PDA

View Full Version : my SC:CT "does nothing"



attxxx01
08-17-2006, 05:05 AM
Hi all guys! i have a very big problem. I've already played this game before, but a week ago, i wanted to play again. I installed, patched up to 1.05, and started playing, it was perfect. After about a day, i couldn't start it anymore. I clicked on its icon, but nothing.
I said OK, i gave a full format for my hdd, and reinstalled win xp sp2. I put on the game, and it worked perfectly again till yesterday, when i tried to start, and got the same problem. What is this? It worked perfectly on my older PC, however it was too slow.

My config is: asus a8n-e motherboard, amd athlon 64 3700+, 1024MB DDR GEIL, Gainward Geforce 7600GT.

attxxx01
08-17-2006, 05:05 AM
Hi all guys! i have a very big problem. I've already played this game before, but a week ago, i wanted to play again. I installed, patched up to 1.05, and started playing, it was perfect. After about a day, i couldn't start it anymore. I clicked on its icon, but nothing.
I said OK, i gave a full format for my hdd, and reinstalled win xp sp2. I put on the game, and it worked perfectly again till yesterday, when i tried to start, and got the same problem. What is this? It worked perfectly on my older PC, however it was too slow.

My config is: asus a8n-e motherboard, amd athlon 64 3700+, 1024MB DDR GEIL, Gainward Geforce 7600GT.

Warrior0fLight
08-17-2006, 07:05 PM
You're probably getting "auto patched" by MS, and one of them seems to cripple CT, KB917422 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=66150)

Read this thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/954105331/m/1441074274) for more info. OR follow this link (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3651075192/m/3991097174?r=3621016274#3621016274) for more detailed information and problems with permanently disabling it.