PDA

View Full Version : Fraps



zap805
11-11-2005, 09:45 AM
We all have heard of the lovely old fraps recording games?

Well i have the full version 6.3. or somthing (not the latest. the next latest) and its stopped working.

I've reinstalled it. Restarted. I done loads of things. Why's it doing it? Oh and i restored my computer not long ago. Maybe that has somthing to do with it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Please help

THANKYOU!

zap805
11-11-2005, 09:45 AM
We all have heard of the lovely old fraps recording games?

Well i have the full version 6.3. or somthing (not the latest. the next latest) and its stopped working.

I've reinstalled it. Restarted. I done loads of things. Why's it doing it? Oh and i restored my computer not long ago. Maybe that has somthing to do with it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Please help

THANKYOU!

GiRlS-.BrITnEy.
11-11-2005, 09:47 AM
Fraps is not very good just make your computer laag!

Hans_-_Maulwurf
11-11-2005, 09:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GiRlS-.BrITnEy.:
Fraps is not very good just make your computer laag! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

do you know a better program??

zap805
11-11-2005, 09:51 AM
Doesn't lag with me. I love fraps and i need it to work. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif please im begging you http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

No i dont know a better program

S.a.S-SpyCorpse
11-11-2005, 09:52 AM
Game Cam is good. But it makes your computer laaag too

zap805
11-11-2005, 09:55 AM
Game cam? Is there a website or somthing, do you have to pay?

Is there a way to fix Fraps i have now
Or
Is there some better software, .for free or somthing that i can download http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

By the way. How can i get sigs on? I tried but they dont work :-/

chaosdevil.ct
11-11-2005, 10:09 AM
This should probably go into the community help.

S.a.S-SpyCorpse
11-11-2005, 10:16 AM
game cam Version 1.2

try it!

http://www.computergames.ro/site/p/downloads/o/download...ro/gamecam_v1.2.html (http://www.computergames.ro/site/p/downloads/o/download-details/dowid/3577/lng/ro/gamecam_v1.2.html)

MR.Mic
11-11-2005, 10:18 AM
1.3 is glitchless for me

chaosdevil.ct
11-11-2005, 10:22 AM
Well, does gam cam lag much? I can get a steady 15-21 FPS with fraps

Cataclysm
11-11-2005, 10:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GiRlS-.BrITnEy.:
Fraps is not very good just make your computer laag! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You must be a blonde at heart...

S.a.S-SpyCorpse
11-11-2005, 10:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by chaosdevil.ct:
Well, does gam cam lag much? I can get a steady 15-21 FPS with fraps </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Game Cam--&gt; 18 FPS http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Chimera87
11-11-2005, 10:30 AM
i get 18 fps when using fraps :S which is kinda lame, since i got a kinda good comp.

X2 DualCore 3800+
7800GT
2x 512 MB RAM Cas2 Kingston hyperX.

so tis kinda strang.

GiRlS-.BrITnEy.
11-11-2005, 10:31 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Cataclysm:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GiRlS-.BrITnEy.:
Fraps is not very good just make your computer laag! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You must be a blonde at heart... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, you're right. How did you know?

redskirts
11-11-2005, 11:23 AM
well if you have the full version go to the fraps members section and download the newly release 1.7 version, it just came out last week....that should fix the problem, i would think....

C.A.T.ops_v2.0
11-11-2005, 11:27 AM
Redskirts j00 PPPWWWNNN!!!

Eclyps3
11-11-2005, 12:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GiRlS-.BrITnEy.:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Cataclysm:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GiRlS-.BrITnEy.:
Fraps is not very good just make your computer laag! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You must be a blonde at heart... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, you're right. How did you know? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

He detected the lack of intellect I presume.

zap805
11-11-2005, 12:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.A.T.ops_v2.0:
Redskirts j00 PPPWWWNNN!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well #1. What is everybody going on about
And #2. I want to be able to fix my version of fraps :-(

I cant go to members because my friend had this software on a disc so i need some <span class="ev_code_RED">help</span>???

psyichic
11-11-2005, 02:32 PM
Just a question to people who use fraps as well. Is it just me or are you getting around 15 FPS?

merc_vices
11-11-2005, 02:58 PM
Man I wish I had a comp that could reach 15 FPS using fraps. I get 3 FPS.

Bionic-Blob
11-11-2005, 03:03 PM
and im sur xap wished he had a comp that couldrun fraps XD

Cataclysm
11-11-2005, 03:08 PM
Depending on the resolution and capture rate, my 9800 Pro would get around 25fps, the 7800GT pulled off 30-37 no problem. Those were two completely different systems though.

