PDA

View Full Version : Farcry and Overclocked Machines



Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 10:12 AM
I have been hearing about this issue that people with OC'ed machines are having issues with Farcry. I was on MIRC in the FC channel talking about it and this guy was telling me FARCRY doesnt handle well with OC'ed machines? I have my CPU oc'ed a little bit, but If I go higher and OC it to what I normally have it set at, the game will freeze and crash to desktop and certain spot in the game. If ANYONE has this issue post here and lets discuss..

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800+ 33-43* C temp )
*Cant go higher since my game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

[This message was edited by Alizerothree on Mon March 29 2004 at 09:51 AM.]

Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 10:12 AM
I have been hearing about this issue that people with OC'ed machines are having issues with Farcry. I was on MIRC in the FC channel talking about it and this guy was telling me FARCRY doesnt handle well with OC'ed machines? I have my CPU oc'ed a little bit, but If I go higher and OC it to what I normally have it set at, the game will freeze and crash to desktop and certain spot in the game. If ANYONE has this issue post here and lets discuss..

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800+ 33-43* C temp )
*Cant go higher since my game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

[This message was edited by Alizerothree on Mon March 29 2004 at 09:51 AM.]

Warbie
03-29-2004, 10:27 AM
The only reason you'll have problems is if your overclock isn't stable (there is no reason at all why Far Cry won't perform perfectly on an overclocked machine).

Try running prime 95 for 12 hours and see if it passes.

My xp-m 2500 is running at 12.5*200 (2.5 gigs) and Far Cry runs fine.

I can up the fsb to 210 (giving about 2.6 gigs) but that fails prime 95 and Far Cry crashes. At this overclock the cpu is unstable - even though with some other games/3d mark it seems fine.

Dakisha
03-29-2004, 10:29 AM
LOL

Please. Take your ignorance and troll-like behaviour elsewhere. If your pc is crashing when you overclock further, then it's because your hardware can't handle it.

I run my 2.4C @ 3Ghz, if I take it over 3.2 - far cry crashes... Funny, so does Enemy Territory, and all my other games - what do you know! Blame your hardware, and your ignorance - not Ubisoft.

A heavy-load application will often cause a non-stable machine to crash. Run twin prime 95's stable for 12 hrs, and your argument might carry some merit.

Dakisha

P4 2.4C @ 3.0Ghz (1:1 / 1Ghz FSB / 1.6v core)
A-bit IC7 (bios 22)
2x256Mb OCZ PC4000
Sapphire 9800 Non-Pro (420/320)
Vantec Aeroflow TMD cpu-cooler
5x80mm case-fans

Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 10:39 AM
Hey been there done that. It's very stable! I wouldnt post this thread if I didnt know what I was talking about. Im prime stable at 2.2GHZ I can play Vietnam for hours and hours with everything maxed out and it does not crash!Other games as well. The game acts weird at CERTAIN spots! Oh you can get to 3GHZ, you get a gold medal.****in acting like you're better than everyone. I post this due to what I read and experience along with many others and you talk to me about Troll-Like and Ignorance. You're pretty stupid kid.

Anyways Warbie I got me a 2600 Mobile Barton on its way! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800 43* C temp )*Cant go higher or game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

slybri1
03-29-2004, 10:56 AM
I got a 2.8c oc'd @ 3.4g with a 9600xt also overclocked.
everything works fine so far.
In fact I can play at veryhigh settings with the 11X8 resolution and still stay over 35 fps, sometimes up to 50.
I got moved my computer to a room with the window air conditioning pointing down at it. stays nice and chill.

Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 11:00 AM
Right on. These 2 Vantec tornadoes are loud as hell but keep the thing totally cool. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800 43* C temp )*Cant go higher or game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

Dakisha
03-29-2004, 11:08 AM
Then you have a game issue, not an overclock issue - I do know what I'm talking about, this is part of what I do for a living.

My OC comment was not to brag, but to point out that I have oc'd and have no issues, but if I take it too far - it dies. If the game is acting up at certain spots, it would indicate either that it is stressing a part of your pc too far, or that it is a game issue - It does not however, indicate that Ubisoft have any wrong-doings with the programming of Far Cry and overclocking.

It just pushes pc's further than previous games -- I don't think I know of any games with the high levels of detail they use.

I appologise for coming across harshly, however it was merely in response to the ubisoft-bashing I'm fed up seeing.

