PDA

View Full Version : Multiplayer - Ready/OK Problem



JG26_EZ
03-27-2005, 07:39 AM
Salute Ladies and Gents

I have seen alot of people with problems trying to join multiplayer games.

We have tested it with different versions of the game and still get the same problem, then... sometimes we don't.

Problem is...
People get into the game.. choose their sub and crew, then can't click "Ready" because the ready button does not exist! Instead, there is just an "OK" button which they can highlight, but cannot click.

Only the host should have an "OK" button.. but there are loads of people, that HAVE patched their game btw but still cannot join in the fun.

S.O.S. please!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Thanks in advance
EZ

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v315/JG26_EZ/KazEZZZ.jpg

SS.DJSatane
03-27-2005, 08:35 AM
I am not sure why this problem wasnt addressed already this past week. This is a critical problem and its really sad because multiplayer works great but people can't ready up due to some UBI lobby bug related to SH3. There should of been patch released just to fix this, its that serious, I don't understand how can publisher/developers not see how badly this needs quick fixing.

JG26_EZ
03-27-2005, 09:09 AM
Please people.. if you experience this problem, post here so that everyone knows just how serious it is.. maybe help will come sooner? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

KG26_Wulf
03-27-2005, 09:11 AM
Same prob here man.

taz3d
03-27-2005, 09:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SS.DJSatane:
I am not sure why this problem wasnt addressed already this past week. This is a critical problem and its really sad because multiplayer works great but people can't ready up due to some UBI lobby bug related to SH3. There should of been patch released just to fix this, its that serious, I don't understand how can publisher/developers not see how badly this needs quick fixing. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

i agree with this one.
It needs a fix and fast !!

El_OSO
03-27-2005, 11:26 AM
I've only hosted so I haven't experienced this problem but there are several other issues that I'm not clear on regarding multi-player.

I'm running the US DVD version 1.1

1. As far as I can tell there are only 3 small paragraphs regarding Multiplayer on page 11 in the manual. It basically states that MP is supported for LAN and on Ubi.com and that either scripted or generated missions can be played. There is not anything regarding parameters or what ports the game uses to connect to the internet as far as I can tell. WTF???

2. It is a real drag to have to exit to the main menu and log back onto Ubi to start the next session. In my experience in other games the host could end a session at anytime and return back to a lobby room to set the parameters for the next session. Did the dev's think that people playing would only be up for one game?

It gets even worse if the host is KIA and selects Observer mode (The host should do this out of respect for clients still in the hunt rather than choosing Exit Patrol). At that point the ESC key to end the mission when there isn't any hope of the other players catching the enemy is greyed out.

I have to use alt+F4 to force quit the game. Why??? This kills at least 10 minutes to restart the game and get everyone back into the lobby.

Now if I have overlooked something and someone can tell me the answer to how to end a game without going back to the main menu or forcing the application to quit please tell me.

3. The game continues on even after all players are dead. Shouldn't it end automatically?

4. The crew/sub selection options appear to be broken. They're always set to true regardless of what the host inputs prior to server launch. I was just testing a MP mission I'm working on (it uses a specific sub model) and set up a LAN game to test this out. I was able to change my sub and crew level even though I had those options set to NO.

The unlimited torpedo option seems to work ok. I leave that off and haven't seen any more reappear.

4. I like the ranomization options for setting up a generated game, however, it seems like the time of day, sea conditions, Air cover, and weather parameters were forgotten.

If the devs could implement the extra ranomization features and fix all of these MP problems a server could run indefinitely with the possiblility for a different mission each time.

Bladerunner2k5
03-27-2005, 11:45 AM
Yes, I to have this problem. so far i have not played a single mplayer game cos of it - come on ubisoft - pull your finger out!!! great game apart from this MAJOR problem. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

fenian_ram
03-27-2005, 01:14 PM
I've noticed alot of the same problems El_OSO has.

I find the most annoying of them (besides the Ready button issue which is ridiculous) is the server ending when the host quits.

