PDA

View Full Version : Taxiing before take off



HenkyPenky
02-15-2006, 01:12 PM
Hi,

Just reinstalled Obelix's Flying Tigers campaing. Only I can no longer taxi to the runway before take off. Is this because of 4.02? Or does anybody has a solution for this? Thanks in advance.

Zeus-cat
02-15-2006, 08:43 PM
There really isn't a good way to do this. The "best" way is to add one of the test runways and assign the plane to it. Then you can taxi to the real runway. You would need to open each mission and add the runway and assign the plane to it.

HenkyPenky
02-15-2006, 11:23 PM
Thanks Zeus, I'll sure will try this.

269GA-Veltro
02-16-2006, 02:01 AM
What Zeus said, use test runway 3 & 4.

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/REGGIO4.jpg

HenkyPenky
02-16-2006, 11:51 AM
Wow, guy's thanks. But do I have to change the waypoints? Now they are normfly at 0.00 height and 0.00 speed.

BlitzPig_DDT
02-16-2006, 02:12 PM
Is it possible to taxi onto and off of the test runways?

I found an airbase I wanted to build up. It was a single strip and I wanted to add the steel grating over the strip to make it look more 'important'.

The home base was the strip itself, with the hopes being that I could taxi onto the TR3 and take off. It forced me into air start for some odd reason, and then when I landed, I was able to roll from one to the other with no problems, but when trying to taxi off the side, it killed me every time. Even with an angled approach and less than 10kph speed (less than 1kph actuall, just crawling, one wheel at a time). The wheel would get off, drop down and look fine, then for no apparent reason the plane would just be catapulted into the air.


Veltro - can you post a higher view of that strip? It looks awesome. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

269GA-Veltro
02-17-2006, 09:02 AM
Originally posted by HenkyPenky:
Wow, guy's thanks. But do I have to change the waypoints? Now they are normfly at 0.00 height and 0.00 speed.

No, absolutely no. You need only a plan aerea to cover with the TR3 (and TR4). After this simple set the WP0 asTake off and drag it where you want. Of course you have to stay far enough from a real airfield, or the WPO will be automatically move on it.

269GA-Veltro
02-17-2006, 09:05 AM
Originally posted by BlitzPig_DDT:
Is it possible to taxi onto and off of the test runways?

Veltro - can you post a higher view of that strip? It looks awesome. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

You can't do it...you need to cover all the area with the TR.

@BlitzPig_DDT, later i'll post the file as example. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

269GA-Veltro
02-17-2006, 11:34 AM
Ok, this one is an example for an online (only) coop mission....not completed, but enouhg as axample. All the C.205 are set for human pilots, but don't care about it.
To understand how to do this kinde of missions, you can change the test runway 4 in test runway 3 and viceversa.

It's a "border line" mission, at least for my PC..

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TESTR4.zip

You have two taxi aereas covered with the TR4, and of course the runway. The "Land" is not covered to save memory.

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TEST0.JPG

The first TAXI AEREA

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TEST3.JPG

..the second one:

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TEST1.jpg

What you can see:

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TEST2.jpg

evan_1971
02-17-2006, 10:14 PM
Veltro-How are you able to use trees of various height. I don't see these trees in the Objects list. Thanks for the .mis file

269GA-Veltro
02-18-2006, 04:14 AM
Originally posted by evan_1971:
Veltro-How are you able to use trees of various height. I don't see these trees in the Objects list. Thanks for the .mis file

Those trees are not available in the FMB, you have to chose an area with trees on the map... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

FlatSpinMan
02-18-2006, 07:12 AM
That looks really cool. It'd be fun to navigate through all that. Is this for a campaign or a co-op?

BlitzPig_DDT
02-18-2006, 05:36 PM
Veltro, I just saw this. Thanks! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/partyhat.gif

I just rebuilt my OS so I haven't had a chance to play with this yet, but it looks awesome. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

269GA-Veltro
02-19-2006, 01:05 PM
The trees are visible only in perfect.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

zoinks_
02-19-2006, 09:43 PM
i reply to this post as well. here's part of a mission with one test runway 4. do a 180 and you free to taxi.