Dakisha

P4 2.4C @ 3.0Ghz (1:1 / 1Ghz FSB / 1.6v core)
A-bit IC7 (bios 22)
2x256Mb OCZ PC4000
Sapphire 9800 Non-Pro (420/320)
Vantec Aeroflow TMD cpu-cooler
5x80mm case-fans

AKRY
03-29-2004, 11:25 AM
Running FSB200 x 11 with my XP2500+, and it's plenty fine with FC.... Game crashing on OCed comp is almost always due to OC.....

Do You Have A http://members.shaw.ca/AKRY/pulsing_s.gif Personality?

Shaitan.
03-29-2004, 02:13 PM
I have my 2700+ o/cd to 2310 mhz, at 400 FSB... no crashes for me.

lovegravy
03-29-2004, 02:33 PM
Guys, before you call him a troll, he's RIGHT.

I can get a 20% overclock and play Quake2 all day long, but can only get a 15% overclock stable in Far Cry.

WHY?

Becuase Far Cry is far more intense on the CPU, video card, ram, etc. making small recoverable mistakes into large hard-crashing mistakes. eg a single bit parity error is recoverable, a double bit parity error isn't, so the more you stress your machine the more the chance of a crash.

Prime95 only tests the CPU, which can be perfectly stable forever, but it doesn't test the video subsystem, and if you have your video card overclocked it may overheat with FarCry but not in other games.

The simple fact of the matter is, if you are having problems, TRY lowering your overclock to see if it clears it up. It has fixed the game for a lot of people.

evilminkey
03-29-2004, 02:51 PM
Dakisha

P4 2.4C @ 3.0Ghz (1:1 / 1Ghz FSB / 1.6v core)
A-bit IC7 (bios 22)
2x256Mb OCZ PC4000
Sapphire 9800 Non-Pro (420/320)
Vantec Aeroflow TMD cpu-cooler
5x80mm case-fans[/QUOTE]

hey dakisha, did you use the omega overclocking feature?? if so how did you overclock yours, and how did you know what to overclock ti too??

Colevant
03-29-2004, 03:35 PM
excatly lovegravy. Farcry is to intense on most computers still that overclocking only helps farcry push it over the edge. i recently installed the 1.1 patch for it, and then i started getting mad graphic problems, only to realize my fans where caked in dust lol. well, no more overheating for me now. But yes, i had mine overclocked for awihle, i could play anygame for hours/days without any problems, then when i go to run sof2 or farcry, it would crash or get artifacts. its the programing of some games to just stress ur cpu to much.

MP Name(PC): IMJUSTABUSH

click here for pb fix. (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=954105331&m=853108103)

NeoFX03
03-29-2004, 04:16 PM
Yeah... My Videocard holds up at 475/950 and stock it was 400/850.

My cpu is stable at 3.25Ghz and also at 3.45Ghz...

Not a problem with overclocking I don't think.

P4 2.6C HT (800FSB) | Corsair XMS PC3500C2PT 512Mb | Albatron GeForce FX5900PV 128Mb (5950Ultra Bios Flash)

Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 04:17 PM
Dakisha no problem. Im sorry for my harsh reply as well.I was frustrated and didnt realize it is not UBISOFTS fault. I didnt think about non CPU related component and how they reactive to OCing....

Anyways UBISOFT has put out a masterpiece and I guess I need to relook my hardware. Maybe you guys can help me out http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks for your replies.

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800 43* C temp )*Cant go higher or game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

BanaBob
03-29-2004, 09:01 PM
Is there two ways to overclock your system, what i mean is, I just turned up my fsb from 166mhz to 188mhz slowly. Should i overclock by doing the, e.i. 12.5 x 166 thing? Thanks

AMD 2500XP OC to 2800XP
Radeon 9600XT 128mb OD on
1GB DDR 2700 Ram
Creative PCI 512 SoundBlaster
40GB HD
http://www.imageshack.us/img2/3969/BobStein69.jpg

JRocK68
03-29-2004, 09:14 PM
my 800mhz overclock runs fine weird...

