PDA

View Full Version : Off-off-topic - IL-2 is what gets closest to it - New 'serious' simulator project



drzing
01-16-2011, 08:55 PM
With the growth in the aviation sector in the whole planet, more and more pilots are needed.

At the same time while we know you don't really need to be a pilot in order to fly IL-2 planes, being a pilot helps a lot, and in terms of dynamic simulation its unbeaten as far as I know.

I was wondering if a new kind of simulator could be made by UBI soft, I am graduating as a commercial airplane pilot and instructor very soon, and I think it would be easy for who made IL-2 to make a simulator which will help private pilots, commercial pilots (IFR flight, 'hood and stuff'), multiengine, acro training, it could even come up to a real ratified simulator, by the ICAO countries.

I mean, we don't need a whole 3d ambient projector thing that moves whole, if you could make something that could be ran into a decent or a powerful PC with good quality periphericals (stick, pedals, etc), you'll be helping aviation a lot, please contact me for more ideas.

Mods, please feel free to move my thread if you think its not well placed.

Thanks a lot everbody!

drzing
01-16-2011, 08:55 PM
With the growth in the aviation sector in the whole planet, more and more pilots are needed.

At the same time while we know you don't really need to be a pilot in order to fly IL-2 planes, being a pilot helps a lot, and in terms of dynamic simulation its unbeaten as far as I know.

I was wondering if a new kind of simulator could be made by UBI soft, I am graduating as a commercial airplane pilot and instructor very soon, and I think it would be easy for who made IL-2 to make a simulator which will help private pilots, commercial pilots (IFR flight, 'hood and stuff'), multiengine, acro training, it could even come up to a real ratified simulator, by the ICAO countries.

I mean, we don't need a whole 3d ambient projector thing that moves whole, if you could make something that could be ran into a decent or a powerful PC with good quality periphericals (stick, pedals, etc), you'll be helping aviation a lot, please contact me for more ideas.

Mods, please feel free to move my thread if you think its not well placed.

Thanks a lot everbody!

Jaws2002
01-16-2011, 10:42 PM
FSX does a lot more things for civilian pilots than a ww2 combat flight sim like Il-2.
You should try it.

WTE_Galway
01-16-2011, 10:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jaws2002:
FSX does a lot more things for civilian pilots than a ww2 combat flight sim like Il-2.
You should try it. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Its generally not approved for the really useful stuff like keeping your IFR ticket current.

It might be good practice but it doesn't count towards the very expensive number of hours and IFR approaches per year you need to fly to stay current.

Urufu_Shinjiro
01-16-2011, 11:49 PM
Ubi did not make Il2, Maddox Games did. They are getting close to releasing Cliffs of Dover, the first in an entirely new sim series. It will surpass Il2 in every way, and will be open to third party add-on like FSX is so civilian stuff will get in there eventually.

Low_Flyer_MkIX
01-17-2011, 02:31 AM
I dunno, Urufu. Oleg might be shooting himself in the foot by releasing software needing far too high hardware specs to run, We've all been there with Il2/FB and a lot of us have moved on. If and when you see whatever the BoB-ulator is going to be called, you can rest assured it's going to cost you a lot, lot more than the price sticker on the DVD case says. Niche market, sure, and I really do wish Oleg and co well, but I fear I'm not alone in thinking I'll give it a miss until the whole thing's been tried and tested.

M_Gunz
01-17-2011, 07:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
Ubi did not make Il2, Maddox Games did. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oleg did post long ago about looking into a more serious flight simulator market. I'm sure he'd rather be back in the real airplanes business but times are not so ... active.

Drzing -- civil aviation took a big hit in the mid-80's when tax deduction laws changed. It took another after 9/11 when where you could fly left a lot of planes grounded until that snarl got untangled. Nice to see activity is picking up again. But you the FAA: We're not happy till you're not happy.

You can fly a PC flight sim and admire what they got right but would you want students to learn "if I do this then that happens" when there are still differences?

Bearcat99
01-17-2011, 09:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Low_Flyer_MkIX:
I dunno, Urufu. Oleg might be shooting himself in the foot by releasing software needing far too high hardware specs to run, We've all been there with Il2/FB and a lot of us have moved on. If and when you see whatever the BoB-ulator is going to be called, you can rest assured it's going to cost you a lot, lot more than the price sticker on the DVD case says. Niche market, sure, and I really do wish Oleg and co well, but I fear I'm not alone in thinking I'll give it a miss until the whole thing's been tried and tested. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't know.. I think it's doable... consider that I was able to run IL2 just fine on my then XP1600/Radeon9000128/512MDDR133 rig that I originally got to prepare for CFS3, which I never could get to run right on it back in the day. Considering that we have been able to run FB on PCs ranging over a what.. decade long span? I'd say that's pretty long sighted and I think that CoD will be just as .... flexible. I look at WoP which runs great on my rig.. and is a thing of beauty.. I am certain that 1C has learned a lot over the years that will translate into efficiency when it comes to running the sim.