[MAIN]
MAP Hawaii/load.ini
TIME 16.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player r0100
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
r0100
[r0100]
Planes 1
Skill 1
skin0 USMC_I-MB-1_VMB-1.bmp
numberOn0 0
Class air.SBD3
Fuel 100
weapons default
[r0100_Way]
TAKEOFF 265182.99 31368.87 0 0 3_Static 0 &0
NORMFLY 265126.75 30342.34 500.00 300.00 &0
NORMFLY 265864.01 30267.38 500.00 300.00 &0
LANDING 265923.93 30521.46 0 0 &0
[NStationary]
1_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$ZIS6_fuel 1 265318.14 31358.22 415.00 0.0
4_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265341.22 31393.56 380.00 0.0
5_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265265.55 31464.14 415.00 0.0
6_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265286.77 31494.29 415.00 0.0
7_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke3 0 265345.49 31390.64 415.00 0.00
8_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke6 0 265343.35 31392.16 415.00 0.00
9_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke10 0 265343.38 31392.30 415.00 0.74
10_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265318.56 31445.15 415.00 0.0
11_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265333.45 31427.96 354.10 0.0 us
12_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265336.10 31443.25 490.00 0.0 us
13_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265342.61 31409.73 384.10 0.0 us
18_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$SBD3 1 265136.96 31356.85 419.10 0.0 us
20_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265359.36 31372.46 534.10 0.0 us
21_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$SBD3 1 265124.24 31382.49 354.10 0.0 us
2_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265345.90 31391.68 620.00 0.0
33_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A_B339 1 265312.13 31534.77 534.10 0.0 us
32_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265289.73 31369.54 264.10 0.0 us
35_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265213.07 31421.23 534.10 0.0 us
36_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265235.16 31437.72 534.10 0.0 us
37_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265305.94 31478.13 294.10 0.0 us
38_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265264.12 31439.50 534.10 0.0 us
14_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A_B339 1 265311.21 31549.39 534.10 0.0 us
15_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265253.26 31366.42 264.10 0.0 us
16_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265182.41 31361.01 264.10 0.0 us
17_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265285.57 31393.10 264.10 0.0 us
22_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265250.05 31391.29 264.10 0.0 us
34_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265282.32 31419.60 264.10 0.0 us
39_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265248.79 31414.73 264.10 0.0 us
40_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265348.63 31404.32 620.00 0.0
41_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke3 0 265373.36 31431.06 415.00 0.00
3_Static ships.Ship$RwyTransp 1 265666.95 30790.50 420.00 0.0 0 2 1.0
[Buildings]
0_bld House$AirdromeBarrelBlock1 1 265349.69 31389.38 715.00
1_bld House$AirdromeBarrelBlock2 1 265352.08 31397.10 715.00
[Bridge]
[House]

evan_1971
02-21-2006, 02:04 PM
Veltro - Thanks! trees set to perfect, ok I understand. Any chance you could post your config.ini file.

_cheers

269GA-Veltro
02-23-2006, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by evan_1971:
Veltro - Thanks! trees set to perfect, ok I understand. Any chance you could post your config.ini file.

_cheers

I'll post it, btw is a default config.ini. I've only add the 3dgunners=1.

Now i'm working on the italian flak, i thank Ferdinando D'Amico for this pic:

http://users.libero.it/f.damico/veltro/Ar.Co2.jpg

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/FLAK4.jpg

A typical italian "farm" used for the HQ:

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/HQ0.jpg

..and the my baby, the Ju-88 with the right skin for that time in Italy (really a great addition in the sim):

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/Ju88.jpg

269GA-Veltro
02-23-2006, 06:03 AM
Originally posted by evan_1971:
Veltro - Thanks! trees set to perfect, ok I understand. Any chance you could post your config.ini file.

_cheers

P4 3GH, 1GB DDR, GF 6800 256MB.

[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1024
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=1500
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=15
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=No Name
serverDescription=
remoteHost=
localHost=82.105.146.76
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.828125,dy=0.071614586,x=0.0,y=0.0)
adr0=ALL
msg2=69ga\u0020all\u0020comunists\u0020traitors
adr1=MY_ARMY
msg1=190\u0020in\u0020caccia
msg3=300kg

[game]
3dgunners=1
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.6689453
mapPadY=-0.046875
viewSet=33
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0

[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=0
LOGTIME=0
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=0
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=8
ObjectVolume=9
MusState.takeoff=1
MusState.inflight=1
MusState.crash=1
MusFlags.play=0
MasterVolume=12
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=2
NumChannels=2
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=12
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=9
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=8
MicLevel=8
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=1
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=4

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=3
Water=1
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

evan_1971
02-23-2006, 02:24 PM
Veltro-Thanks!I know maps are sacred. However, i'd like to know what the location of this mission is on the corresponding map. I'd like to create a mission/campaign using simular tree placement.\

thanks agian for the config file.

