PDA

View Full Version : Just read the 5 "Cellmandates" for joining Co-op



hegemonsoldier
12-20-2005, 11:09 AM
1. Joining Co-op is like sex; you go in but then quickly come out.

2. It is broken. Utterly broken. (That is unless you forward your ports, which everyone can do since there are no complaints).

3. If you somehow manage to join a game, do not expect to play for more than a minute without crashing. Two minutes tops.

4. ***too sensitive to put here***

5. Adhere to the rules above, as they cannot be fixed even with a patch from the great UBI.

hegemonsoldier
12-20-2005, 11:09 AM
1. Joining Co-op is like sex; you go in but then quickly come out.

2. It is broken. Utterly broken. (That is unless you forward your ports, which everyone can do since there are no complaints).

3. If you somehow manage to join a game, do not expect to play for more than a minute without crashing. Two minutes tops.

4. ***too sensitive to put here***

5. Adhere to the rules above, as they cannot be fixed even with a patch from the great UBI.

Toshi_
12-20-2005, 12:40 PM
Aaahhhh come on!! It's not THAT bad! I can play with most of my friends!! (don't want to play with some though http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif).

Jason-Alaska
12-20-2005, 01:12 PM
I read through a few of the co-op fix threads and they got me and two other friends up and running. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

hegemonsoldier
12-21-2005, 01:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jason-Alaska:
I read through a few of the co-op fix threads and they got me and two other friends up and running. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Could you give me the links to a "few" of the so-op fix threads? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Zedblade
12-21-2005, 03:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jason-Alaska:
I read through a few of the co-op fix threads and they got me and two other friends up and running. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Everytime a mod replies to a thread about COOP, its to say "OH IT WORKS FINE FOR ME AND MY FRIENDS." Well guess what, god for you, but for the 1000s of other people it doens't work worth ****. Stop comming in and trying to make people believe that COOP is a working gamemode when its not. Despite what ports you open, or what guidelines you follow. Its garbage. For me it works some times, others it doesn't. Just pull your head out of UBI's *** and admit COOP sucks.

hegemonsoldier
12-21-2005, 03:55 PM
Well, I spent about 45 minutes reasearching into the matter, and it turns out that it is impossible for me to open my ports internally.

First, my modem is the "Efficient Speedstream 5100," which are all set up as 'bridges' and not 'routers.' This means that I cannot access the Web Management Interface (default: http//192.168.254.254 ) to access my ports. Calling the ISP does nothing, so far...

I have already disabled everything inside my comp that could possibly affect the connection (even the Windows Firewall)

This just sucks. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

D12AKO
12-22-2005, 09:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by hegemonsoldier:
Well, I spent about 45 minutes reasearching into the matter, and it turns out that it is impossible for me to open my ports internally.

First, my modem is the "Efficient Speedstream 5100," which are all set up as 'bridges' and not 'routers.' This means that I cannot access the Web Management Interface (default: http//192.168.254.254 ) to access my ports. Calling the ISP does nothing, so far...

I have already disabled everything inside my comp that could possibly affect the connection (even the Windows Firewall)

This just sucks. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Are you using a router other than your Modem? If YES, then I'll need the model of your router to help you. If NO, then your modem isn't bridged and you need to access the Web interface to setup your ports. Modems only go to bridge mode when being controlled by a router, otherwise they run there own NAT, Firewall, and DHCP. Let me know what your final verdict is and I'll try and help you accordingly.

In reply to Zedblade,
I'm not a Dev, Moderator, Fanboy ect... Most of the problems with COOP are user fault. COOP uses way more ports simultaneously than any other game I've ever hosted. Both parties have to be able to host for the game to work properly. On SvM the Host takes all the load on the game where as in COOP both parties share the load... It's just the way they coded it. Even with both parties setup properly on the ports side you'll still run into dropped game problems. This mostly occurs because too many players are desperate to join any game without even checking there ping to host. Hell many out there who try to play still don't understand how to read the Dots for ping reference. There's also the Low-end Computers trying to run COOP as if they were playing single player mode. You always have to tone down your settings for COOP even with the best system out there or the game will play choppy as hell. The game will run as fast as the slowest computer. Everyone on my squad who I've been able to walk through there settings can play COOP with ZERO problems. We can play through all the levels Back to back including several save and load points and never get a disconnect. I have a Thread up at the Help page which explains many ways to fix most problems even work arounds to old patch problems. With 1.05 patch all those old glitches and anomalies have been fixed. Make the time to read through it and if need be put your specs plus router or modem models numbers on this thread and I'll try to help as much as possible. You do need some sort of Computer knowledge so that I may help you or this will go nowhere really fast. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Spekkio9
12-22-2005, 11:33 PM
MDX, I respect that you are trying to help people out, but there are just a couple facts you and the moderators fail to acknowledge.

Ubi has made COOP a huge POS because:

1. As you pointed out, it takes up a s***load more ports than any other game. Therefore, setting up the ports for it is complicated for the average gamer.
1a. Even setting up the ports properly doesn't guaruntee successful connection.
1b. What kind of game forces someone to be able to host a server to be a client? Obviously this one, and there's a reason no one else has done it.
1c. There are numerous people who can host games without a problem yet still cannot connect to or host coop servers.

2. Dropped games aren't always a cause of bad ping. I've played coop with Dixxhead over in Italy, with LoChang in California, and Remmdog in Connecticut. I personally haven't had any disconnects from any of them. So the location and ping of the two computers isn't the issue with the random disconnects.

3. It's ridiculous that I have to play the game with dumbed-down graphics to get a playable framerate. People spend a lot of money for the hardware in their computers, and it's not so they can play a game at 640x480 resolution with all the special stuff turned off.
3a. Why don't you explain why Mr.Mic and various other computer users get framerates in the single-digits with dual 6800ultras, no matter what the graphics settings, and when he's connected to a computer with almost identical specs? The simple answer, once again, is s**** programming.

4. I cannot get voice chat to work in COOP no matter what, and I'm not the only one. I've set up the microphone the way the manual instructs me to about 5 times. Yes, that includes going into the configuration utility to set up the microphone, and yes I have the voice chat option enabled in CT. I just gave up and used Skype.

You guys (meaning you, Vth_F_Smith, and Jason-Alaska) all act like COOP is perfect, and that every problem is user-end only, when it's not. If it takes a freakin IT genious to change 5,000 modem settings (sly reference to a bug in SvM intended) to get the game to work, it's a s**** game, and that's the bottom line. And while Zedblade could've put it much more lightly and less angrily, I agree with his comment 100%.

Zedblade
12-23-2005, 12:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> And while Zedblade could've put it much more lightly and less angrily, I agree with his comment 100%. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

What?? That was lightly and not angrily . . . for me.

cheese_thief
12-23-2005, 01:47 AM
Coop is shoddy on LAN too, just to let you know.

Bl1nder39
12-23-2005, 04:48 AM
Coop works whenver it wants, Me in the uk Eclypse in Bulgaria, somethimes it starts with NO problems whatsoever, and other times simply doesnt wanna start, I hate it from the bottom of my heart