PDA

View Full Version : Total Lack Of Issues Or Bugs



ILikePortillos
06-27-2005, 03:54 PM
I don't mean to aggravate anyone here, but I'm curious about something.

Reading the posts I see TONS of bug reports, issues with patches, weird things going on. . .I've never had a problem with anything. Am I in the minority here? It makes sense that the people with the problems would be the most visible, but does the majority have a clean gaming experience?

ILikePortillos
06-27-2005, 03:54 PM
I don't mean to aggravate anyone here, but I'm curious about something.

Reading the posts I see TONS of bug reports, issues with patches, weird things going on. . .I've never had a problem with anything. Am I in the minority here? It makes sense that the people with the problems would be the most visible, but does the majority have a clean gaming experience?

S VIIC_41
06-27-2005, 04:07 PM
Do you go into ports much?

Well, you haven't gotten the screeching bug so... that's my only question then I guess <_<

Just curious...

Tomus
06-27-2005, 04:48 PM
I have a clean gaming experience.

Fish40
06-27-2005, 05:08 PM
Knock on wood, to this point I have had no major probs. I was patched to 1.2, skipped 1.3 after reading all the probs, and the sonarman issue, and just updated to 1.4. I have only a few graphical mods installed, and from day one, have never had a CTD. The only bug I've noticed is when playing a saved game, youre watch crew will not start out wearing their foul weather gear if you saved the game while they were wearing it. You simply have to drag each guy below, then put him back on watch, and he'll be back in rain gear. As for the screeching sub net bug, to this point I have'nt gone into any harbors, so I can't comment on that one.

The_Submariner
06-27-2005, 05:47 PM
I actually ran the dreaded 1.3 patch for a month with no significant problems.

The typical PC gamer's problems with bugs in this game or any other usually have as much to do with their personality type as with their gaming machine...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

nutflush24
06-27-2005, 08:18 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by The_Submariner:
I actually ran the dreaded 1.3 patch for a month with no significant problems.

The typical PC gamer's problems with bugs in this game or any other usually have as much to do with their personality type as with their gaming machine...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I couldn't agree more. I've had very few problems. The most frustrating one I had was my own fault for getting anxious and patching while at sea. Otherwise I'm running a very solid game.

The Nutflush

BONFLECK
06-27-2005, 10:14 PM
Of all people posting, you guys should be the ones displaying your system specs. I can't be the only one wondering. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

nutflush24
06-27-2005, 10:36 PM
Nothing crazy...
Custom build by General Nanosystems (http://www.nanosys1.com)

I'm running SHIII 1.4b on...

Win XP home edition
Pentium 4 2.8
1 gig ram
nvidia GeForce FX5700 Ultra

The Nutflush http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

rabu2u
06-27-2005, 11:25 PM
I've had no problems, except for the Nvidea spray problem and some fps hits before they fixed it, and I haven't noticed any "screetching" noise in ports, unless one runs into a net, that does make a bad noise. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
Updating from my Dell Nvidia FX5200 to an XFX Nvidia 6600GT made a huge difference in this game and other games I have.

Cpt_Walrus
06-27-2005, 11:53 PM
No problems here,and never had any problems so far touch on wood.

P4 3GHZ
875PBEZ
512MB Ram
Nvidia 5700LE

snowdawg1
06-28-2005, 01:38 AM
This what I am running on for the moment
Asus A7N8X2 Deluxe.
AMD Athlon XP-2800+.
1 GIG €"DDR 333 Mhz Ram.
Ati Radeon 9800 Pro.
Sound Blaster Audigy
Lg DVD/CDRW Burner.
Very little problems other than the sound bug ( GAWD I hate that) but I just got the 1.4 patch and I haven't heard it again Yet!

The_Third_Half
06-28-2005, 08:26 AM
Not a single problem yet, although i did have 1 CTD in the management screen, with the auto-assign crew. But aside from avoiding the " sruface cruise" button , no problems. None with the copy-protection either, i can still make movie/music CDs etc..

Intel P4 Prescott (2.8GhZ)
Dual meg cache / 768megs DDR 4200 RAM
ATI Radeon 9550 AGP graphics
SoundBlaster PCI512 sound-card ( had this forever, but it works soo **** good)
Sony DvD drive
LD CD-RW drive

AVGWarhawk
06-28-2005, 08:37 AM
Very little issue with the game. Mine/subnet sound, yes. CTD, once, crew managment button. No other issues. Frame rate excellent.

AMD Athlon 3200+
1024 RAM
Nvidia 5500 256ram
Integrated sound card/motherboard by Nvidia.

The_Third_Half
06-28-2005, 08:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AVGWarhawk:
Very little issue with the game. Mine/subnet sound, yes. CTD, once, crew managment button. No other issues. Frame rate excellent.

