PDA

View Full Version : The definition of "suck" is...

ashasha
09-04-2004, 06:31 AM
I have been playing around with OC'ing and stuff a lot more recently due to the fact that FC is a system crippler. I have no other need to OC except for this game. Anyway I bought a Zalman heatpipe and some ramsinks and started OC'ing, it worked great. My AIW 9700 Pro was doing 370/345 without a single artifact. So I thought, "hey I am an Electronics Engineer, I can try a few volt mods." Wrong idea. I couldn't find any guides specifically for my card, although I did find one with the same exact PCB as mine. I went through and spent a lot of time doing this mod so that it would be reversible and esily disabled when not needed. I had a seperate board for test points and the 2 20 turn trimmers (10K and 20K)that would adjust the voltage. I must admit that it looked beautiful. I even set it up so that with just the press of a button on my front panel the fans would go from 7V to 12V and the voltmod would be turned on or off at the same time. This is great because with Radlinker I can OC for specific games. Push the button, the fans speed up, the card is overvolted and start the app and it OC's. Pretty good plan. Not.

I don't konw what went wrong but with the mod in line there was no adjustment, voltages would drop to exacly half of what they were supposed to be (causing artifacting obviously) and no matter what I did it wouldn't change. Until I go to the pots range of almost directly shorting the feedback voltage to ground (probably about 7 ohms or something). POP!! The system shuts down and the card never works right again. I undid everything but it is toast. There are colored blocks everywhere in DOS and just vertical lines at the login screen.