PDA

View Full Version : SLI Users



Dmshu
05-07-2008, 11:17 PM
Well after using FRAPS to see what kind of fps I was getting it was showing ~20-30. I knew that was way low for sli 8800 gts 620 mb'ers so I went searching for an answer. I found on another forum that a member suggested you rename your R6Vegas2_Game executable to Unreal and that it would improve your fps. It was indeed true and now I have 50-60 fps.

If you use nhancer just find the Unreal3Engine profile and add your R6Vegas2_Game executable to its profile; it is much more optimized than the default vegas 2 profile is.

Or if you don't use nhancer just rename your R6Vegas2_Game (found in the bin subfolder) to Unreal.

Dmshu
05-07-2008, 11:17 PM
Well after using FRAPS to see what kind of fps I was getting it was showing ~20-30. I knew that was way low for sli 8800 gts 620 mb'ers so I went searching for an answer. I found on another forum that a member suggested you rename your R6Vegas2_Game executable to Unreal and that it would improve your fps. It was indeed true and now I have 50-60 fps.

If you use nhancer just find the Unreal3Engine profile and add your R6Vegas2_Game executable to its profile; it is much more optimized than the default vegas 2 profile is.

Or if you don't use nhancer just rename your R6Vegas2_Game (found in the bin subfolder) to Unreal.

meivj00
05-08-2008, 01:45 AM
Well,at least it works http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif. But really, is there any sense to use SLI in this low graphic game. I really cant imagine that you can get that extra 10~20% performance..maybe if you have 2 old cards like a 6800GT or something, but with a 8800gts..??

Anyhow..i know from my old configuration where i used SLI that vsync must be off...it limits your FPS with SLI. I dont know if this game has an option for it in the settings.

oODmGOo
05-08-2008, 03:31 AM
rofl by renaming it to unreal you are simply using the profile in the driver for unreal. The smart way to go about it is to modify the current r6 vegas 1 profile or create an entirely new one. Then test various drivers because the g80,g90, and g92 all perform differenty in this game with different drivers as do the various sli modes.

JeffreyJRiggs
05-08-2008, 05:48 AM
wow my JesterJeff69 wont login.... hmmm gives system error... well had to create a new account...


I posted (under JesterJeff69) that I was having problems with video..
seems that if I disable sli I was good to go with about 25fps and no video glitches...

so I upgraded to the beta drivers that someone posted a link to and sli was now working.. anywhere from 50fps-88fps!!!! so video drivers and the ability to SLI or not will make a difference...

also when you renamed the file someone said that all you are doing is using the unreal profile... well is it turning stuff off that you could do through the game? I have everything pumped all the way up... @1920 too!!!!!

NOS.TAKKTIX
05-08-2008, 02:03 PM
Was testing it out today...

I usually get around 90 - 150 FPS without renaming my EXE....

But after renaming it I get 120+ FPS, here's the problem though....

Every time I alt + tab and try to get back in the game, I get a BSOD.


I have 8800 ultra sli with a quad core, factory overclocked at 3.67 ghz...

SS.I-KilleR-I
05-08-2008, 07:46 PM
damn sli sucks in this game i tryed different drivers and renameing exe and also making a new profile but still get ****ty fps in sli or with out w/ 2 bfg 8800 oc's 512

SS.I-KilleR-I
05-08-2008, 07:52 PM
i was told the crysis sli fix works with this game

oODmGOo
05-08-2008, 08:52 PM
Im using 2 bfg 8800gtx oc2's and getting rediculously high framerates. Try using the 169.44 betas and set sli mode for alternate frame rendering #2. If that doesnt work for ya then maybe your power supply is two weak to power the cards? You have to check nvidia certification for sli power supplies before you will see that are actually all certified for different groups of cards. They dont just stick a sticker on the psu and say that its certified for all the cards. I'de go with 850 watts or more from a good name brand.