P4 1.8@2.6ghz
Asus P4P800 D
ATI Radeon 9500pro@333/294
1Gig ram
WD 80/8mb cache
Maxtor 20g
Audigy2 ZS
Logitech z680

EviL_aLphA
03-29-2004, 09:25 PM
sorta like unreal tournament 2004 it restarts my pc if i over clock my barton 2500 =(

http://members.cox.net/hi_nathan/evilalpha.jpg

Ding_Chavez_100
03-29-2004, 09:33 PM
The Farcry engine is the first "real" next generation technological engine, and man does it show. This game realy does squeeze alot of juice out of your system and after some tweaking I got it running at a smooth 60+ FPS. However, I can run other games while OCing my vid card, like Raven Shield and Battlefield 1942, but its a no-go with Farcry. It just wont run stable for long with my system. I know for a fact its my hardware, of course upgrading is ex$pen$ive though http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif but some people will be able to OC while others wont simply because of hardware overheating. Cant wait to see how far our systems are pushed by Half Life2 and Doom 3! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Roachmojo
03-29-2004, 10:12 PM
My P4-3.0c is stable at 3.3 with all games, but I kept getting that aweful driver irql not less or equal error with the audigy when playing farcry. I thought it was the o/c, but I didn't want to clock back just for that, so I tried forcing farcry to use only one CPU (HT) and it seems to have worked. I played for hours and no bsod.

My only other option was to turn off sound hardware mixing. Screw that.

Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/Antec TruePower 430W PSU | Asus P4C800-E BIOS 1010 w/ 1Gb Kingston HyperX PC3200 | P4 3.0c @ 3.3ghz 220 fsb w/ Swiftech MCX4000 HS and ThermalTake Smart Fan II | 2-Western Digital Raptors in Raid 0 | e-Geforce FX 5900U 45.33 DX9.0B w/ Viewsonic G810-2 | Creative SB Audigy 2 Platinum w/ CL inspire 6.1 6600 speakers | XP Professional with SP1

Alizerothree
03-29-2004, 11:16 PM
Ok guys I think I narrowed it down!! I just installed my Mobile Barton 2600. It wouldnt boot to windows with a high fsb. So i knew it either had to be woindows or something else! So what I did was I took out 1 of my 512 sticks http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

To my suprise it booted up to windows!!!! Overclocked like a mothergoat on steroids too! I ran farcry, tho it kept pasuoing due to the loss of 512 ram....it ran amazing!!! Ran around and it didnt crash or anything! By the way im running at 2.5GHZ 200x12.5 1.7Vcore.

I guess that was my issue. Does that mean my other ram stick is messed up?? Thanks guys.

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800 43* C temp )*Cant go higher or game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

sixmill
03-30-2004, 01:38 AM
Yup,
It probably has a few bad blocks that were causing your system to crash when being accessed.

Warbie
03-30-2004, 08:12 AM
It looks that way Alizerothree.

Try running memtest on each of your sticks to see if you get any errors ...... you'll soon find out if it's faulty.

(btw - nice chip. I have a xp-m 2500 running at the same settings and it flys http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif. It can reach 2.6 but only at pretty high voltages. 2.5 seems the best overclock while still being stable.)

Alizerothree
03-30-2004, 11:01 AM
Yea Warbie Im very happy with it. The weird thing is that now I put both sticks in but 1 in a different slot and now Im booting to windows fine and stuff and not having too many issues.
Before when I went any FSB over 185 it would start to load windows and then reboot :|
Wonder if the slot went bad? Most logical explanation.

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (FSB 166 x 12.5 running at 2800 43* C temp )*Cant go higher or game will crash randomly*
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
=========================

Dakisha
03-30-2004, 03:24 PM
Glad to see you got it all sorted Alizerothree =) I've been out since my last post, so sorry for the late reply =)

evilminkey - I did use the Omega overclocking features, it's as simple as changing the sliders one bit at a time - then running Artifact tester 5, to see if it's stable.. I swear, that thing took my pc hotter than prime95, it really taxes things, and looks for artifacts in dx7 rendered images. It all depends on what card you have really - If you want, I'll dig out some FAQ's for you, just let me know =)

Dakisha

P4 2.4C @ 3.0Ghz (1:1 / 1Ghz FSB / 1.6v core)
A-bit IC7 (bios 22)
2x256Mb OCZ PC4000
Sapphire 9800 Non-Pro (420/320)
Vantec Aeroflow TMD cpu-cooler
5x80mm case-fans

Mathesar
03-30-2004, 06:23 PM
I recently built this PC wich is running a P4 2.8C @ 3.2ghz (default voltages/retail heatsink),I wasnt sure if it was really 100% stable but so far it hasnt crashed once with Far Cry, using maxed video settings except Shadows are on Medium & no FSAA / 1152x resolution,All audio options are enabled ,I don't overclock my videocard because its just not worth the risk considering how small the performance increase is,Currently on mission 16.

