PDA

View Full Version : Any way to get recon landing target on a carrier?



Ba5tard5word
06-18-2009, 11:18 PM
Where when you land you get a "Hidden Target Complete" message for some extra points. Is there a way to do this with a moving carrier? I tried making a bunch of the recon target icons over the path of the carrier, but it didn't trigger when I landed. I'm pretty sure I got a message in a DGEN mission included in the game when I was first fiddling around with Il-2.

Ba5tard5word
06-18-2009, 11:18 PM
Where when you land you get a "Hidden Target Complete" message for some extra points. Is there a way to do this with a moving carrier? I tried making a bunch of the recon target icons over the path of the carrier, but it didn't trigger when I landed. I'm pretty sure I got a message in a DGEN mission included in the game when I was first fiddling around with Il-2.

il2battle
06-19-2009, 02:48 AM
Hey.

I have tried that too, but didn't get it to work. Back then I was thinking that it was just bad timing, even I was pretty sure that it ain't.

Anyway, now when reading your problem, same problem that I have, starting to think it again and what came in my mind now, was that you actually didn't stop.

I mean, as you know, you need to slowdown your speed under 10km/h, if I remember it right, before getting the message.
But when you are on the carrier deck and it moving your speed ain't get so slow, as you know the speed of the carrier is the speed of your aircraft, even when you are stationary on the deck.
Maybe that's the problem, game see you moving even you don't, but the carrier do, so you actually moving.????!!!!

Oh well...

Maybe just adding normal hidden recon target, without landing and timing it so that the carrier coming in the area just when you land.
Ofcourse "small" fight or wrong air speed, could screw the timing.

Well if you find the answer, how to get it to work, you share it with us - won't you.

Good luck.

Tully__
06-19-2009, 06:39 AM
I think il2battle has the answer here, you need to get your speed over ground below 10km/h to trigger the recon landing target. It should work if you set the carrier cruise speed at 5km/h, but that could make the landing a bit tricky.
Alternately, you could have the carrier cruise in laps around a course at a good speed for landing for most of the course, but one short leg at 5km/h through the recon landing target. This would mean waiting for the carrier to be on a long leg before landing, then waiting for it to return to the short leg for the hidden target, but it should work. If you're going to try this, remember to allow space for the carrier to slow down to less than 10km/h before it reaches the recon target.

Ba5tard5word
06-19-2009, 09:54 AM
Well if it's because of the carrier moving, then I dunno if it's worth making the carrier go 5kph or 0. The mission I'm working on involves a Corsair and having the carrier moving makes landing a bit easier I find.

wheelsup_cavu
06-19-2009, 11:46 PM
You have to edit the .mis file and it will work.
It works when you create a mission with DGen.
You just have to add some lines to the Recon target code which DGen adds by default.

You attach the recon function to one of the waypoints for the carrier that you are using.
You check the landing required feature of the recon target.
Now set a timeout to set the time allowed for the recon objective to be accomplished.
DGen typically uses two hours.

This is the standard recon function that the FMB uses for the .mis file for the [Target] function.
The recon [Target] will have no clue that you want to force a landing to be required on a ship.
<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">[Target]
3 2 1 30 501 84686 182410 500.</span>

This is four separate examples of how DGen uses the recon [Target].
These force you to land within two hours to get the Hidden objective points.
<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">[Target]</span>
3 2 1 120 501 260078 350002 500 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">0 3_Chief 260078 350002</span>
3 2 1 120 501 262057 350027 500 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">0 4_Chief 262057 350027</span>
3 2 1 120 501 260030 351956 500 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">0 5_Chief 260030 351956</span>
3 2 1 120 501 262034 351956 500 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">0 6_Chief 262034 351956</span>

You will have to edit the .mis file and add the extra lines.
I have explained the [Target] function in this thread at M4T.
Target Data (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=ForumsPro&file=viewtopic&p=34859#34859)

Edit:
Adding the lines I put in yellow for the DGen examples is what attaches the recon target to the waypoint.
You have to know the waypoint X Y location you want to use.
It not hard you just have to use one of the ships waypoint locations for the attachment point I added in yellow for my examples.