AMD Athlon 3200+
1024 RAM
Nvidia 5500 256ram
Integrated sound card/motherboard by Nvidia. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

AVGWarhawk : Just a suggestion, if you get a moderatly decent sound card, instead of using the onboard sound, you could run the hardware accelerator, etc. and not choke off your FSB on the mobo. If you ever have problems with more then 32 sound channels and such. Just throwing that out there for you.

aaronblood
06-28-2005, 09:03 AM
I think starforce killed my sony drive...
But in the game itself, no, no problems.


Win XP Home
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2GHz
Dual Nvidia 6800 ultras(SLI)
2048 RAM
Mboard/Sound: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe

ILikePortillos
06-28-2005, 09:29 AM
I guess I'm going to have to correct myself there. I did get the terrible screech once, and I did see the weather change without my deck crew changing gear, but the latter issue was so quick to remedy (bringing them in, then sending them back out) that it really didn't bother me.

I'm running:

Windows XP Home
Dell Dimension 2400
P4 2.2 GHz
1 Gig RAM
128M Video Ram (nVidia GeForce 5200)
Dell Integrated Audio (I know, I'm shopping)

The Avon Lady
06-28-2005, 09:41 AM
SH3 has worked perfectly for me since I originally installed it. I played v1.2 from day one and only upgraded to 1.4 yesterday.

The only CTD I ever had in SH3 was yesterday after the upgrade and that was self-inflicted (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/2881085392/m/7111011433).

StkNRdr
06-28-2005, 10:57 AM
Currently running Real U-Boat 1.4. Prior to that was running 1.2 with a few mods. The only problem I have had all along is that whenever I am at the main menu, in port or on pause and leave the system alone for more than say, 1 minute, without a keystroke or changing screens, it freezes up. Once in a mission it only freezes sometimes when watching a target go down with the enhanced smoke mod. I think it may be an ATI setting. Haven't heard of this issue on the boards, mainly just people with CTD.

I consider this a minor inconvenience. The game is great and getter better all the time. Save often is my motto.

P4 2.8
XP Home
128K ATI 9800 Pro
2GB RAM

ILikePortillos
06-28-2005, 11:03 AM
You might want to check what other programs you have running in the background. I know I had a problem with Dell's security software trying to download updates when I was in the middle of something. Generally, it's best to disable those self updating programs before you sail.

If you already knew this, then I apologize. Merely meant to help. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

plenten
06-28-2005, 12:18 PM
Well, a bug here and there... Only crash to desktop was after reinstall and patch 1.4b. Needed a reboot apperently.

P4 - 3,4GHZ
XP Home
ATI Radeon X800 Pro AGP - 256MB
1GB RAM

LordBane2005B
06-28-2005, 02:47 PM
I don't realy have any major issues. One minor bug with the flotilla transfer screen and a CTD with the crew management screen, but other than that I'm running happily with 1.4b

Win XP Home
AMD Athlon64 3200+
2Gb DDR ram
Nvidia Geforce 6800Ultra
Asus A8V Deluxe motherboard
Onboard sound (Yea I know it's not the best, but my Creative Soundblaster Audigy2 had rice crispie issues with the sound in this game that I was unable to resolve no matter what I tried.)

joepie95
06-29-2005, 09:05 AM
I've got no problems so far. no CTD'd. no problems updating. I skipped 1.3, now at 1.4b.

vois2
06-29-2005, 12:10 PM
P4 3.0GHz (630 series, w/HyperTh)
1.0gb RAM
ATI Radeon x300 SE (PCI-E connectivity)

I've never had a crash-to-desktop (CTD). Nor have I had any problems installing. I steered clear of patch 1.3 altogether. But my conclusion after reading thousands of posts here and at SubSim during the last 4 months has led me to believe that almost ALL of the issues or problems people experience is due to the state of their machine, i.e., driver conflicts, hardware specs, etc.

One exception: The StarForce problem does seem to screw up some people's media drives. I was fortunate to have purchased the download version of SH3, which does not include StarForce at all.

rabu2u
06-29-2005, 02:07 PM
Is that right? Maybe that's the solution to people having trouble with their Disks... have them send their disk to UBI in exchange for a dl version. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Fish40
06-29-2005, 03:37 PM
My system: Dell Dimension8250, p4-3.06gh, ATI9800pro graphics, Audigy2ZS Gamer sound card, 1gh,1066rdram. Like I said in my post on page 1, no probs. One thing to all those haveing problems: Befor trashing the game, or Ubisoft, please be sure you have the latest(or the ones that are recomended) drivers. This includes: Graphics, Sound, Chipset, and also the latest MB Bios version. In addition, always perform the routien maintainence on your machine: Disc Cleanup, Scan Disc, and Defrag. These steps should help running this, and other games as well!

Hiriyu
06-29-2005, 11:04 PM
I'm also one of the lucky ones with no issues (apart from minor 'known issues' like sonarman performance etc). Patched consecutively up to 1.4b without a problem.

P4 3.4C
Abit IC7-G MaxII
1024MB OCZ EL Gold DDR500
ATI X800XT
SB PCI128
Asus DVD E616P + Mitsumi CDRW CR-487ETE
Seagate Barracuda 80GB + WD Caviar 40GB
Apex ALB500E 500W PSU