PDA

View Full Version : Update on new system



athlonion
11-05-2007, 10:38 AM
Everything seems ok on my newly built system.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
One fact though, when i install game and use DX from game disc it appears old.game is choppy.When i went to update it,updater went from Jan-2007 to Sept-2007.Plays ok for me though and i like the updated to newer DX for my other games.Weird thing happened Halloween night,Turned on system DVD-RW door was opening and closing,weird huh?replaced that with older cdrw,One question:Anybody here use a SATA DVD-RRW? Only have two sata ports on HDD,EIDE and SATA are similiarly priced.thanks

athlonion
11-05-2007, 10:38 AM
Everything seems ok on my newly built system.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
One fact though, when i install game and use DX from game disc it appears old.game is choppy.When i went to update it,updater went from Jan-2007 to Sept-2007.Plays ok for me though and i like the updated to newer DX for my other games.Weird thing happened Halloween night,Turned on system DVD-RW door was opening and closing,weird huh?replaced that with older cdrw,One question:Anybody here use a SATA DVD-RRW? Only have two sata ports on HDD,EIDE and SATA are similiarly priced.thanks

tambor198
11-05-2007, 12:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by athlonion:
Everything seems ok on my newly built system.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
One fact though, when i install game and use DX from game disc it appears old.game is choppy.When i went to update it,updater went from Jan-2007 to Sept-2007.Plays ok for me though and i like the updated to newer DX for my other games.Weird thing happened Halloween night,Turned on system DVD-RW door was opening and closing,weird huh?replaced that with older cdrw,One question:Anybody here use a SATA DVD-RRW? Only have two sata ports on HDD,EIDE and SATA are similiarly priced.thanks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have one IDE and one SATA drive on my computer both Plextors. The IDE is a PX-760A and the SATA drive is a PX-810SA. The only thing I've heard that you can't do with a SATA that you can do with a IDE drive is install Windows. That's what I've heard, don't know if it is 100% true as I have never tried installing Window using the SATA Drive. But otherwise it does everything the IDE will do and it seems to me like it is alittle faster, could be my imagination though. Hope this helps you out, athlonion. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Tom1950_241
11-07-2007, 08:45 AM
Athlonion, you know that Windows XP only supports to 3.25 Ram (or have you X64 (64-bit))

Tom1950_241
11-07-2007, 08:47 AM
This are my spec Athlonion,
AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual-core +4800 2.5Ghz
ATI Radeon X1950 Pro 256Mb GDDR3
2Gb RAM DDR2 at 555Mhz (2x1 Gb chips in Dual-Chanell)

athlonion
11-08-2007, 05:50 PM
Thanks for your reply Tom1950_241.Yes i did read that XP only handles that much ram.i liked my existing ram so much i figured i would order another 2gb set(vista upgrade maybe?).However if i only have 3 sticks in that drops the dual channel from running on my board.(doesn't say it at bios post)thank you tambor 198 i didn't think of that,will look into it.this mobo only has 1-Ide slot and had two dvd's on it,heard reviews on the net that this board is famous for only supporting 1 ide device.guess that happened sooner than i thought.Probably going to get better mobo after xmas,Will never get a mobo+cpu combo again.

Tom1950_241
11-09-2007, 08:48 AM
I wil say you Athlonion, SH4 doesn't work a f*** on my system (sometimes) But the Game BioShock that is almost as 3 times as heavy as SH4 , turns on highest on 1280x1074