If you create a few Japanese or American carrier DGen careers and look at the .mis file you will see what I am explaining when you compare it to a normal land DGen career. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


Wheelsup

Tully__
06-20-2009, 05:39 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by wheelsup_cavu:
...
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Cool, I didn't know that one http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Zeus-cat
06-20-2009, 09:00 AM
I just assigned a Hidden Target recon to a CVE moving at 32kph and it gave me Hidden Objective Complete as soon as I landed. The recon target was assigned DIRECTLY to the ship and not a general recon target. I had the landing box checked.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c252/Zeus-cat/HiddenRecon.jpg

wheelsup_cavu
06-20-2009, 10:12 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Zeus-cat:
I just assigned a Hidden Target recon to a CVE moving at 32kph and it gave me Hidden Objective Complete as soon as I landed. The recon target was assigned DIRECTLY to the ship and not a general recon target. I had the landing box checked. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Did you edit the .mis file or were you able to get it to attatch in the FMB ?
I have never been able to do it without altering the .mis file.

It also doesn't have to be a Hidden Objective.
Primary and Secondary objectives can also be used.


Wheelsup

Zeus-cat
06-20-2009, 06:50 PM
I just used the FMB. The recon target can be tricky to assign to specific ships, so you may need to play around with it.

wheelsup_cavu
06-20-2009, 08:59 PM
I've been trying to "Assign" the Recon objective to the ship and I still can't get it to work without modifying the .mis file.
No matter how much moving around I do of the Icon it will not attach itself to the ship.
I am using v4.09b1m right now.
I had this same problem using v4.08m, v4.04m, & v3.0m.

I am curious how you checked the landing box before you put the Recon Target Icon on the map ?
Until I put the Recon Target on the map the Target Tab is not available.
Just the Type Tab shows up before it is placed on the map.

I tried all levels of magnification from zoomed in completely to fully zoomed out and I am unable to make this work using just the FMB map.

What do you think you have done that I haven't to make this work without modifying the .mis file ?

FYI-the Destroy and Defence icons automatically attach themselves to the ship so it is not a problem with all of my Target features.


Wheelsup

Zeus-cat
06-20-2009, 10:32 PM
It may make a difference in what sequence things are put on the map. I would suggest setting up the recon target before any enemy targets on put on the map.

If you already have the mission set up, create a copy of the mission and save only the carrier and its waypoints. Put the recon target on and then add in everything else.

wheelsup_cavu
06-20-2009, 11:38 PM
I don't have any variables.
I have one ship, two waypoints, and nothing else on the map.
I am trying to add the Recon Target to the map and attach it to the ship after I set just two waypoints which are the minimum amount required for a moving ship.
I still can't make it work the way you are telling me. http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/confused/confused0082.gif

What map did you use ?
I am using the Midway map.
I am also using the Carrier Lexington for my testing.


Edit:
I just tried it the other way.
I still used the Midway map for this test and I started with an empty map again.
I put the Recon Target on the map first and I had the landing box checked like you show in your example.
Then I added the ship and I used the <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Shamrock Bay</span> like you did in your example.

I tried having it attach to the first waypoint when I put the ship on the map and then I tried having it attach to the second waypoint.
I put the waypoints directly in the target circle and at different locations on the map to try and find a location where it would attach.
I couldn't get the Recon Target to attach to either waypoint.

I am still very confused, sorry.


Wheelsup

Ba5tard5word
06-21-2009, 01:37 AM
Yeah there's no "set" button for recon. I know it will sometimes auto-set to moving vehicles but I dunno about moving or stationary ships.

Zeus-cat
06-21-2009, 10:24 AM
Send me the mission and I will try to set it up for you.

My email: zeuscat@sbcglobal.net

wheelsup_cavu
06-21-2009, 01:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Zeus-cat:
Send me the mission and I will try to set it up for you.
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thank you for your time and patience Zeus-cat but that won't be necessary. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I am just trying to make my system do what you did with yours.
What you did has me flabbergasted because I don't know how many times I have tried to make it do what you did but couldn't.

