PDA

View Full Version : Is it true? Is there really no spy vs. spy for the PC?



NaptimeIs2oClok
11-27-2006, 07:18 PM
I have been wondering where it is, and I just found a disturbing page saying that PC players are happy to give up spy vs. spy. The 360 people, on the other hand, get merc vs. spy, spy vs. spy, co-op, and not to mention a bunch of SP stuff we don't. It really sucks how much more they put into the xbox 360 version than the PC. But will there really be no spy vs. spy part?

NaptimeIs2oClok
11-27-2006, 07:18 PM
I have been wondering where it is, and I just found a disturbing page saying that PC players are happy to give up spy vs. spy. The 360 people, on the other hand, get merc vs. spy, spy vs. spy, co-op, and not to mention a bunch of SP stuff we don't. It really sucks how much more they put into the xbox 360 version than the PC. But will there really be no spy vs. spy part?

LoGiCaL_
11-27-2006, 07:43 PM
The pc is a direct port from the 360. They dont have spy vs spy, we dont have spy vs spy.

Mr_Coolio
11-27-2006, 08:38 PM
Nope the PC only gets Spy vs Merc. Not spy vs spy thats only for the original xbox/ps2.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

----------------------------
MySpace (http://www.myspace.com/mrcool0760)

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a144/mrgeorgedude/newsig.jpg

MrZeruel
11-28-2006, 09:45 AM
uhh.. when they say spy vs spy they mean coop like in CT?... or some kind of new mode of vs?.. I'm just curious

SITHDUKE
11-28-2006, 10:03 AM
Spy Vs Spy is just what it sounds like. Spies versus spies meaning they get to snap each others necks. Basically Deathmatch mode where nobody has to play merc is all it is.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v649/SITHDUKE/VSCDukeRemake2Complete.jpg
-------------------------
If you need help and training to learn the basics (http://wiki.splintercellnetwork.com/index.php/Splinter_Cell:_Chaos_Theory) of Splinter Cell Versus mode download Xfire (http://www.xfire.com) and add me as "Sithduke".

And Remember...
Just your friendly Sith posting again ^_^

drjambi
11-28-2006, 11:38 AM
That sounds awesome though! Why have we been SCREWED over so much by <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">UBI[/b], first the bugs and then half the game is missing. If i met the producers i'd take a swing at them myself. Utter scum.

Kevin_mac12
11-28-2006, 12:39 PM
Can anyone help here, I have a x800GTO card and although I can go in the start of the game it suddenly stops and and a error messsage comes up. it's really starting to annoy me now, I thought this was a good card!!!!!

SITHDUKE
11-28-2006, 01:02 PM
I don't think your graphics card has SM3.0. These cards are officially supported:

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">
*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release

ATI?? X1600/X1800/X1900 NVidia?? 6600 /6800/7300/7600/7800/7900

</div></BLOCKQUOTE><div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v649/SITHDUKE/VSCDukeRemake2Complete.jpg
-------------------------
If you need help and training to learn the basics (http://wiki.splintercellnetwork.com/index.php/Splinter_Cell:_Chaos_Theory) of Splinter Cell Versus mode download Xfire (http://www.xfire.com) and add me as "Sithduke".

And Remember...
Just your friendly Sith posting again ^_^

neildittmar
11-28-2006, 01:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I have a x800GTO card and although I can go in the start of the game it suddenly stops and and a error messsage comes up. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's definitely the card. The x800 series in any variant does not support Shader Model 3.0 and hence, doesn't support Double Agent.

That said, it's interesting that you got the game to run at all. I was under the impression that a "catch" in the games initialization detected if a Shader Model 3.0 card was present and if not, the game wouldn't even start. Are you actually getting into the game and it's failing after that in some fashion? What exactly is the error message you're seeing?

Note that the answer to either of these questions will not solve your problem. Only a video card that supports Shader Model 3.0 will do that. I am just looking to satisfy my own personal curiousity :-)

Kevin_mac12
11-28-2006, 01:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SITHDUKE:
I don't think your graphics card has SM3.0. These cards are officially supported:

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">
*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release

ATI?? X1600/X1800/X1900 NVidia?? 6600 /6800/7300/7600/7800/7900

</div></BLOCKQUOTE> </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well yes it doesn't support the SM3.0 but as I said the game does start. it runs for about 10mins then stops

SITHDUKE
11-28-2006, 01:37 PM
You actually get in-game?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v649/SITHDUKE/VSCDukeRemake2Complete.jpg
-------------------------
If you need help and training to learn the basics (http://wiki.splintercellnetwork.com/index.php/Splinter_Cell:_Chaos_Theory) of Splinter Cell Versus mode download Xfire (http://www.xfire.com) and add me as "Sithduke".