CV_op1e
05-08-2008, 09:12 PM
I would like to try those 169.44 drivers, but I dont think they support 9600gt. Everybody running g80 and g92 GT/GTS cards have working SLI with these drivers, but I think I need 171.xx and above. Confirm? Its not a matter of the game being able to run on 1 card fine or not, it does, even at 1920x1080. I just dont wanna have to turn SLI on and off for this game and others, its a pain. I would like to crank my AA back up to 8x or more and run this res and stay above 50.

oODmGOo
05-08-2008, 09:35 PM
confirmed....cept ss is using dual 8800 oc2's

SS.I-KilleR-I
05-08-2008, 10:07 PM
850 antec tru power quatro psu

oODmGOo
05-08-2008, 10:15 PM
it is indeed certified for dual 8800gtx's
http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_psu.html

SS.I-KilleR-I
05-08-2008, 11:41 PM
got sli working with the 169.44 drivers but still ****ty frame rates at 1680 x 1050 8 x antialiasing hardware skinning on and v sync on only around 65 - 85 fps

oODmGOo
05-09-2008, 12:46 AM
thats actaully pretty good considering the resolution you are running. I find 720p to be the best for me online. Anything above that requires me to change my mousing too much.

JeffreyJRiggs
05-09-2008, 05:04 AM
im getting 60-80fps in sli with dual 9600gt and 1920x1280 with everything on HIGH!!!

q6600, xfx 780i mobo, 2x-xfx 9600gt xxx editions (700mhz), corsair 620w modular ps (yes enough for duals), 8gb ocz reaper memory, vista 64bit

NOS.TAKKTIX
05-09-2008, 06:44 AM
I decided to overclock my cards....

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o171/Underground01/qualitylevel4allsettingshigh.png

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o171/Underground01/Mycharactersr25sd.png

All settings high.

SS.I-KilleR-I
05-09-2008, 11:14 AM
THATS JUST SICK TAC WISH I GOT LUCKY BREAK FROM DELL . HOW BOUT MAILING ME ONE OF THEM ULTRA???/ BY THE WAY BUY THE GAME AND PLAY ONLINE I SEE ITS THE TORRENT VERSION LOL!

JeffreyJRiggs
05-09-2008, 11:17 AM
i havent overclocked yet as I am happy with the non oc performance...

although I too get in the upper hundreads and occasionally 1000+ fps on the menus like that...!!!!

NOS.TAKKTIX
05-09-2008, 02:15 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SS.I-KilleR-I:
THATS JUST SICK TAC WISH I GOT LUCKY BREAK FROM DELL . HOW BOUT MAILING ME ONE OF THEM ULTRA???/ BY THE WAY BUY THE GAME AND PLAY ONLINE I SEE ITS THE TORRENT VERSION LOL! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did buy the game....


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">i havent overclocked yet as I am happy with the non oc performance...

although I too get in the upper hundreads and occasionally 1000+ fps on the menus like that...!!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I find it a surprise that before I overlocked my cards, I got 90 FPS on the menu...

I think I just improved my FPS by 8 times...

JeffreyJRiggs
05-21-2008, 08:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by NOS.TAKKTIX:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SS.I-KilleR-I:
THATS JUST SICK TAC WISH I GOT LUCKY BREAK FROM DELL . HOW BOUT MAILING ME ONE OF THEM ULTRA???/ BY THE WAY BUY THE GAME AND PLAY ONLINE I SEE ITS THE TORRENT VERSION LOL! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did buy the game....


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">i havent overclocked yet as I am happy with the non oc performance...

although I too get in the upper hundreads and occasionally 1000+ fps on the menus like that...!!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I find it a surprise that before I overlocked my cards, I got 90 FPS on the menu...

I think I just improved my FPS by 8 times... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

what do you have everything set to?
I just overclocked my cards... 2x - xfx 9600gt xxx 700 mhz ones.. went to 800 and bumped up mem and shader a little and really didnt get any difference...

however there is a new driver out... 175.16 i think it is... look at nvidia.com

I am getting about 70fps with my q6600 running at 2.65ghz instead of 2.4 (havent decided to go to 3ghz yet.. im on water cool so can go higher as long as everything else wants to play nice