PDA

View Full Version : Got SHIII - but have the following error messages when I try to install



spearman_uk2002
03-14-2005, 11:03 AM
I can start installation process, but then the following appears.

Error 1324. The path Der Wei? Penguin.tga contains an invalid character.

Followed by (on clicking "OK")

Error:- 1603 Fatal error during installation.
Consult Windows Installer Help (MSi.chm) or MSDN for more information


Can the technical team help??

Miki40
03-14-2005, 11:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by spearman_uk2002:
I can start installation process, but then the following appears.

Error 1324. The path Der Wei? Penguin.tga contains an invalid character.

Followed by (on clicking "OK")



Error:- 1603 Fatal error during installation.
Consult Windows Installer Help (MSi.chm) or MSDN for more information


Can the technical team help?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hmmmm those penguins...! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Alarrrmmmm
03-14-2005, 11:07 AM
where do u order this game from my friend?

spearman_uk2002
03-14-2005, 11:14 AM
I ordered from Amazon.co.uk

DutchySA
03-14-2005, 11:41 AM
Seriously, i doubt that would be a legal copy. The game is coming out on Thursday and you already have it ?

Anyway, i can't help you (i'm not that technical either http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif)

dt1028
03-14-2005, 11:47 AM
DutchySA several people over at subsim also got there copies from amazon.com

They even posted pics of the box and cd with the forum running in the background to prove it...

From what i understand it uses starforce protection.

Make sure any drive emulation software is uninstalled and try reinstalling it.

Lobolopez220
03-14-2005, 11:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DutchySA:
Seriously, i doubt that would be a legal copy. The game is coming out on Thursday and you already have it ?

Anyway, i can't help you (i'm not that technical either http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I suspect it is DutchySA, there was another guy over at the subsim forums who got it from amazon in the uk today and he put up photos as proof so it definitely seems amazon has shipped at least some copies out http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

edit: beat me to the post dt1028 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

DutchySA
03-14-2005, 12:23 PM
Oh ok, sorry guys !! I wasn't aware of that, my bad !! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

KiwiVenge
03-14-2005, 12:26 PM
With all the talk about an "Off Topic" forum, I am thinking we are going to be needing the ever present 'Technical Help' forum even more.
I mean hey, most other popular games have one to solve issues that come up with all the different pc set ups out there.

Basil_M
03-14-2005, 04:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Error:- 1603 Fatal error during installation.
Consult Windows Installer Help (MSi.chm) or MSDN for more information <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Google is your friend! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Error 1324

http://consumer.installshield.com/kb.asp?id=Q108470

Error: 1603

http://consumer.installshield.com/kb.asp?id=Q111019

Krycek1972
03-14-2005, 05:14 PM
What version of Windows are you installing it onto?

archer49d
03-14-2005, 05:27 PM
The same error occured on a bad shipment (bad CDs) of Rome: Total War. Pretty much what you have there is a bad DVD, or a DVD that was pressed incorrectly.

TheFastFreddie
03-14-2005, 05:34 PM
Like archer I had the same problem with HL2 and had to return the game. I tried like crazy to fix it but nothing would work.

archer49d
03-14-2005, 05:59 PM
Also just to clarify before people start shouting that I'm wrong, let me just say that after I exchanged the game and tried installing it 30 minutes later (w/o restarting) it installed without an issue.

Gilly1964
03-29-2005, 07:47 PM
I had the same problem.I also have more than one
language on my computer (korean wife).I noticed some of the tetters in the licence agreement were changed to korean characters.Went to my computer/control panel/regional and laguage.Select advanced tab,change to english,apply.After that the game installed.Just found this out after a week of frustration.Hope this helps you.

Gilly1964
03-29-2005, 07:51 PM
Forgot to tell you.After installing you can change the language setting back.Game runs fine