Bremspropeller
01-17-2011, 11:14 AM
You're looking for something like this:

http://www.x-plane.com/pg_certified.html

The expensive stuff isn't the software per se, but getting it certified to corresponding agency-standards.

ICAO can not certify simulators, that's only possible for agencies like FAA, EASA, etc.

leitmotiv
01-17-2011, 12:06 PM
True flight simulators, like "COD", are going to end up being a rich man's hobby---which rules me out. I am interested to see what designs such as this are like, which are designed for accuracy and affordability.

http://www.yankeeairpirate.net/RS01.html

Bremspropeller
01-17-2011, 01:15 PM
Accuracy and affordability minus accurate flight-dynamics and procedures, ergo zero chance for getting a FAA sim-certification...

Urufu_Shinjiro
01-17-2011, 01:39 PM
Why is everyone so convinced you'll need to take out a second mortgage to buy the PC needed for CoD? The PC's used to demo CoD at the Russian Igromir game convention were running mid level i5 cpu's with an Nvidia GTX460 and 2gigs of RAM, the 2Gigs of RAM was the only reason it was a slideshow because of the size of the map (3gigs in minimum for CoD). Hell, Luthier stated a couple of weeks ago that they completed a major round of optimizations that "drastically improved framerate compared to the Igromir build" (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?p=207199&highlight=igromir+RAM#post207199), so relax guys. Anyone running a mid level PC, AMD Phenom/PhenomII or Intel Core2 Quad/i5/i7, at least 3 gigs of RAM, and a GTX 260 or 4850 will most likely be able to get excellent framerates while still having the game graphics set to medium or up. This whole "sell the kids for a new PC to run BoB" crap is baseless.

stalkervision
01-17-2011, 01:49 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
Why is everyone so convinced you'll need to take out a second mortgage to buy the PC needed for CoD? The PC's used to demo CoD at the Russian Igromir game convention were running mid level i5 cpu's with an Nvidia GTX460 and 2gigs of RAM, the 2Gigs of RAM was the only reason it was a slideshow because of the size of the map (3gigs in minimum for CoD). Hell, Luthier stated a couple of weeks ago that they completed a major round of optimizations that "drastically improved framerate compared to the Igromir build" (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?p=207199&highlight=igromir+RAM#post207199), so relax guys. Anyone running a mid level PC, AMD Phenom/PhenomII or Intel Core2 Quad/i5/i7, at least 3 gigs of RAM, and a GTX 260 or 4850 will most likely be able to get excellent framerates while still having the game graphics set to medium or up. This whole "sell the kids for a new PC to run BoB" crap is baseless. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

AH.... but will they have a "perfect graphics setting" that only runs on a Cray? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

and will it make people cry. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Bearcat99
01-17-2011, 02:58 PM
I think that considering the fact that this will be Dx9,10 & 11 compatible.. and given the scalability of IL2 I see no reason why a y of us who run IL2 cannot run CoD granted on reduced settings..

stalkervision
01-17-2011, 03:17 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I think that considering the fact that this will be Dx9,10 & 11 compatible.. and given the scalability of IL2 I see no reason why a y of us who run IL2 cannot run CoD granted on reduced settings.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The evil "reduced settings" monster rears it's ugly head.

Just like wearing a pack of condoms on your johnson.

You can feel "something" but not all that much. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

WTE_Galway
01-17-2011, 03:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stalkervision:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I think that considering the fact that this will be Dx9,10 & 11 compatible.. and given the scalability of IL2 I see no reason why a y of us who run IL2 cannot run CoD granted on reduced settings.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The evil "reduced settings" monster rears it's ugly head.

Just like wearing a pack of condoms on your johnson.

You can feel "something" but not all that much. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Well the alternative is to bring the game out with the reduced settings as the maximum selectable and relabel them "perfect mode" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Then we can all boast about how our 2003 vintage Athlon plays it at 60 fps.

Back on topic ... the issue with using a PC for real life flight training is its not just the software that needs certifying but also the hardware.

stalkervision
01-17-2011, 04:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WTE_Galway:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stalkervision:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I think that considering the fact that this will be Dx9,10 & 11 compatible.. and given the scalability of IL2 I see no reason why a y of us who run IL2 cannot run CoD granted on reduced settings.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The evil "reduced settings" monster rears it's ugly head.

Just like wearing a pack of condoms on your johnson.

You can feel "something" but not all that much. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Well the alternative is to bring the game out with the reduced settings as the maximum selectable and relabel them "perfect mode" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Then we can all boast about how our 2003 vintage Athlon plays it at 60 fps.

Back on topic ... the issue with using a PC for real life flight training is its not just the software that needs certifying but also the hardware. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not a bad idea. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

K_Freddie
01-17-2011, 05:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stalkervision:
AH.... but will they have a "perfect graphics setting" that only runs on a Cray? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif
and will it make people cry. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Don't waste your time... go Xmos http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif