PDA

View Full Version : Import 3DSMax objects in the SandBox



adysoft
03-30-2004, 12:10 AM
Hello !

I'm trying to import 3DSMax objects to the sandbox using the Crytek polybump plugin, but the Polybump plugin panel that is supposed to appear in my 3DSMax doesn't.
Can someone tell me how to make this work, cause there are no .dlo or .str file (3DSMax plugins) for polybump.

PS:I'm using 3DSMax 6

adysoft
03-30-2004, 12:10 AM
Hello !

I'm trying to import 3DSMax objects to the sandbox using the Crytek polybump plugin, but the Polybump plugin panel that is supposed to appear in my 3DSMax doesn't.
Can someone tell me how to make this work, cause there are no .dlo or .str file (3DSMax plugins) for polybump.

PS:I'm using 3DSMax 6

Emp_duke
03-30-2004, 12:20 AM
I'll kindly direct you to the Find button at the top of the page.

http://www.dukecg.net/empires/sigs/forum_sig_03_duke.jpg

BsR_Camel
03-30-2004, 12:28 AM
SDK with the possibility to do that is coming soon.......

http://img4.photobucket.com/albums/0703/Camel/FC_font_Camel_black_400x150.gif

Jynger
03-30-2004, 12:38 AM
I used search button and all i found was that the 3dsmax import/export tools are given to selected fiew modders. If that is true i dont like it.

adysoft
03-30-2004, 01:13 AM
I don't think u need the SDK to do this, this it not really what a SDK is used for...

adysoft
03-30-2004, 01:14 AM
check this out :

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> PolyBumpPlugin is the name of a new utility for 3ds max v.4 which uses the PolyBump technology. This technology allows you to create real-time models with normal maps from a given high resolution model to be used with low poly models. With PolyBump you can have much better looking models with less polygons at all tessellations. Less polygons equals less memory traffic, and faster frame rates.

The plugin has been tested on:
NVidia GeForce3
NVidia GeForce4 (excludes MX Version)
ATI Radeon 8500
This free evaluation version can only be used for testing purposes. It is limited to a maximum texture size of 256x256 and 35,000 triangles per mesh. A Crytek Logo is burned into each normal-map.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
source (http://www.crytek.com/downloads/index.php?sx=polybump)

I finally manage to understand why it wasn't working, the plugin is not desined for 3DSMax 6 ... yet http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Jynger
03-30-2004, 02:16 AM
as i understand the polybump plugin is for makeing normalmaps, not for exporting them into game. You can make normalmaps with max6 modifiers or you can use ATI tools or could spend a litle $ for kaldera tools or any other maping tools.

moose.hubba
03-30-2004, 03:28 AM
Yes. polybump is for the texturing of objects, not importing the objects themselves.

but they have stated they will release the SDK soonish.