Editing the .mis file accomplishes it too but your way would be much faster if I could make it work.

For your perusal if you still want to see if your system will attach the icons to one another.
This is the mission I was using for testing and no matter where I moved the ship waypoints I could not get the Recon Target Icon to attach.

[MAIN]
MAP Midway/load.ini
TIME 12.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
army 1
playerNum 0
[Chiefs]
0_Chief Ships.USSShamrockBayCVE84 1 0 2 1.0
[0_Chief_Road]
9007.15 198366.30 120.00 0 29 8.333333969116211
9413.76 198380.48 120.00
9820.37 198394.66 120.00
10226.98 198408.84 120.00
10633.59 198423.03 120.00
11040.20 198437.22 120.00
11446.81 198451.39 120.00
11853.42 198465.58 120.00
12260.03 198479.77 120.00
12666.64 198493.94 120.00
13073.25 198508.13 120.00
13479.87 198522.31 120.00
13886.48 198536.50 120.00
14293.09 198550.67 120.00
14699.70 198564.86 120.00
15106.31 198579.05 120.00
15512.92 198593.22 120.00
15919.53 198607.41 120.00
16326.14 198621.59 120.00
16732.75 198635.78 120.00
17139.36 198649.95 120.00
17545.97 198664.14 120.00
17952.59 198678.33 120.00
18359.20 198692.50 120.00
18765.81 198706.69 120.00
19172.42 198720.88 120.00
19579.03 198735.06 120.00
19985.64 198749.23 120.00
20392.25 198763.42 120.00
[NStationary]
[Buildings]
[Target]
3 2 1 30 501 20747 199909 3000
[Bridge]
[House]


This is what the mission looked like after editing the .mis file.
I cleaned up the Chief_Road section and added the code necessary to attach the Recon target to the ship.
I also changed the time from 30 minutes to 2 hours (120 minutes) allowed for the Hidden Target objective to be completed.

[MAIN]
MAP Midway/load.ini
TIME 12.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
army 1
playerNum 0
[Chiefs]
0_Chief Ships.USSShamrockBayCVE84 1 0 2 1.0
[0_Chief_Road]
9007.15 198366.30 120.00 0 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">2</span> 8.333333969116211
20392.25 198763.42 120.00
[NStationary]
[Buildings]
[Target]
3 2 1 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">120</span> 501 20747 199909 3000 <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">1 0_Chief 20392 198763</span>
[Bridge]
[House]


And Finally I tried adding a plane to the edited mission.
I still couldn’t get the waypoint of the ship to attach to the Recon Target by moving it around so I had to edit the .mis file.
(I had removed the edited Target features to see if adding a plane would make a difference. This is the edited .mis file.)

[MAIN]
MAP Midway/load.ini
TIME 12.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player UN_NN00
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
UN_NN00
[UN_NN00]
Planes 1
Skill 1
Class air.F4U1A
Fuel 100
weapons default
StartTime 2
[UN_NN00_Way]
NORMFLY 3135.57 193400.32 500.00 300.00 &0
LANDING 13665.22 194847.05 0 0 0_Chief 0 &0
[Chiefs]
0_Chief Ships.USSShamrockBayCVE84 1 0 2 1.0
[0_Chief_Road]
9007.15 198366.30 120.00 0 2 9.722222222222221
20392.25 198763.42 120.00
[NStationary]
[Buildings]
[Target]
3 2 1 120 501 20747 199909 3000 1 0_Chief 20392 198763
[Bridge]
[House]

What the FMB Map Setup looked like for the edited mission when I added the plane.
The Recon target has a line extending to the ship just like the picture in your example.

http://i479.photobucket.com/albums/rr153/wheelsup_cavu/IL-2/Setup-1.jpg (http://i479.photobucket.com/albums/rr153/wheelsup_cavu/IL-2/Setup.jpg)

The Results:
<a href="http://i479.photobucket.com/albums/rr153/wheelsup_cavu/IL-2/Landing.jpg" target="_blank">
http://i479.photobucket.com/albums/rr153/wheelsup_cavu/IL-2/Landing-1.jpg </a>

Thank you for your time and patience Zeus-cat. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
I intend to keep trying to make your way work but I think this is a decent alternative for those who can't get the Recon Target to attach any other way.