And Remember...
Just your friendly Sith posting again ^_^

Kevin_mac12
11-28-2006, 01:54 PM
Yep sure do and that's whats the annoying thing is about, if the card isn't supported by the game why is it letting me into the game in the first place.
the error that is coming up is a runtime error for SM3.0

neildittmar
11-28-2006, 02:00 PM
Interesting... is this the retail version of the game (ie; purchased in the store and installed via a disc) or the downloadable version available at the <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">Ubi[/b] website? What OS are you running? Could your copy of the game possibly be a hacked, cracked, or warezed version that has had the copy protection (and possibly the initial game check routines) broken?

Please note, that I'm not saying or implying that you stole the game. It's just that your experiences are pretty different from what many others seem to be reporting on here. Again, my own curiousity has me intrigued. Some more information would be nice :-)

Jason-Alaska
11-28-2006, 02:17 PM
drjambi,
Swearing is NOT allowed in the forums. I've fixed your post but please do not let it happen again.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

__________________________________________________ __________
http://www.scaredscriptless.com/images/jason/sc4/close-jason-alaska.gif (http://www.spyring.net/sc4/?friend=QBKtIY)
Click here for the Splinter Cell Spy Ring (http://www.spyring.net/sc4/?friend=QBKtIY)... Your chance to win official Splinter Cell Gear and apparel.
Choose your side carefully.

Sig / Avatar Guidelines (http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/3651075192/m/1791038423) | Community Help (http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/6/ubb.x?a=frm&s=400102&f=954105331) | Patches / Video Drivers / Maps (http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/3651075192/m/5131052553) | Terms of Use (http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/3651075192/m/6861021553) | BewareSamFisher.com (http://www.bewaresamfisher.com) | Splinter Cell SPY RING! (http://www.spyring.net/sc4/?friend=QBKtIY)

Aj6627
11-28-2006, 02:55 PM
Wow. Another person who can't/won't read.http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

I have the fifth freedom... so watch out, here I come
Registered July 17, 2002 with 15,000+ posts
Get a Vegas faceplate, poster, and shirt! (http://www.dantes-casino.com/r6/?friend=zBgo3Q)
Go to Vegas... (http://www.dantes-casino.com/r6/link.html?i=JzdEWO)and play some poker (http://www.dantes-casino.com/r6/link.html?i=e9usJh)
All your MP are belong to us! (http://www.dantes-casino.com/r6/link.html?i=0zljcQ)
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">quarks2006:
aj6627 you punk *** *****. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

S.a.S-Akbari
11-28-2006, 03:16 PM
Well we haven't been 'screwed' over, The Spy vs Spy "sounds" good but in fact it's really **** http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif .<div class="ev_tpc_signature">


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"I used to be a hero, Now I'm a no lifer, I am a WoW Geek" - Akbari, the
day he started World of Warcraft -- WoW addict till June 2006 R.I.P.

"salami akbari", "Amalahad Akbari" -- LoGiCaL_ - Proof nubs do get older then 2 years.

Xfire (http://www.xfire.com/profile/akbari) -- Thanks Dojomann for the siggeh!
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/562/akbarisnewsig2ed5.jpg

element54
11-28-2006, 03:56 PM
@ NapTime and drjambi,

The PC was supposedly going to get a port of the Current Gen game that was released for the Xbox, PS2 and GameCube. The PC community didn't want this so back last year some time we all put together a petition and stomped our feet till we were promised the Next Gen game that would be released for the Xbox 360. So saddly i think we screwed ourselves. We ended up getting what we asked for, a sad excuse for Spy vs. Merc and a buggy chopped up port of the the Xbox 360 Single Player mission. In hindsight I think we would have been better off settling for the Current Gen Xbox version. At least then we would have probably gotten a decent Single Player campaign as it is old news already that the xbox, ps2 version of Single Player is much more in deapth than the xbox 360 version. Also it would have probably been developed by Montreal which we have all seen produces much better work than Shanghai.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/elementfiftyfour/SIG3fxmascopy.jpg
<span class="ev_code_RED">My Maps: State Union (http://files.filefront.com/State_Unionexe/;4889397;;/fileinfo.html)|Horizon Corporation (http://files.filefront.com/Horizon_Corporationexe/;4888785;;/fileinfo.html)|Panama Bank (http://files.filefront.com/Panama_Bank_v20exe/;4889389;;/fileinfo.html)</span>
<span class="ev_code_red">Get the Map Pack: </span>SCCT All In One #5 (http://files.filefront.com/SCCT_All_In_One_Map_Pack_5/;4788212;;/fileinfo.html)
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/elementfiftyfour/sclamers400x25.png (http://sclamers.17.forumer.com/index.php)
And you get rewards even if you lose! It doesn't get much better than that.

Kevin_mac12
11-28-2006, 04:18 PM
Yep it's the retail version, and didn't rob it or copy it, don't know if it can be hacked though, yea i read some of the other forums, and they don't seem to be able to get in the game at all, I got in changed all the key settings just started the fisrt level and wham!!!! it went down. I think this has to be the first game that every one has a problem with, I think <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">UBI[/b] has to find a solution and fast.... the OS is XP home, its 2.5g of ram and the X800GTO 256mb card, and all the lastest drivers are installed