PDA

View Full Version : USA Resident using UK Collector's Edition DVD ?



MonnieRock
10-03-2008, 03:23 PM
Hello Everyone,

I live in Florida, USA and was shopping on Amazon when I saw the Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific Collector's Edition - Amazon Exclusive (PC DVD) (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000NG36V6/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top) Would I be able to use this on my computer without problems of region codes?

Are there any problems if I got this version doing patches,updates,mods, and the Silent Hunter 4 Add On: U-Boat Missions? Or should I just forget the Collector's Edition and get the Silent Hunter 4: Gold Edition?

Thank you,
Monnie

MonnieRock
10-03-2008, 03:23 PM
Hello Everyone,

I live in Florida, USA and was shopping on Amazon when I saw the Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific Collector's Edition - Amazon Exclusive (PC DVD) (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000NG36V6/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top) Would I be able to use this on my computer without problems of region codes?

Are there any problems if I got this version doing patches,updates,mods, and the Silent Hunter 4 Add On: U-Boat Missions? Or should I just forget the Collector's Edition and get the Silent Hunter 4: Gold Edition?

Thank you,
Monnie

RockinRobbins
10-06-2008, 04:47 AM
Several people have done just that when there was no physical disk available for SH4UBM in the US. They ordered from Europe and played the game without any problems. I didn't do that myself.

Raid 0 eh? That anti-backup system. Hope you have a good backup plan or no critical data on your computer. You're playing Russian roulette with all the chambers loaded there for a minuscule increase in speed. I switched from Raid 0 to no Raid and Acronis True Image 10 after some stupid motherboard driver tricks and an unsafe defragger trashed my system and sent me into a full day of rebuilding three times. Now I have a disk image on one drive that I can restore to the boot drive in a couple of hours where I am relaxing or sleeping instead of swearing and fuming at the computer. Raid without a backup system is cool, but it ain't good!
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa293/RockinRobbins13/smileys/sharky.gif

MonnieRock
10-10-2008, 08:42 PM
RockinRobbins,

I keep a disk image ready on DVD ready to go if anything happens. Knock on wood, since I got the seagate HDD's nothing has happened, nor do I really keep anything important on this computer. The disk image is so I do not have to load all the games,software,etc manually.

I had Fujitsu 5400rpm/80gb drives before then got the seagate 7200rpm 320gb. here is a before and after test.
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y125/MonnieRock/HDTune1.jpg
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y125/MonnieRock/HDTune2.jpg

Thank you,
Monnie