Wheelsup

Zeus-cat
06-21-2009, 02:15 PM
Try this

[MAIN]
MAP Midway/load.ini
TIME 12.000002
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player USN_VB_3B00
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
USN_VB_3B00
[USN_VB_3B00]
Planes 1
Skill 1
Class air.SBD3
Fuel 100
weapons default
[USN_VB_3B00_Way]
NORMFLY 5714.09 198318.69 200.00 300.00 &0
NORMFLY 8068.50 198375.42 100.00 300.00 &0
LANDING 8957.99 198375.42 0 0 0_Chief 0 &0
[Chiefs]
0_Chief Ships.USSShamrockBayCVE84 1 0 2 1.0
[0_Chief_Road]
9007.15 198366.30 120.00 0 29 8.333333969116211
9413.76 198380.48 120.00
9820.37 198394.66 120.00
10226.98 198408.84 120.00
10633.59 198423.03 120.00
11040.20 198437.22 120.00
11446.81 198451.39 120.00
11853.42 198465.58 120.00
12260.03 198479.77 120.00
12666.64 198493.94 120.00
13073.25 198508.13 120.00
13479.87 198522.31 120.00
13886.48 198536.50 120.00
14293.09 198550.67 120.00
14699.70 198564.86 120.00
15106.31 198579.05 120.00
15512.92 198593.22 120.00
15919.53 198607.41 120.00
16326.14 198621.59 120.00
16732.75 198635.78 120.00
17139.36 198649.95 120.00
17545.97 198664.14 120.00
17952.59 198678.33 120.00
18359.20 198692.50 120.00
18765.81 198706.69 120.00
19172.42 198720.88 120.00
19579.03 198735.06 120.00
19985.64 198749.23 120.00
20392.25 198763.42 120.00
[NStationary]
[Buildings]
[Target]
3 2 1 120 501 7872 197484 500 0 0_Chief 9007 198366
[Bridge]
[House]

I am not sure why Oleg has given me powers beyond those of normal men, but I do my best to use them wisely and for the good of mankind.

Did I mention that I was also recently bitten by a radioactive spider?

wheelsup_cavu
06-21-2009, 02:30 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Zeus-cat:
I am not sure why Oleg has given me powers beyond those of normal men, but I do my best to use them wisely and for the good of mankind.

Did I mention that I was also recently bitten by a radioactive spider? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
----------------

Reading the file it should work just fine...
I'll use it and see if I can get any variables to happen.

Thanks.


Wheelsup

FlatSpinMan
06-22-2009, 08:53 AM
Nice one Zeus! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Bogustogus
06-22-2009, 02:39 PM
Yeah I can really use this one to retrofit a mission or 2, thanks!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Ba5tard5word
06-23-2009, 06:46 PM
Uh...

y'know, after fiddling around with this a bit, all you have to do is select the Recon Target in the menu, then press ctrl and left-click with the cursor directly over the carrier you want to land on and then you will get the objective complete message when you land. It will connect the recon icon to a target icon over the ship waypoint. It can be placed at any waypoint and you can land on the carrier at any time and get the message.

It's that simple.

wheelsup_cavu
06-23-2009, 07:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ba5tard5word:
Uh...

y'know, after fiddling around with this a bit, all you have to do is select the Recon Target in the menu, then press ctrl and left-click with the cursor directly over the carrier you want to land on and then you will get the objective complete message when you land. It will connect the recon icon to a target icon over the ship waypoint. It can be placed at any waypoint and you can land on the carrier at any time and get the message.

It's that simple. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Well I was on way back to tell Zeus-cat I still couldn't make it work but then I saw your post.
It worked great. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
This will solve a lot of time & frustration for several people, me included.


Wheelsup