PDA

View Full Version : Mines and Sub-Nets



TonyPiech
04-05-2005, 08:58 PM
The read-me says mines & sub-nets are included in the V1.2 patch. Questions:

Can the Watch crew alert you to this; i.e., spot the mines/sub-nets?

Or can you spot them with the UZO or binoculars?

Or do you just go BOOM --- you hit a mine. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

BlueHawk_1
04-05-2005, 09:00 PM
whats a sub net?

Lovo_Kasistan
04-05-2005, 09:04 PM
Subnets and mines are usually under water (especially the nets, normal traffic has to come through) and well hidden. They wouldn't be too useful if the enemy can spot them, would they? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

But actually I don't know. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Aviar
04-05-2005, 09:36 PM
I tested both mines and subnets in version 1.1. I've never had any kind of crew warning at all.

I did experience a small 'bug' where you would get a loud high-pitched noise lasting about 10 seconds at the start of any mission that contained a subnet. That was in 1.1.

Aviar

miller286
04-05-2005, 09:40 PM
a sub net, i could be wrong but i'm pretty sure, is a big metal net that they put outside of harbors that lets ships in but not subs, basically so subs cant sneak in and torpedo the whole harbor.

Simmoxx
04-05-2005, 09:45 PM
nets generally had doors that the harbour escorts had to open and then guide the sub/ship through

Frederf220
04-05-2005, 10:00 PM
I would imagine that the net would allow ships to go over it while just being deep enough that a submerged uboat would have to surface to clear it.

Then again there are deep draft vessles that would mean the net would have to be so deep you could make it over at peri depth.

Did they make narrow openings or zig zags that they made the normal traffic go through? That'd make it a lot easier to funnel any enemy subs into a small space if they wanted through there.

EDIT: If there's movable doors, you could do something VERY sneaky and stay under a merchant as its gettin escorted through. The wolf among the lambs http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aviar
04-05-2005, 10:04 PM
I tried to go 'over' a net with my sub but couldn't. I doubt then that many ships could either. Actually, I should have tested that also. Oh well, maybe next time.

Aviar

ltforce
04-05-2005, 10:05 PM
well in halifax a place i go every year u can see where the subnets where attached at each end of the harbour entrance with toowers which at one time had 9 inch guns and the subnut came about 1 foot out of the water so a ship would alert the harbour pilot about 15 mins before it owuld arrive and the pilot boat would go open then gate and the the ship would pass through then it would close it, i love mcnabs island its sick i went and u can see where the watch towers are and all the old gun platforms its amazing!!!!

durex2000
04-05-2005, 10:10 PM
So far as I remember these "nets" were mainly designed to "catch" launched torpedoes.

madflava13
04-05-2005, 10:12 PM
Subnets were large metal nets suspended underwater at the entrance to harbors. Similar to torpedo nets, only much sturdier. The IJN minisub that was attacked by the USS Ward outside Pearl Harbor was following behind the tug Antares but in front of its towed barge in an attempt to enter the harbor. For everything except the most shallow draft vessels(ie pleasure boats), the net had to actually be opened for entrance...

Aviar
04-05-2005, 10:22 PM
Just tested these nets in 1.2.

Neither a small coastal vessel nor a tug boat could go 'over' a net.

I don't see a way to 'open' these nets. Also, I've tried firing torps at them but they don't seem to take any damage. I have, however, been able to go under them.

In my opinion, their use in SH3 is very limited. Also, they are nasty frame-rate killers when included in a mission.

Aviar

malkuth
04-05-2005, 11:07 PM
Wonder if Scapa Flow is now netted.

mastershake22
04-05-2005, 11:15 PM
Just looked, thay are nets and mines in the Campaign now. Not going to tell you where but, if you want to know you can look at the data file in mis.-editor.

Aviar
04-05-2005, 11:46 PM
Yep...I know where they are...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Some nets are at a depth of 5 meters and you can sail over them. Some are at 3 meters and are passable, but will damage your boat.

Aviar

TonyPiech
04-06-2005, 07:07 PM
All I'd like to know is, can you visually spot the mines and/or subnets? Or are they near impossible to visually spot by your watch crew or you. Does Bdu inform you before or during a mission that mines or subnets may be at a particular location. I guess you can check them out in the mission editor, but that's somewhat like a "cheat". I don't know, it might be OK to use the cheat if you're not alerted that they may exist. One would think that the sim would alert you in some fashion, either by a radio message or in your initial patrol orders.

Oak_Groove
04-06-2005, 11:42 PM
The A/S nets i found around Scapa Flow are anchored on the ground, and the buoys that hold them up are below the water surface.
You can't spot the nets while surfaced and neither you get a warning if you are about to collide with one. Only way to see them is by switching on Wonderwoman view, F12.
I guess nets weren't exclusively used for securing harbours, but generally to deny an area to U-Boats, or trap them in a certain location. There were obviously different methods of net installment, but all should have the net held upright by buoys floating on the surface:
http://community-2.webtv.net/@HH!4F!FB!84733AB5ED7E/caoic/nets2/media/captureD28.jpg
If these nets were under observation, depresseded buoys could give away a U-Boat...or something else...

I've also found a video that shows the installation of such a net, a german one this time:
http://uboat.net/special/videos/barrage_anti_sous-marin.html

VicemanFIN
04-06-2005, 11:44 PM
Guys, give me a screenshots of these nets and mines. Mines especially http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Gendeutsch
04-07-2005, 12:32 AM
found out the hard way that scapa has nets almost everywhere.....scared the hell outta me

one.zero
04-16-2005, 11:16 PM
how do you view things in the mission editor. I have opened some maps but cant see any of the features. this mission editor is completely without a guide book or help.

anyone know how to cruise around in the editor and examine areas? Also, how do we modify the map / land? Scapa flow is terrilbly depicted and is very inaccurate for the geography.

Fazzx
04-17-2005, 05:41 AM
Found a thread i seen earlier about subnets and had screenshot's of it. Enjoy...

Subnet screenshot (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=857101043&m=4551072703)