PDA

View Full Version : OK, it is about time...



StkNRdr
04-28-2007, 02:40 PM
I always used manual targeting in SH3.

I want to use it in SH4, but the chronometer still won't feed to the TDC.

I have had it with estimating the speed or trying to figure it with tables.

FIX THE THING!!!!!!!!!!!

How hard can it be???

With that one little fix, you have a very good game!! Without it, it is just taking up space on my HD.

StkNRdr
04-28-2007, 02:40 PM
I always used manual targeting in SH3.

I want to use it in SH4, but the chronometer still won't feed to the TDC.

I have had it with estimating the speed or trying to figure it with tables.

FIX THE THING!!!!!!!!!!!

How hard can it be???

With that one little fix, you have a very good game!! Without it, it is just taking up space on my HD.

gutterrat13
04-28-2007, 03:37 PM
I'm on 100% realism and have no problem getting the speed of ships. All I use is some graph paper, a protractor, a ruler and a calculator.

veovis39
04-28-2007, 04:23 PM
I usually estimate by the bow wake (100% realism) and I have a pretty good success rate hitting targets... it's probably better than 80% on first shots. It's those second shots when they're all weaving that I have trouble with.

I find that a clock that magically finds the speed is somewhat ridiculous anyhow. Not to say it's an excusable bug though, as it is an integral part of the TDC process explained in the manual.

StkNRdr
04-28-2007, 05:19 PM
I appreciate the posts.

I know there are gentlemen like yourselves that want to calculate everything and I tip my hat to you. I think that is great, really. The beauty of the game is you can do this regardless of what others do.

I take exception though to the magic clock comment. As you know it represents taking angle measurements between 2 bearing readings of the periscope at estimated distances and AoB and having probably the Exec calculate the speed. The process of firing torpedoes was not a one man show. It is still subject to error if other variables are not input correctly.

It still boils down to how hard can it possibly be to fix this?? We are 2 patches into the game and it still doesn't work.
__________________________

jlf1961
04-28-2007, 05:26 PM
I have discovered, much to my unsurprise, that using the auto-targeting mode DOES NOT Necessarily mean a hit. In fact, I am figuring there is a 30 to 40 percent chance of a miss altogether.

Now, if you figure that you have an experienced Exec, (who is actually only an exec until a boat opens, then it is transfer to his own command) he is doing all the math for you. All you are doing is getting the observations.

By the way, with the latest patch, THOSE JAPS ARE ZIG-ZAGGING, so before you shoot, you better have two good looks.

Now, from what I have read, you have the exec and the Chief of the Boat running calculations, when they both have the same answer, then it is time to shoot. Okay, so Auto Target does that, it still dont mean you gonna get a hit.

I have Flavored to Taste installed and I am running with only autotargeting and external view active, and have really gotten frustrated at not getting my previous tonnage scores.

At least now my batteries dont go flat after two hours underwater.

But....
Dagnabbit, I am running 3 knots slower than historic records to the patrol zone and ending up having to head back for resupply with a near full load of torpedos cause my fuel is critical.

Someone come up with a mod to allow for a fat sub tender to be sitting in a cove with more fuel between Hawaii and Japan, have her escorted by a Paulding class DD, but someone do something!
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/3a/USS_Perkins_[DD-26%29.jpg/250px-USS_Perkins_[DD-26%29.jpg
This is a Paulding class.

gutterrat13
04-28-2007, 05:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> Someone come up with a mod to allow for a fat sub tender to be sitting in a cove with more fuel between Hawaii and Japan, have her escorted by a Paulding class DD, but someone do something! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

When I was scaning the manual trying to learn something from nothing, it mentions that sub tenders are planned for a future patch. Whether or not we see this I have no idea.

Bextu
04-28-2007, 08:38 PM
In a nutshell yes it's 100% possible to figure out the speed of a ship by yourself BUT the chronometer is offered and should work with no excuses.

veovis39
04-28-2007, 10:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> In a nutshell yes it's 100% possible to figure out the speed of a ship by yourself BUT the chronometer is offered and should work with no excuses. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yep that's what it pretty much comes down to. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

Also... has anybody else noticed the hilarious irony of this thread's title?

StkNRdr
04-29-2007, 02:12 PM
OK, OK, I have a fix. I have to thank Hildofr for his Nomograph mod. By using this I have been able to determine speed with a few simple measurements. Thank you, thank you.

I was able to get 4 hits on a fast moving liner at 1300 yards on a moonless night. Yahoo!!

At least we have a game that can be modded and have dedicated individuals that create them. Thanks again.
___________________________

Haggis45
04-30-2007, 04:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by gutterrat13:
When I was scaning the manual trying to learn something from nothing, it mentions that sub tenders are planned for a future patch. Whether or not we see this I have no idea. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That is exactly what SH3 ALSO has in it's readme, it was promised *first patch* -did it arrive in ANY patch???? NOPE!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

US subs don't need milch cows, but German subs DID! -which is why it was stupid that you had to run out of fuel in SH3 and end your mission stuck out at sea -talk about priorities all wrong...

Take anything that is in the SH4 manual/readme (As listed projected/features) with a pinch of salt as to the chances of it appearing in a future patch.
That's why the dev's don't do themselves any favours with their attrocious PR work (read: ZILCH) They could have learnt from SH3 and built up a superb relationship, but instead they decide to go backwards with SH4 release....screwy or what http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif