PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Video cards?



Lunachicky
01-23-2004, 12:40 PM
So, my job just gave me a laptop (woo hoo!) and I am looking into purchasing a video card that can run Uru. Does anybody know
<UL TYPE=SQUARE><LI>1. Is Uru playable on a laptop, and
<LI>2. What video cards will work [/list]

Lunachicky
01-23-2004, 12:40 PM
So, my job just gave me a laptop (woo hoo!) and I am looking into purchasing a video card that can run Uru. Does anybody know
<UL TYPE=SQUARE><LI>1. Is Uru playable on a laptop, and
<LI>2. What video cards will work [/list]

xtruckers10
01-23-2004, 01:08 PM
yes you can play on a laptop, and a card with a min 64 meg of ram will work, ati or gforce cards are good . i recommend the gforce card 128 meg.. good luck

xtruckers10
KI# 00850124

frenyo
01-23-2004, 01:25 PM
But check it at first... in most laptops the videocards cannot be changed... so buy a laptop with the appropriate video chipset,

-----------------
Norfren in game
Guild of Greeters

kpgdenver
01-23-2004, 06:02 PM
I'm running it on a laptop with an ATI Mobility Radeon with 16mb. My settings are 32 bit, 1024x... and everthing else at lowest settings. It works, but if I could do it again, I would go for a much better video card.

________________________
: Kahlu :: KI#00645864 :
...to see with eyes unclouded by hate...

Te Ana
01-24-2004, 01:37 AM
I am running Uru on a Fujitsu laptop with a 32mb Radeon that steals an additional 32 from regular RAM as needed. It has more lag than my desktop but it does run reasonably well.

"All things are connected. What befalls the earth, befalls the children of the earth."
-Chief Joseph

Te'ana, GoG, Sun 4-6 pm cst
Atrus KI# 56741 Katran KI# 186959
Dell Dimension 4100, PIII 930MHz, 20GB HD, 512 MB RAM, 128 MB nVidia Geforce FX 5200, Sound Blaster Live Value, Logitech Mouseman wheelmouse, Win XP Pro Ser Pk 1, latest drivers for all hardware, Cable with WiFi, Norton Anitvirus, and lots of lag!

maztec
01-24-2004, 04:16 AM
Yah, make sure the laptop has a Radeon or GeForce chipset.. and frenyo nailed it on the head about buying a laptop with teh appropriate chipset.

Also, you will want to update to the latest drivers and get the latest version of DirectX on the laptop.

---
Have you had your D'LA today? (http://www.dniactivities.org/)
Katran KI#: 2831843
Atrus KI#: 4941719

ayatchi
01-24-2004, 04:26 AM
HI, i've just posted a message called "dark screen". any idea why it wouldnt run on my PC ?
cheers.
Aya

Heimdall_G
01-24-2004, 11:38 PM
ayatchi,

See the 'DARK SCREEN' topic for the answer.

In Live as -- Heimdall
KI 89512
For the latest info, go here (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=frm&s=400102&f=7441034)