PDA

View Full Version : game crashes right after main menu



nbecsi8
09-18-2008, 06:06 PM
I just downloaded the game and when I start it gets to the main menu no problem. If I select school it comes to the next screen and when I make a selection there it loads then the screen flashes black and "Silent Hunter IV has encountered a problem and needs to close." comes up. If I choose career, it gets throug the mission breifing and the does the same thing. Has any one else seen this

nbecsi8
09-18-2008, 06:06 PM
I just downloaded the game and when I start it gets to the main menu no problem. If I select school it comes to the next screen and when I make a selection there it loads then the screen flashes black and "Silent Hunter IV has encountered a problem and needs to close." comes up. If I choose career, it gets throug the mission breifing and the does the same thing. Has any one else seen this

tambor198
09-18-2008, 09:26 PM
Welcome to the SHIV Forums, nbecsi8.



Have you patched the game up to v1.4? If not you can find the v1.4 here (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/6921019045/m/1901093545).

nbecsi8
09-18-2008, 09:32 PM
Yes, I upgraded it to 1.4. I dont know what else to do. I have left a request at ubisupport and I'm just waiting to hear from them. thanks.

Yooperbacker
09-19-2008, 12:24 AM
Hello nbecsi8,
Try this, is your screen resolution in the game settings the same as your deck top settings?

anarion3
09-24-2008, 08:11 AM
I am having the exact same problem, I have the reply from UBI but with no joy.

Yooperbacker
09-24-2008, 11:45 AM
Hello anarion3,
You say you are having the same problems. Have you done the suggested fixes mentioned about your post. Patched to 1.4 and your screen resolution is the same in the game as what your deck top is.

Yooperbacker
09-24-2008, 06:54 PM
Do you have the k-lite codecs package installed on your computer?

Is your graphic card Driver up to date?

cp72
09-28-2008, 07:09 AM
What are the k-lite codecs? I've purchased this on Steam, running on Vistax64, and my drivers are up to date, but having same problem. I'm also running it in Windowed mode.

Yooperbacker
09-28-2008, 09:45 AM
Hello cp72,
Some people that have k-lite codecs installed on their computer had problems with the game working and once they removed it the game worked fine.

Do you have Directx 9.0c installed on your computer? I know Vista uses Directx 10 but 9 is also needed to run SH4.

cp72
09-28-2008, 01:34 PM
Yes I have other games on my box that use DX9 so that shouldn't be the problem. It's kind of disheartening to have spent $30 on this and not be able to play it. I also tried running it in compatibility mode but that didn't make a difference.

cp72
09-28-2008, 02:13 PM
Here are the details of the application crash that SH4 is suffering from on my system:

Faulting application sh4.exe, version 1.5.0.0, time stamp 0x476a5ca9, faulting module sh4.exe, version 1.5.0.0, time stamp 0x476a5ca9, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00173d08, process id 0xb44, application start time 0x01c9216a3af2cb10.

The fact that it's generating an exception code 0xc0000005 tells me that this is some sort of DEP problem. Have we heard of SH4 having problems with nvidia video drivers?

dwolfe1955
10-05-2008, 02:37 PM
game starts like he said and then I get black screen and audio, and it does'nt go any farther then that,this is the same problem,with Silent #3 also,patches are installed,and every thing is up to date,do not get it,I'am running Vista, and have not had any problems with other games,being loaded and play ,even online,what is the problem?