PDA

View Full Version : splintercell3.exe not working



opusday
09-04-2006, 07:11 PM
I haven't played chaos theory in a long while, and when I went back recently to play, I got this error. http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/3808/errorzx4.jpg

I've re-installed, updated drivers, and patched the game. still get this error. what does this mean and what can I do about it? thanks.

opusday
09-04-2006, 07:11 PM
I haven't played chaos theory in a long while, and when I went back recently to play, I got this error. http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/3808/errorzx4.jpg

I've re-installed, updated drivers, and patched the game. still get this error. what does this mean and what can I do about it? thanks.

Warrior0fLight
09-06-2006, 11:09 AM
1. You may actually have a virus that attacks .exe files. Go to http://www.pandasoftware.com and use their online scanner to check it out.

2. There has been an issue identified with a M$ patch KB917422 that causes SC to crash. Locate it in your Add/Remove section of the Control Panel and Uninstall it to see if that fixes the problem.

opusday
09-07-2006, 10:16 AM
I've removed KB917422 and did that online scan, and there still that error that shows up when I try to load the game.

detonator3000
09-08-2006, 03:14 AM
a virus infection? Maybe the starforce garbage was the virus