_Cheers

269GA-Veltro
02-24-2006, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by evan_1971:
Veltro-Thanks!I know maps are sacred. However, i'd like to know what the location of this mission is on the corresponding map. I'd like to create a mission/campaign using simular tree placement.\

thanks agian for the config file.

_Cheers

Save it in the coop mission, and of course open it with the FMB. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif The airfield is in the top right corner of the Balaton map.

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/TEST.zip

269GA-Veltro
02-24-2006, 07:43 AM
The same airport, but this time with the Ju-88 ready to take off heading to an USAAF airfields.

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/NJ0.jpg

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/NJ1.jpg

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/NJ2.jpg

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/NJ3.jpg

Is there a way to remove the lights? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif Night fighters with the lights..... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

http://ourworld.cs.com/veltrof2/ANR/NJ4.jpg

vocatx
03-06-2006, 08:30 AM
I may be wrong, but I don't think you can turn the nav lights off. The AI will, however, turn them off when engaged in combat. After disengaging they turn the lights back on. There ought to be some way to control the lights...

hshmulik
03-08-2006, 05:09 AM
Originally posted by zoinks_:
i reply to this post as well. here's part of a mission with one test runway 4. do a 180 and you free to taxi.


[MAIN]
MAP Hawaii/load.ini
TIME 16.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player r0100
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
r0100
[r0100]
Planes 1
Skill 1
skin0 USMC_I-MB-1_VMB-1.bmp
numberOn0 0
Class air.SBD3
Fuel 100
weapons default
[r0100_Way]
TAKEOFF 265182.99 31368.87 0 0 3_Static 0 &0
NORMFLY 265126.75 30342.34 500.00 300.00 &0
NORMFLY 265864.01 30267.38 500.00 300.00 &0
LANDING 265923.93 30521.46 0 0 &0
[NStationary]
1_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$ZIS6_fuel 1 265318.14 31358.22 415.00 0.0
4_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265341.22 31393.56 380.00 0.0
5_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265265.55 31464.14 415.00 0.0
6_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265286.77 31494.29 415.00 0.0
7_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke3 0 265345.49 31390.64 415.00 0.00
8_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke6 0 265343.35 31392.16 415.00 0.00
9_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke10 0 265343.38 31392.30 415.00 0.74
10_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$DiamondT_US 1 265318.56 31445.15 415.00 0.0
11_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265333.45 31427.96 354.10 0.0 us
12_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265336.10 31443.25 490.00 0.0 us
13_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265342.61 31409.73 384.10 0.0 us
18_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$SBD3 1 265136.96 31356.85 419.10 0.0 us
20_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A2 1 265359.36 31372.46 534.10 0.0 us
21_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$SBD3 1 265124.24 31382.49 354.10 0.0 us
2_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265345.90 31391.68 620.00 0.0
33_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A_B339 1 265312.13 31534.77 534.10 0.0 us
32_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265289.73 31369.54 264.10 0.0 us
35_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265213.07 31421.23 534.10 0.0 us
36_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265235.16 31437.72 534.10 0.0 us
37_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265305.94 31478.13 294.10 0.0 us
38_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265264.12 31439.50 534.10 0.0 us
14_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$F2A_B339 1 265311.21 31549.39 534.10 0.0 us
15_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265253.26 31366.42 264.10 0.0 us
16_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265182.41 31361.01 264.10 0.0 us
17_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265285.57 31393.10 264.10 0.0 us
22_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265250.05 31391.29 264.10 0.0 us
34_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265282.32 31419.60 264.10 0.0 us
39_Static vehicles.planes.Plane$C_47 1 265248.79 31414.73 264.10 0.0 us
40_Static vehicles.stationary.Stationary$Chevrolet_flatbed_U S 1 265348.63 31404.32 620.00 0.0
41_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke3 0 265373.36 31431.06 415.00 0.00
3_Static ships.Ship$RwyTransp 1 265666.95 30790.50 420.00 0.0 0 2 1.0
[Buildings]
0_bld House$AirdromeBarrelBlock1 1 265349.69 31389.38 715.00
1_bld House$AirdromeBarrelBlock2 1 265352.08 31397.10 715.00
[Bridge]
[House]

zoinks_,

This one works best http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif . It is both near a concrete airfield and also places you in the hangar area. I tested it both by taking your sample and reducing it step by step until I only had myself and the runway and no other objects, and by generating the entire scenario from scratch by using the same map and airfield.

