PDA

View Full Version : multiplayer..need help..desperate



XyZspineZyX
09-14-2003, 01:11 PM
can someone please tell me (step by step) how to host a game!
I bought il-2 for my brother and I. He lives out of town and uses dial up. i'm in the city and have dsl. we haven't downloaded any patches so we have the same version of the game. we both have windows xp
when we try hosting a game for each other we get the same response "connection time-out".
we're obviously doing something wrong!!
in the setup.exe under network i chose cable/dsl
under ip it shows default. i assume i should be choosing the lower of the 2 ip addresses
the next window is a port window..what's this for
Do i have to go through ubi.com to play just him or can we
directly hoop up?
both our firewalls are down so that should not be the problem,,

any help would be greatly appreciated...

sincerly...sledlen

XyZspineZyX
09-14-2003, 01:11 PM
can someone please tell me (step by step) how to host a game!
I bought il-2 for my brother and I. He lives out of town and uses dial up. i'm in the city and have dsl. we haven't downloaded any patches so we have the same version of the game. we both have windows xp
when we try hosting a game for each other we get the same response "connection time-out".
we're obviously doing something wrong!!
in the setup.exe under network i chose cable/dsl
under ip it shows default. i assume i should be choosing the lower of the 2 ip addresses
the next window is a port window..what's this for
Do i have to go through ubi.com to play just him or can we
directly hoop up?
both our firewalls are down so that should not be the problem,,

any help would be greatly appreciated...

sincerly...sledlen

XyZspineZyX
09-14-2003, 09:15 PM
hi sledlen,

i had several times made the experience, that "default" for ip doesn't work. i always check my actual ip before i try to set up a host (well, always means 5-6 times for fun up to now /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif for winxp it can be found at "status" via the connection-symbol in system-tray. for win9x executing "ipconfig" should do.
it has been mostly (means 5 times /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif the lower ip in "il2-fb" settings, i am on dsl also. if your brother joins you as host-server under that ip, you should have no problems watching the sun fall into the water together over the shore of krim.

good luck!


SLEDLEN wrote:
- can someone please tell me (step by step) how to
- host a game!
- I bought il-2 for my brother and I. He lives out of
- town and uses dial up. i'm in the city and have dsl.
- we haven't downloaded any patches so we have the
- same version of the game. we both have windows xp
- when we try hosting a game for each other we get the
- same response "connection time-out".
- we're obviously doing something wrong!!
- in the setup.exe under network i chose cable/dsl
- under ip it shows default. i assume i should be
- choosing the lower of the 2 ip addresses
- the next window is a port window..what's this for
- Do i have to go through ubi.com to play just him or
- can we
- directly hoop up?
- both our firewalls are down so that should not be
- the problem,,
-
- any help would be greatly appreciated...
-
- sincerly...sledlen
-
-

XyZspineZyX
09-14-2003, 10:45 PM
XP O/S only
you might want to try changing compatability mode on your
Ubicom icon right click on the icon and then click on properties set compatability mode to WINDOWS98/WINDOWSME
this my help