P4 2.8C @ 3.2ghz / Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
2 x 512MB (dual channel) Corsair XMS LL PC3200
Sapphire 9800 Pro
Audigy 2 / Logitech Z680's
200GB Maxtor / 120GB WD
21" Sony G520P
WinXP

Dakisha
03-30-2004, 08:12 PM
"I don't overclock my videocard because its just not worth the risk considering how small the performance increase is"

I'd not call a 20-30fps boost a small gain :> The 9800's, pro and non-pro are both excelent overclocking cards. I've gotten 100Mhz out of my core, from 320 to 420 stable. If you know what you are doing, the risk in overclocking a graphics card is minimal.

praetorian987
03-30-2004, 11:52 PM
lol 20 to 30 fps from a overclocked vid card?
i'd buy that for a dollar!

P4 3.06
MSI Neo2 PLS (865PE)
2x512 Kingston HyperX (2225) Dual Channel at 333 Mhz
Radeon 9700pro
Audigy Gamer
WD 40GB 8MB Cache EIDE
Lite-On DVD+-RW
WinXP HomeSlice Edition
Old Floppy Drive from 1980's

Alizerothree
03-31-2004, 01:23 AM
Thanks Dakish http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Do you know how 9700 Pro Overclock? Do I need extra cooling on it? Havent peaked into ocing a GPU yet :P

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Mobile Athlon XP 2600+ Barton (FSB 200 x 12.5 1.70Vcore running at 2.5GHZ 42* C temp @ Full Load
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
Audigy Platinum Sound Card with Latest Drivers
=========================

hypersk8r
03-31-2004, 01:30 AM
9700pros tend to be pretty good without any extras but you probly shouldn't expect more than a 10% increase. then again each card o/c's different. and always max the ram out b/f the core

Dakisha
03-31-2004, 09:55 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=170106891&m=528106513

I've put in a couple of links previously, on overclocking graphics cards. They don't go into huge details, but a quick google for 'graphics card overclocking faq' should bring up some more detail.

I'm not 100% sure how good the 9700 pro's are at overclocking - but just get a copy of the Omega drivers that I've mentioned in my post, and use the overclocking tab it gives you in the advanced display properties.

Raise your core/mem by 5-10mhz at a time, then run artifact tester 5 on hardcore mode (As listed in my previous post), it will stress the hell out of your system for 5-10 mins, then report if it found any artifacts - lather, rinse, repeat http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I did some googling myself, and found that toms hardware page had a 9700 pro to 400/340 at some point. They did also say however, that memory quality varys greatly on the 9700's. There may even be a soft-mod out for it, I'm not sure.

Hope this helps, if you have any other q's - fire away http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Alizerothree
03-31-2004, 08:42 PM
Hey thnx so muxch Dakisha.... you definitely do know what you are tlaking about. Imma check it out. Anyways bro I fixed my stupid problem. It was my computer all along and I do feel like a troll for not putting enough time to research my issue and come and lay down my frustration here :P

Anyways I had to switch a stick of Ram to another slot and boom! 200FSB with 12.5 Multi @ 1.75Voltage! Runs like a dream and I have no issues in Farcry Anymore other than crackling sound :P Appreciate your help and effort and I still DO feel like an *** :P

http://users.adelphia.net/~zandi/images/ali/ws.jpg
I'd like to secure "her" Wal-mart
_____________
My Cartoons (http://www.planetbattlefield.com/dcfaq/Cartoons/index.html)

Specs:
=========================
Mobile Athlon XP 2600+ Barton (FSB 200 x 12.5 1.70Vcore running at 2.5GHZ 42* C temp @ Full Load
Thermalright SLK-948 Heatsink.
Vantec Tornado 92MM for CPU
Vantec Tornado 80MM for Side Panel
2 x 512 Kingmax PC3200 Ram(Dual Channel)
1GB DDR RAM TOTAL
Western Digital 112 GB HDD 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (4.3 CATS)
Epox 8RDA+ MotherBoard Nforce2
Cable Connection
Windows XP (All Updates)
DirectX 9.0b
Allied 450W Power Supply
Audigy Platinum Sound Card with Latest Drivers
=========================