However, if I try to do something similar on another map (the one with Saipan Island - forgot the map's name), it fails and I repeatedly snap back to the main runway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif - Still need to invetigate.

Any ideas are most welcome.

Steps to reproduce in FMB:
1. Select map, airfield, etc. etc.
2. Add Test Runway 4 from Stationary Ships menu and place it far away enough from the main runways.
3. Select and add your a/c (make sure you make it human not AI).
4. Set first waypoint as NORMFLY.
5. Move that waypoint to be near the test runway.
6. Change the waypopint to TAKEOFF - it will snap to one of the edges of the test runway.
7. Move the takeoff waypoint and place it somewhere around the parking areas of the main airfield.
8. While still on the aircraft's waypoint menu, click target set button, move the green marker and place it in the middle of the test runway.

That's it. You're ready to taxi and takeoff http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

There are a few points to note though:
1. It absolutely MUST be done with Test Runway 4. You can't use 1, 2 or 3 or otherwise you're snapped to the middle of the test
runway instead of where you dragged the takeoff point.
2. You absolutely MUST set a target on the test runway. This will determine the direction your a/c is pointing. Also, if you fail to do so,
you're snapped back to the main air field's runway - can't figure out why.
3. If the ground around the airfield isn't perfectly flat, you'll some pretty weird stuff happening http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif .
4. There's no real need for additional waypoints - they won't change the direction of your a/c no matter what. Use them only if they
match the mission's goal.
5. On mission load, you won't be in the exact location you selected by dragging the takeoff waypoint but rather a little bit to the right
(east) - can't figure this one out either.


Regards,
Shmulik.

zoinks_
03-08-2006, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by hshmulik:

5. On mission load, you won't be in the exact location you selected by dragging the takeoff waypoint but rather a little bit to the right
(east) - can't figure this one out either.


test runways are stationary ships. same start position as if on a carrier.

hshmulik
03-09-2006, 02:47 AM
Thanks Zoinks_.

Just curious, why is it different between Test Runway 3 and Test Runway 4?
If I use #3, I'm always snapped to the middle of it (you can see the steel grate below you), and if I use #4 I'm not snapped at all - I'm on the parking area of the main airfield, only slightly to the right (east) of where I want to be. At either time, none of the test runways edges are touching the main airfield areas - they are farther away.


Thanks,
Shmulik.

zoinks_
03-09-2006, 10:56 AM
still new at this. i think if you are within 1km of a main airfield, the sim will try to put on that airstrip. there seems to be some exceptions on certain maps in certain places.

hshmulik
03-10-2006, 01:51 AM
zoinks_

Can you confirm that you actually took off in this sample mission you detailed above?

I may have jumpped the gun too early saying that this works, since I never really tried to get on the main runway during my tests, just did a very little bit of taxiing to see the effect.

Turns out that if I taxi more than, lets say 50 feet or so, I'm suddenly hurled into the air for no apparent reason and crash immediately (broken undercarriage, bent propeller, etc.). Doesn't matter in which direction I'm travelling - I tried 180 degrees as you suggested and 90 to the right.

It seems that those test runways may also contain other, invisible, objects on top of them that I collide into. Or maybe on the other hand there is some sort of elevation difference between the test rumway and the parking area (just a few inches it looks), that can cause this effect.

I think the second option is the more reasonable one, because if I start the mission and switch to external view, when I release the chocks I see the effect of the a/c suddenly dropping to the ground, and I can hear the tires screeching.


Regards,
Shmulik.

zoinks_
03-10-2006, 05:13 AM
the trick is to get off of test runway4 onto the real airstrip. you can not go over the side only the ends. that is why i do a 180 degree turn to get off the shortest end. otherwise you must taxi the entire length. i placed the objects to give a rough path so i stay away from the edges. also the faster you taxi, the smoother the drop off the runway.

test runway 3 and 4 are the same height. look at the height difference between 2 and 3. go off the ends and never ask me about the crazy fm going over the sides...just pretend it was mario brothers or sonic.

msalama
03-10-2006, 06:43 AM
Try this:

-------BEGIN MISSION FILE-------

[MAIN]
MAP Normandy/load2.ini
TIME 12.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player gb0100
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
gb0100
[gb0100]
Planes 1
Skill 1
Class air.HurricaneMkIIb
Fuel 100
weapons default
[gb0100_Way]
TAKEOFF 118049.71 86359.97 0 0 &0
NORMFLY 118049.78 86300.15 500.00 300.00 &0
[NStationary]
[Buildings]
[Bridge]
[House]

-------END MISSION FILE-------

You'll start on a small sand field facing south. There's a depot / factory area on your left, and a road in front of you. Taxi to that road and then turn right and take that road to the runway.