It's really not the hardware which is the limiting factor. Rather, what and how many hdd's you are using and the raw power of the IDE/SATA controller on your motherboard. If you're currently saving your FRAPS videos to the same HDD you're running off of; expect a massive hit in pc performance. You're just saturating the drive by paging it for game information, whilst writing massive amounts of data onto it. In contrast, if you were running 2 15,000 RPM ultra-wide SCSI drives with a stand-alone controller, you'd probably take a very minimal performance hit.

Video cards seem to make little difference for the simple fact that you aren't really rendering anything other than what's already on the screen.
A strong CPU will play a bigger role in performance because even though FRAPS doesn't do any compression on the video files, it does encode them on-the-fly with their own codec.

From personal experience, it's more an issue with Chaos Theory itself. On average I'd often get 28-37 frames-per-second running 1024x768, half res, with a 30fps capture rate. However, when I made a video using the game FEAR, I ran the same settings only with the resolution in-game set to 1280x960 and still got almost double the frame-rate.

Chimera87
11-11-2005, 03:29 PM
i wish i knew what i was doing wrong. I got a SATA hdd btw. Maxtor Diamondmax10 160gb 8mb cash SATA if i remember correctly. Everthing in my comp is kinda brandnew and high end.

Eclyps3
11-11-2005, 04:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by zap805:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.A.T.ops_v2.0:
Redskirts j00 PPPWWWNNN!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well #1. What is everybody going on about
And #2. I want to be able to fix my version of fraps :-(

I cant go to members because my friend had this software on a disc so i need some <span class="ev_code_RED">help</span>??? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You know, when you say "It just doesn't work!" you can't really expect people to start coming up with the right answers...

Spartan_M.A.D.
11-11-2005, 05:36 PM
P4 2.53 Ghz
Geforce 6600 GT AGP
1024 MB PC-2700 RAM

I get a steady 30 FPS when recording games, even graphic intensive ones such as Chaos Theory single player.

As for your problem, what do you mean by "stopped working". It stopped showing up in game all together, It stopped being able to record, what happened?

zap805
11-12-2005, 12:19 AM
Well. When i click the icon on the desktop. Or in my folder then it kinda loads. But then it stops and does nothing. I downloaded the latest (demo) and it worked even though its a demo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

So has anybody got an idea?

element54
11-12-2005, 03:07 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by redskirts:
well if you have the full version go to the fraps members section and download the newly release 1.7 version, it just came out last week....that should fix the problem, i would think.... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

he he, i posted that last week and Leopulse was the only one who responded. i would suggest getting the update for FRAPS if you have the full version of 1.6. i hope you remeber your username and password. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

pretend3r
11-12-2005, 04:04 AM
I easily have the max fps allowed in versus with fraps

Just dont be so stupid to play at full resolution when you decide to record things

zap805
11-12-2005, 04:28 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

redskirts
11-12-2005, 10:28 AM
well since you got it from a "friend" then i guess you just have to find that "friend" again and reinstall it. If that doesn't work maybe the "man" got you and it just won't work anymore without the "full" version.

lochang19
11-12-2005, 10:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by redskirts:
well since you got it from a "friend" then i guess you just have to find that "friend" again and reinstall it. If that doesn't work maybe the "man" got you and it just won't work anymore without the "full" version. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That made me 'lol'.

C.A.T.ops_v2.0
11-12-2005, 12:05 PM
Lochang, I see salt and pepper. Is there a salt substitute?

Bob_MacBryce
11-12-2005, 02:02 PM
Taksi (http://taksi.sourceforge.net) pwns Fraps

HeyBlinkin.
11-12-2005, 04:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bob_MacBryce:
Taksi (http://taksi.sourceforge.net) pwns Fraps </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The latest release is a year old.

S.a.S-SpyCorpse
11-12-2005, 04:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HeyBlinkin.:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bob_MacBryce:
Taksi (http://taksi.sourceforge.net) pwns Fraps </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The latest release is a year old. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry for http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif
But <span class="ev_code_RED">OWNED</span>

Eclyps3
11-12-2005, 05:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by S.a.S-SpyCorpse:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HeyBlinkin.:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bob_MacBryce:
Taksi (http://taksi.sourceforge.net) pwns Fraps </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The latest release is a year old. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry for http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif
But <span class="ev_code_RED">OWNED</span> </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Erm... you like to repeat "owned" all the time, don't you? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

lochang19
11-12-2005, 08:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.A.T.ops_v2.0:
Lochang, I see salt and pepper. Is there a salt substitute? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Clicketh! (http://www.azlyrics.com/s/saltnpepa.html)

Don't ask me why, idk...

Zedblade
11-12-2005, 09:59 PM
gamecam ownes fraps.

Eclyps3
11-13-2005, 03:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Zedblade:
gamecam ownes fraps. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

As long as it doesn't randomly crash. I hope they fix it up a bit.