Surely this could be changed somehow by the developers? It's a pain to both the player who's patrol is ended prematurely by a host who dies and quits, and for the host who dies early and has to wait for at least an hour before he can play again. It's not fair on either.

I really feel the multiplayer element to this game was rushed for release. I started a thread about the featureless observation mode which I feel only further proves this.

Master_OG
03-27-2005, 02:17 PM
Same Problem here... Just increasing the message count http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Aire-
03-27-2005, 03:07 PM
Same problem here..... This is very disappointing. How this bug ever got through testing is beyond me, it must have just been ignored. The multiplayer works great, apart from the host dropping problem described above, however it takes ages to get a game going because of this problem.

Another thing I€d like to see would be a general chat area so you can speak to people without being in a game.

Anyway, just fix the **** ready button bug! My screen cant take much more of all this alt tabbing.

larsthall
03-27-2005, 03:10 PM
Ready button ready? - U must be joking http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

JG26_EZ
03-27-2005, 03:40 PM
no.. it's not a joke.

Where you join a server and see a ready, some people see the word "ok" and cannot join.

keep it coming people

Slechtvalk
03-27-2005, 04:02 PM
Same problem, never seen a ready button.

VF-11 Vadger
03-27-2005, 05:03 PM
Fix this god **** problem already

TiGGs1959
03-27-2005, 06:01 PM
Not ONLY lack of "READY" button but what about the DIRECT IP COnnect, or lack there of. I canna believe this option is not avail as well.

WTF

TiGGer

CNR_Ozzy
03-28-2005, 03:14 AM
We had the same problem yesterday.
The solution for us is:
when you join and see connecting hit alt+tab
and then go back not with alt+tab but hit the SH3 button below.
When its not working keep trying a few times.

greetings Ozzy

frog7
03-28-2005, 04:06 AM
Yep Same ya....i posted this a long time ago but im happy that you started this Topic...i cant play my ok button wont budge....thats why theres not that many on line coz of this problem..i to hope they fix it..i wont to be able to go on line with others http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

GoDiZh
03-28-2005, 07:53 AM
Dammit ubi i have tried for a hour now.. Either I'll get an ok button instead of a ready, or the server ended the game. The game even crached a cupple of times when using the black woodoo (alt+tab while connecting). The multiplayer game is unplayable a far as I am concerned. This is not good pleace fix it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif. Is there a place where i can see when a patch i comming. Just so I know when to start SH3 again :/

PS. Where do i kill the bloody sound on the homepage..

Snortb
03-28-2005, 08:19 AM
Same problem here, cant play online, http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

CNR_Ozzy
03-28-2005, 09:57 AM
Keep trying, sometimes need it 10 times but hell, i can play then.

SS.DJSatane
03-28-2005, 10:03 AM
I think while a patch is needed to address possibly number of other issues and that may take extra time to test, a quick fix patch to fix the multiplayer /ready/ok issue needs to be released asap.

kapt.shifty
03-28-2005, 10:06 AM
Yep. thought i was doing something wrong, lol as it was my first time trying.

hope it gets fixed soon

SaxonThegn
03-28-2005, 10:56 AM
Same here...

JG26_EZ
03-28-2005, 04:11 PM
We have tried to go back to the login section, (the screen just after selecting multi-player in SHIII) and then loging in again to the ubi lobby and it works sometimes.. but not always.
It's rather hit and miss really and STILL needs addressing.

We still need those with the same problem to post here.

A squeeky wheel gets the oil.

PaleFaceIndy
03-28-2005, 04:22 PM
Same deal no Ready button. When I asked those that had the Ready in the Green on the servers. They told me + another asking to leave! Wow, I guess I expected a some help. Wrong

TinPins
03-28-2005, 07:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PaleFaceIndy:
Same deal no Ready button. When I asked those that had the Ready in the Green on the servers. They told me + another asking to leave! Wow, I guess I expected a some help. Wrong <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lol. Yeah online multiplayer gaming just seems to bring out the best in some people dunnit? Where they can behave like tossers and ******s from behind the safety of a monitor, where their betters cannot do the species a favour and throttle em.

