004, 01:35 PM
http://www.futurepowerpc.com/scripts/details.asp?PRDCODE=MBAS-A7N8XEDLX
Is this a good price for this mobo? And how much around does it cost to put this in? Meaning taking out all my old stuff and putting this one in along with everything else.

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

jzorro
07-21-2004, 01:43 PM
An excellent board! I have an earlier version. You may also try here: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=240314
I actually built my first ever computer with it about two years ago- did it all myself. If you can carefully follow instructions, you should be able to do it yourself. If you do not feel confident, labor prices can vary- perhaps a friend can help out.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

KU_
07-21-2004, 01:45 PM
Would this run with my mobo?
http://www.futurepowerpc.com/scripts/details.asp?PRDCODE=CPAM-R643000AX

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

jzorro
07-21-2004, 01:50 PM
No. The Asus board you asked about is for Socket A or Athlon XP chips. The Athlon 64 will require a different motherboard. This one would be better for the Athlon 64: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-131-490&depa=0
Both Newegg and Zipzoomfly are excellent places to buy parts. Combination of great prices and service.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

KU_
07-21-2004, 03:58 PM
Ok, like my specs say I got a stick of PC 2100 512mb. Can I also put a stick of PC 3000 in, and would they both work?

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

jzorro
07-21-2004, 04:11 PM
If you want two sticks, they should be the same frequency like say PC 3000 or they will just operate at the slower speed. Different memories (either brand or speed)can also cause problems. I tried it once and couldn't get it to boot until I put in just my old stick. If you go with the Athlon XP board, it has a dual-channel memory controller so you will want to get two matched sticks for it- prefferably the same frequency as the frontside bus on your CPU. In that case, two 256mb sticks would be better than one 512. The Athlon 64 does not yet support dual channel memory (future models will) so one stick may be better in it.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

KU_
07-21-2004, 04:14 PM
Would everything run well if I installed a AMD Athlon 64? Would all my stuff work with it? And wut is a 64? Is it a mobo?

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

KU_
07-21-2004, 04:27 PM
So I cant just install a 64? I have to buy a new mobo? Im on a budget. That why Im askin all these questions.

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PCI 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

jzorro
07-21-2004, 06:37 PM
Do you know what type of motherboard (manufacturer and model number) you have and what AMD processor it has? That will help us to know what sort of upgrade you can make on it without buying a new motherboard. There are different ways processors both connect and the way they handle information so there are only certain motherboards they will work with. Some boards will only handle memory up to a particular size and frequency too. We can find that out when we know what you have.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

jzorro
07-21-2004, 07:19 PM
OK- I looked up the specs on your HP Pavilion 523n. It uses Athlon XP and has lists the front side bus speed as 266mhz. Since we do not know if it is capable of higher bus speeds, I would assume that that is the limit. If you want to find out if it can go higher, check in your bios to see if there is another speed setting possible for the front side bus. On my system, I press the DELETE key as the computer is powering on to enter the Bios. The highest Athlon XP processor with that speed is the XP 2400+ which is what I have. That will be the maximum you can go with that motherboard. It is available from Newegg for $75. If you decide to get one, make sure it is the retail version since the OEM version does not come with a heatsink and you definately need one. It is here: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-336&depa=0

As far as your memory goes, you only have one slot to work with so you cannot add another stick, but you could replace the one you have if you want. It will use up to one gig. Memory works best if it is at the same frequency as the processor. You can go cheap, but I suggest good memory. It will have less problems. If you buy faster memory than PC 2100, your computer will still just run it at 2100 so there is no reason to go faster. The problem is only having one slot makes it expensive to upgrade the memory. You already have 512mb and the lowest prices I saw on a gig stick were around $200. Any improvement that may bring would most likely not be worth the expense.

Any other upgrades you may wish to make (since you already did your video card) would cost several hundred dollars. You would have to get a new processor, motherboard, memory and possibly a new power supply. At that point, it may be better to get a whole new computer.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

Sam_Fisher204
07-22-2004, 12:13 AM
lol, I got a Intel Inside Celeron with a R 9600 Pro my game works so great. looks really realist.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v293/Saxman902/samfishersig001.jpg

Because Small-Pox is one drug you need to stop from spreading...

gnogtr
07-22-2004, 02:01 PM
Ok, let me help you too. The AMD 64 has a different pin arrangement than the older XP models. You'll have to have a special board like the one I've got to run it. As for RAM, if you run one stick of 2100 and one stick of 3000, it'll only run at 2100 because it can only run as fast as your slowest memory.

Whatever you do, steer clear of Celeron processors because they have low on-chip memory which means that they run at about half the speed of their allotted speed, for example: A 2.0Ghz Celeron is only about as good as a 1.0Ghz Pentium 4.

I recommend the AND 64, but if you can't afford it, go for my Asus A7V600 with AMD XP 3000+ processor I'll sell you for $200.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

KU_
07-22-2004, 02:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gnogtr:
Ok, let me help you too. The AMD 64 has a different pin arrangement than the older XP models. You'll have to have a special board like the one I've got to run it. As for RAM, if you run one stick of 2100 and one stick of 3000, it'll only run at 2100 because it can only run as fast as your slowest memory.

Whatever you do, steer clear of Celeron processors because they have low on-chip memory which means that they run at about half the speed of their allotted speed, for example: A 2.0Ghz Celeron is only about as good as a 1.0Ghz Pentium 4.

I recommend the AND 64, but if you can't afford it, go for my Asus A7V600 with AMD XP 3000+ processor I'll sell you for $200.

&lt;a&gt;&lt;center&gt;My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

&lt;font color=ff0000&gt;XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods&lt;/font color=ff0000&gt;&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;a href="mailto:gnogtr@yahoo.com"&gt;Drop me an Email&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/center&gt;<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thats with everything I need?

http://actionvault.ign.com/top_images/farcry.jpg
===============
System Specs.
HP Pavilion 523n
Monitor-HP Pavilion MX70
Windows XP Home Edition
AMD Athlon Processor
PC 2100 512MB
80GB Harddrive
ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

tru_flip56
07-22-2004, 04:31 PM
KU are u getting a new motherboard because your old board isnt compatible with your ATI card?????????????

Useless Spammer
07-22-2004, 05:42 PM
I normally use top of the line mobo's e.g. Abit but I recently had a bios flashing incident with a sad middle of the road mobo (aopen) and needed to get my pc fixed the same day so bought a 'cheap' Asrock mobo and it works great. Intrestingly asrock are the budget line for asus.

On reflection i would stay clear of VIA chipsets. I'd either go cheap or expensive not mid range and probably would try an nforce board next.

Question for gnotr. these new 64 bit boards/chips.......any probs with software compatibility?

Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton)
MSI Geforce FX5200 @440Mhz
(a.k.a a **** graphics card)
Direct x 9b

'I'm giving you a warning. If you do it again, I'm kicking you'

Useless Spammer
07-22-2004, 05:44 PM
by the way.........i am regretting the fx5200 option but I do have to justify all this spending to the wife!

Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton)
MSI Geforce FX5200 @440Mhz
(a.k.a a **** graphics card)
Direct x 9b

'I'm giving you a warning. If you do it again, I'm kicking you'

gnogtr
07-22-2004, 07:43 PM
Everything but the heatsink for the cpu. I recommend a Vantec heatsink. I bought the processor w/o a heatsink because I watercooled it, so it's as good as new.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>