There're a couple of bumps and potholes along the way, but nothing major if you keep your groundspeed in check.

hshmulik
03-10-2006, 08:28 AM
Nice trick msalama,

I just hope I won't hit the crossing traffic during rush hour there http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


Shmulik.

hshmulik
03-10-2006, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by zoinks_:
the trick is to get off of test runway4 onto the real airstrip. you can not go over the side only the ends. that is why i do a 180 degree turn to get off the shortest end. otherwise you must taxi the entire length.

Oh, right. I could actually see where the edges of the runway were this time - there are tiny little white corners painted on the ground. Exactly where I blew up (again http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif).


i placed the objects to give a rough path so i stay away from the edges.

Clever...


also the faster you taxi, the smoother the drop off the runway.

How fast is fast enough? I didn't want to take off from the parking area, just taxi http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif I figured about 10mph would be enough, but no...


...just pretend it was mario brothers or sonic.
LOL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif


Regards,
Shmulik.

269GA-Veltro
03-10-2006, 09:25 AM
Originally posted by vocatx:
I may be wrong, but I don't think you can turn the nav lights off. The AI will, however, turn them off when engaged in combat. After disengaging they turn the lights back on. There ought to be some way to control the lights...

No, you're right....is not possible turn off the lights. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif Night missions are ruined by this...

hshmulik
03-10-2006, 03:34 PM
OK. Some final thoughts and conclusions.

zoinks_ is right all the way. The only difference between TR3 and TR4 is the length. Looks like TR4 is the longest of all the test runways and hence the different resulting starting positions.

What happens is, you position the runway where you want, and adjust its direction, and it will put you about an 1/8 of the way between the edge of the runway and it center point.

I couldn't tell how long TR4 is, but if you put the middle on lets say latitude 81.0, one end would reach 81.8, the far end would reach 80.2, and you'll be between 81.6 and 81.7, and slightly off to one side of the center line.

Also, it doesn't really matter where you drag your takeoff point - just make sure you put the green target marker on the runway's center point.

Based on zoinks_ example, I've set up a much simpler scenario to demonstrate exactly where everything goes. My runway is set up in a north-south direction.

You'll see 2 railway semaphore poles (object 133) at the near end of the runway, just behind your a/c, and there will be one "type 4 light" exactly where your a/c will stand, and 2 more "type 4 light"s at the far end of the runway in the same direction your a/c is pointing. If you zoom in close enough in FMB, you'll be able to see little white corners painted on the ground - they're kind of hard to detect, especially on the white concrete slabs of the parking area.

Make a 180 and pass between the 2 poles at 35% power setting and you should be fine. Don't panic when you kind of bump down. Don't try to get off from the "sides", or the bump would be much more noticable http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif . Don't forget to release the chocks since in reality you're taking of from a "carrier".

[MAIN]
MAP Hawaii/load.ini
TIME 12.0
CloudType 0
CloudHeight 1000.0
player r0100
army 1
playerNum 0
[Wing]
r0100
[r0100]
Planes 1
Skill 1
Class air.HurricaneMkIIb
Fuel 100
weapons default
[r0100_Way]
TAKEOFF 265292.48 30703.78 0 0 3_Static 0 &0
[NStationary]
3_Static ships.Ship$RwyTransp 1 265199.91 30700.24 450.00 0.0 0 2 1.0
1_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke15 0 265216.07 29899.82 450.00 0.00
0_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke15 0 265183.58 29899.97 450.00 0.00
5_Static vehicles.stationary.Smoke$Smoke15 0 265209.65 31375.60 450.00 0.00
[Buildings]
0_bld House$RailSemafor 1 265216.41 31500.30 450.00
1_bld House$RailSemafor 1 265183.34 31500.39 450.00
[Bridge]
[House]


Regards,
Shmulik.