I particularly enjoy those moments when ure using voice comms in an online game and players with names like 'The Butcher', 'Killerdoodz' and 'NoobNemesis', report in with their squeaky, balls yet to drop ten year old voices.

Public servers. Exsquisite. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I expect this bug will be fixed in the next patch and not before. When that will be is anyones guess.

Mattly
03-29-2005, 03:04 AM
I am in New Zealand and everyone i know who bought this game is having the same problem!!!!
EVERYONE FFS
So fix it UBi Com you @##$$%%W#$%

Grimorix
03-29-2005, 05:31 AM
TO GET THE READY BUTTON:

immediatly click after the JOIN GAME button..

2x ALT-TAB

then you will see the READY BUTTON...

this is no joke... and this is the only work around.. if you do not believe just ask the guys in game..

ALSO to CHAT while playing NUMLOCK is your key

and do not shift f11 as it will freeze up your game...


wanna create a game behind a router:
open up: tcp 18000 udp 17997-18001

Miki40
03-29-2005, 07:15 AM
Urgent fix needed! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

Maniak82_05
03-29-2005, 08:27 AM
I have the same problem, but the alt-tab method work well...

JG26_EZ
03-29-2005, 05:28 PM
Quote from above...

TO GET THE READY BUTTON:

immediatly click after the JOIN GAME button..

2x ALT-TAB

then you will see the READY BUTTON...

this is no joke... and this is the only work around.. if you do not believe just ask the guys in game..

ALSO to CHAT while playing NUMLOCK is your key

and do not shift f11 as it will freeze up your game...


wanna create a game behind a router:
open up: tcp 18000 udp 17997-18001

I have heard of some doing the Alt+Tab and it working, I hope this works for everybody.. but if it doesn't work for you, post here again so we know if it works or not for everyone.



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v315/JG26_EZ/KazEZZZ.jpg

Mattly
03-29-2005, 06:58 PM
nope that isn't working either. When we lanned it in the weekend it was rock solid, so it's a UBI.com problem

FWEF-Cull
03-29-2005, 11:55 PM
Yep...same problem here too also tried the Alt+Tab thing and it still doesn't work. If it is a UBI server fault, they'd better get it sorted soon cause a lot of ppl based their purchase, of this game, on being able to play it multiplayer.

Grimorix
03-30-2005, 03:50 AM
the alt-tab 2x works..

but you do it immediatly after you pressed the join button... do not hesitate for a second http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

also try it a few times if the first time fails...

if you still cannot get into a game then you just a lousy alt-tab clicker and your only option is to bombard ubi with all the FIX the MULTIPLAY E-mails http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

hmmm then again your last resort is to host a game... as the host is the only one with a working OK button from the get go.. before you can start a game you have to kick players who have not readied there U-Boot.

HzSN
03-30-2005, 04:59 AM
Same problem in ubi, in a 3 player's match

One of us didn't see READY button.

We used this method:

All us get out from room (except host) and then first went back in multiplayer room the guy who had the problem.

It worked well, without log out from ubi.

We have not testet the 2x alt-tab method.

RuKo3031973
03-30-2005, 07:55 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif Come on UBI, every friend of my has buy'ed the game and still there is no patch, only a patch1.1 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif?

Don't disappoint us, DO something about it!

The ALT+TAB suckz to go online..

Achtung_Englder
03-30-2005, 01:04 PM
pathetic - in all my years of gaming I have never heard of such a ridiculous method to make MP work

To think that this was not even addressed in 1.1 but we still have to wait for 1.2 for it to get fixed

Shame as MP for this game looks like great fun

SS.DJSatane
03-30-2005, 01:30 PM
I am quite stunned at lack of quick fix for this issue specifically, clock is ticking.

JG26_EZ
04-02-2005, 08:28 AM
After continuous tries I have come to the conclusion that...

The Alt+Tab thing doesn't seem to work any better than just going back to main menu of SH3 and getting back onto multi-player lobby from there...

Over and over and over and over....


