PDA

View Full Version : FRAPS troubleshooting Question



RobStach
02-20-2004, 11:38 AM
Hey guys, has anyone had any difficulties with FRAPS? As soon as I hit the record hotkey ... LOMAC crashes to desktop.

I cant seem to find an FAQ on the FRAPS site.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

RobStach
02-20-2004, 11:38 AM
Hey guys, has anyone had any difficulties with FRAPS? As soon as I hit the record hotkey ... LOMAC crashes to desktop.

I cant seem to find an FAQ on the FRAPS site.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

310th Falcon
02-23-2004, 02:19 AM
S! RoboStach

Not enough info to help you. Like what type of rig you are running, cpu, memory, graphics...etc.
Is the hot key you are using for Fraps being use also by LOMAC?

More info please

Best Regards

Falcon

http://777avg.com/sigs/sig07.gif

BurnerF4
02-23-2004, 02:38 AM
I am having the same problem

My Rig:
P4 2.8C
ASUS P4S800
1Gb PC3200
Saphire 9600Pro

My hot key is the scroll lock, I have tried many other keys with the same results. Movies are set to full size with 30FPS and sound recording off. I have tried half size and 25FPS and sound on still the same problem.

Burner

310th Falcon
02-23-2004, 05:09 AM
S! Burner F4

Guys what version of Fraps are you using?

When you guys are playing LOMAC...how are your fps without Fraps. Is your harddrive a 7200 rpm?
Do you have LOMAC configure correctly and are getting good fps...if so I would delete Fraps and re-install it again.

If you have a 2nd harddrive without windows on it...set your Fraps to captured there. The 2nd harddrive will not have any load or very little on it and will captured and perform better then the primary harddrive.

I have use Fraps 2.0 and never had a problem with the program.
Understand even if you are getting 25 to 30 fps without Fraps...once you start capturing you will get a big hit on the harddrive and the fps will drop to around 12 to 15 fps.

Good Luck hope this helps

Best Regards

Falcon

http://777avg.com/sigs/sig07.gif

apollosmith
02-23-2004, 08:52 AM
Falcon is right, about the best thing you can do to help Fraps is to have a fast secondary drive to capture the video onto. Make sure it is not on the same IDE channel (the thin ribbon in your computer case) as your other hard drive. You're not going to be able to capture at 30fps full size unless you have an uber system with 10000 rpm SCSI drives. Even then, I don't think the quality will be good.

Check your video card overlay settings, I think that's what Fraps uses to capture.

-Smitty

RobStach
02-23-2004, 09:11 AM
Sorry about that ... SPECS:

P4 2.8 GHz
1 GIG RAM
ATI 9800 PRO XT
7200 RPM HDD

The guys that make fraps are saying I should try the latest catalyst drivers .. which kinda scares me http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

AVI tool is looking better and better.

BurnerF4
02-23-2004, 08:28 PM
I tried switching the drive and it no longer crashed. However performance is bad, I can't get more than 15 FPS on any capture setting, when I'm getting 35-45 FPS when not recording. I suspect it is because LOMAC is on my data drive, FRAPS is on my Windows drive and I'm saving to the Windows drive.

What kind performance difference is expected from switching LOMAC to the Windows drive and recording to the data drive.

What performance are you guys getting with this setup?

apollosmith
02-23-2004, 09:19 PM
15 fps is about what you'd expect with your setup (or about any setup). Follow the hints in my tutorial (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=829104012&m=825106522) to make that 15fps look nice and smooth.

-Smitty

310th Falcon
02-23-2004, 09:24 PM
S! BurnerF4

That is correct on the frame rate when you captured video. 12 to 15 fps is about right.

Below is thread from a previous post by "apollosmith" showing you how to use Fraps and other movie making ideas and techiques.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>MOVIE MAKING HINT: Most individual 'takes' should be no longer than a few seconds. Just watch MTV or an action movie for a minute and you'll notice that exciting movies keep the camera in one place for an average of 2-3 seconds. Long, drawn out scenes of your plane are boring. Most Lomac movies out there could be half their length and would be much more enjoyable.

Before hitting the Fraps 'Capture' hotkey, slow down the Lomac simulation rate (Alt+A) to half or 1/3 speed. This will allow you to have extremely smooth video in the end. When I am just watching a track at normal speed, my frame rate is around 30 fps. However, when I capture, that drops to around 12 fps. So by slowing it down to 1/2 speed, I now see around 60 frames per second of real-time action. But when I capture at 1/2 speed, even though the game is displaying around 12 fps, I am capturing around 25 frames per second of real-time action. So, Fraps will be capturing about 12 fps of game play into 25 fps of video. Yes, everything will appear in slow motion, but when we speed it up later with Premiere, we'll get 25 fps (or more) of smooth, real-time gameplay. If 1/2 speed is too choppy, go down to 1/3 speed or even 1/4 speed. This will result in VERY LARGE video files, because it will take 2, 3, or 4 seconds of video to capture one second of gameplay. Capture the track from multiple angles so you have plenty of footage to deal with when you start editing.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

From there you can other third party programs to edit and finish your movie. One is with Virtual Dub to edit your scenes.

http://www.virtualdub.org/index

Then you can use either "Adobe Premiere", "Moviemaker2", or "Sony Screenblast" to put the finishing touches to your movie.

Read his post on more techiques:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=829104012&m=825106522

Best Regards

Falcon

http://777avg.com/sigs/sig07.gif

BurnerF4
02-24-2004, 02:13 AM
Thanks for all the help and Info, now to make formation flight demo vids

Burner

Lukatombraider
10-01-2011, 07:34 AM
Guys, I have problems with FRAPS. When I record the video and I try to play it, it play only audio and no video at all. I still don't have the additional graphics card. I'm using the integrated one. But When I recorded the first video it was fine. Is the graphics card?

WilsonPoll
10-14-2011, 12:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">FRAPS troubleshooting </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
For resolving troubleshooting problem in FRAPS go through this link and resolve all types of problem related FRAPS:
www.tomshardware.com/forum/232...ing-installing-fraps (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/232283-45-uninstalling-installing-fraps)