This is a UBI problem and not a SH3 problem..
GIVE US A REAL LOBBY!!!

SS.DJSatane
04-02-2005, 09:04 AM
****.

AV8R
04-02-2005, 11:10 AM
Hi JG26 (ARISTO, my ole WW2F buddy)

What seems to be a common denominator in getting the READY button to show up for clients, is the screen needs to be refreshed.
The ALT-TAB or WindowsButton or backing up methods really seem to just update the GUI.

On one of my systems running SH3, (a 3.0Ghz P4-HT uP, 512mb ram, x300 ATI), it doesnt like being ALT-TABed, so I use the back up method.

This is a serious bug, and needs to be addressed more than eyecandy bugs, IMHO.

AV8R
aka WULFPAK, WPL

Knight7_392
04-02-2005, 12:28 PM
Same problem, no ready buttong, this is a bloody insult. You pay them the money and yet they cannot be assed to sort the issue out. If there is a problem, you should have sorted it within days of releasing it. What is your problem ? Get the patch out or you can compensate me for wasting my time !

madmax111-111
04-02-2005, 07:12 PM
Everyone has this problem and they need to do an emergency patch.

This helps:
click JOIN, then press ALT+TAB fast, then click
your game in the task bar

You may need to try this 1-20 times to get a READY button.

HW3
04-02-2005, 07:43 PM
Same problem here. Must be a UBI lobby problem and since they didn't fix the IL2 lobby, don't look for them to fix the SHIII one either. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Marine7011
04-02-2005, 08:56 PM
this is a little ****ed ridiculous...isnt this what they hire frigging beta testers for? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif...and why no direct ip option?


Semper Fi

U52_Osis
04-02-2005, 09:01 PM
I've taken my shoe off and I'm pounding it on the desk.

Chanting: Direct IP, Direct IP, Direct IP.........

Marine7011
04-02-2005, 09:09 PM
i just want to be able to join a friggin game without having to alt tab about 6000 times and dancing on one foot with a tiki torch chanting to the gaming gods for this thing to work...

Semper Fi

Das_Boot_U96
04-03-2005, 11:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CNR_Ozzy:
We had the same problem yesterday.
The solution for us is:
when you join and see connecting hit alt+tab
and then go back not with alt+tab but hit the SH3 button below.
When its not working keep trying a few times.

greetings Ozzy <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This method, alt+tab only worked once for me and the game played great, 8 players in total.
Once the battle was finished, so was reconecting for me anyway, tried at least 2 dozen times to ready up again, no go.

I suppose thats why I only saw about 6 servers max., at any one time in the join server screen.

Multiplay, is just to flakey and unintersting until, its severe issues are repaired. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

JFF_Elmo
04-03-2005, 12:11 PM
FIX IT UBI ****ERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

w00ps
04-03-2005, 01:47 PM
Same problem as everyone else . Ready button is , or the lack there of , is really getting to be a pain .

LUV the online play .... but the odds of getting the ready button up seriously takes the fun out of the multiplayer game .

madmax111-111
04-04-2005, 06:25 PM
Why do I always get ******s on my server that
don't know this is a bug. They join, pick their
sub and crew and wait. Even after I yell "if you
don't see READY at the bottom, leave and rejoin til you do" and the ALT+TAB thing.

Then they type:
-are you running 1.1
-huh?
-i left and joined once, still not working for me
-huh?

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
(((ANGER)))

And it takes 20 minutes to get 8 people to figure this out.

Anupama
04-04-2005, 06:43 PM
what frickin mess of a game. Give me a call if this ever gonna be fixed, cuz its not realy worth bothering playing as it is now.

GoatseLives
04-04-2005, 06:57 PM
I'm pretty patient when it comes to patches but to let this problem go on this long now is inexcusable. They should've cooked up a quick fix for it ASAP but I guess they have other priorities.

PACACE
03-16-2006, 12:21 PM
I am knew and don't know the procedure. Is there directions? Apparently the "ready" appears or is that slang for the ok "button"? Could my firewalls and security be the problem? Thanks PacAce